We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CUTTE”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Good Timber Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Oakland B&B and Inns
Bryans Road, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“CUTTE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

nice and lil. we loved the view of the woods. cute lil rooms and private bathrooms

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

My wife and I stayed for two nights at the Good Timber, and can only echo all the positive comments made by the other two reviews. We stayed in one of the two upstairs rooms, and felt we had complete privacy there. The entire house is absolutely gorgeous, with whole log construction giving it a kind of luxury guest ranch chic. The beds are of a similar whole log construction, and furnished with confortable/firm mattresses. The two upstairs rooms have queen beds, and I believe the bigger room on the main floor (with its own private balcony/sitting area looking out on the woods) has a king bed, but I could be mistaken. The bathrooms are ultra modern, with everything first rate. Vianne and Michael have filled their guest rooms, as well as the great room on the main floor, with treasures collected from around the world.
I have to confess we looked around Deep Creek Lake to see what else was available, and whether we could find something that would cost us less. Our experience is that the Good Timber gives you superbly good value for what they charge, when you consider the quality of what they offer, the gourmet tapas and wine (or beer, or whatever you wish) at 5:30 pm, the wonderful breakfasts, and the wooded lakefront setting. But the best of all is the graciousness and friendliness of the hosts, Vianne and Michael. They really made us feel welcome, and no one could have done more to make our stay a complete pleasure. I would mention that we followed up on two of their suggestions. One was to go to the Mountain State Brewing Company for one of our evening meals. They offer a sampler selection of their own four brewed beers, which was a great way of deciding on a favorite. We chose one of their pizzas, which had a wonderful crust -- possibly the best we have ever had. The next day we hiked around Swallow Falls State Park on the waterfalls trails (not too strenuous, and well worth it!), and then took the back roads into Oakland. We hunted out the Englander with Patty's Grill and lunch counter, on Michael's suggestion, for milkshakes like they used to make them in the 60s. Not to be missed! Everything we did was a very short drive away from the Good Timber, and we loved going back along the little country road to the Good Timber when we were done exploring.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

My wife and I have stayed at many B&Bs; Good Timber is in the top 1%. Vianne was extremely friendly and attentive, offering excellent advice on area. Gourmet breakfasts and afternoon wine and tapas (we asked for and kept one recipe). Very wide selection of teas, well-stocked refrigerator with complimentary sodas & water, cookie jar. Every amenity available if needed from beach towel and suntan lotion to walking sticks and umbrella. Short walk to dock with complimentary canoes and kayaks at private Deep Creek Lake pier (our daily after breakfast ritual). Beautiful and spacious grand room and a cozy loft. Local art work abounds including wrought iron beds and fixtures down to napkin rings. Secluded area on Deep Creek Lake but only a few minutes away by car from the main resort area action if you get tired of the privacy. Will likely be returning for a different season view.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honu_TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

The Good Timber B&B, cared for by Vianne and Michael, is not your typical B& B, from the timber frame ceilings to the hardwood floors, there is quality, beauty, and meticulous cleanliness throughout. It’s as though Martha Stewart lives there…”it’s a good thing”! This home is cared for with great love and it shows in all the details. Each room is decorated to perfection from a custom rod iron accented wood bed to hand painted murals on the walls; it’s a very special place. All the modern convinces are also present, such as fast wi-fi access, flat screen televisions with high definition satellite TV and DVD players.

Since there are only three bedrooms, there is plenty of space for everyone. Upon arrival, we knew we found something special. The secluded wooded setting and stunning scenery was our welcome mat. Upon entry, you’re greeted by a huge great room filled with unique collectibles from around the world. The home has an upscale lodge feel with commercial grade appliances, granite countertops, and very comfortable furniture. There are private decks with hanging flowers, hummingbird feeders...(yes, the hummingbirds visit every morning), and Adirondack chairs spread about to take it all in. There’s a short path through the woods to their private dock, where you will find complimentary kayaks and canoes for use. But don’t miss the bear carving along the way, it’s a beautiful hand carved sculpture of bears from an existing tree stump…very impressive!

The bathroom suite in the Buffalo Run room has a two-person shower, a two-person jetted tub, and a separate dressing area with two sinks. There was ample space for our toiletries and the towels were plentiful. In addition, custom decorated toiletries were available for use.

From someone who is a bit of a foodie, we were impressed with the quality of breakfasts and horderves provided each day, all home-made and all delicious. Breakfast is served at 9:00 and dietary needs are not a problem. But, don’t miss the complimentary afternoon wine and appetizers. There, you’ll be able to sample a unique wine and a delicious snack. When you’re thirsty, help yourself to a fully stocked refrigerator filled with a variety of sodas and waters.

In the evening, you can enjoy the comfort of the fire pit with ample wood, relaxing Adirondack chairs, and plenty of marshmallows to go around. There’s even a horse shoe pit available as well as custom embroidered beach towels for dips in the lake as well as a plethora of sunscreens to help keep the uv-rays at bay. Want to go fishing, not a problem; fishing polls and tackle are there for your use as well. Want some suggestions on a good place for dinner? Vianne and Michael will not only provide you with some great suggestions, they will set up the reservations for you.

Falling a sleep in the cool dry mountain air and waking to the sounds of singing birds in the morning followed by the fragrance of another wonderfully cooked gourmet breakfast may have made our stay at the Good Timber B&B the best we’ve ever had.

Room Tip: The Buffalo Run room is as perfect of a retreat as you could ever wish for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn_and_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakland
6.3 km away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
21.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
4.3 km away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
The Garrett Inn
The Garrett Inn
#1 of 6 in Oakland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
6.4 km away
Lake Pointe Inn
Lake Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in McHenry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
4.9 km away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Timber Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Timber Bed and Breakfast

Property: Good Timber Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2159 Mayhew Inn Rd, Oakland, MD 21550-7736
Region: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Oakland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good Timber Bed & Breakfast is an intimate cedar log lodge located directly on Deep Creek Lake. In Spring, Summer and Fall there are kayaks and canoes available for guest use. In the winter cross country skiing and down hill slopes are minutes away. A wonderful place to relax or play. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing