We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Will O' the Wisp
Nearby Hotels
Inn At Deep Creek(Oakland)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oakland Motel(Oakland)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Lodges at Sunset Village(McHenry)(Great Value!)
US$119
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heldreth Motel(Kingwood)
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yough Valley Motel(Friendsville)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Keyser Inn(Keyser)
US$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
27
31
15
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
31
15
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolthe kitchengreat view of the lakeliving roomdeep creek lakesandy beachfall visitan older buildingboat dockmain living areanight stayshort drivefirst floorget awaycondotubsunits
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2011

My family has been to snowshoe West Virginia for years in the wintertime for ski trips. After a few bad (overpriced and overcrowded) years we decided to try something different. Will O the Wisp was excellent and we wished we would have started coming here sooner. We rented a full 3 story unit lakeside toward the center of the building and it was perfect. Nice beds and couches. Kitchen was smallish but good enough to put together a nice dinner the few times we didn't go out. I cant remember the unit number but you get to it from the level connected to the upper parking lot.

The pool was immaculate. The dual level hot tub was awesome for the adults.

The hotel was only a few minutes from Wisp resort and we were also pleasantly surprised at how nice that ski resort is. Highly recommend for even moderate to upper level skiers.

I think the biggest thing we took away from staying there is that it felt more "down to earth", less crowded, and cleaner than the highly commercialized Snowshoe. I think everyone enjoyed themselves a lot more there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loui1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Made reservations and the place sounded wonderful....views, fireplace in the room, etc
We were "put" in the "annex", in an adjacent motel that was dreadful. No view, no blinds, and basically, depressing. The Will O the Wisp does not serve breakfast or lunch...we traveled 13 miles to find a diner....We did not try the pool nor the other amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank amzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

A reviewer just mentioned this - and it's true - each condo has a different owner and you don't know what you're going to get. Ours (#505) was a bit rundown (fine for a beach vacation) and smelled of smoke (not good with kids). We called the front desk and they said the ionizer will take it out. If they in fact did it, we couldn't tell the difference. Beds were terrible.
Pool and hot tub are nice - but don't expect the towel rack to ever have a towel on it. Beach is great, view is beautiful and location on the lake is ideal. If you can look past the no-frills and aged units, it's a decent place for a lake vacation. Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? Really depends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

While the location of the condo and views of the lake are spectacular make sure to check out the units you are looking to rent before you book. They are individually owned and each condo has a different style of decorating, many not updated in years. Our recent stay in Unit 310 was disappointing. The furniture was missed matched and well worn, the carpets were soiled, especially in the stairway, doors did not close properly and they all showed evidence of pet scrathes along the bottoms, patio and closet doors were all off track and the appliances were a throwback to the seventies. Our dishwasher did not work and after a service call from maintainance it leaked water all over the kitchen floor. After a second request for service yielded the same results. Given the asking rental price of $1900 a week, upgrades or higher level of comfort should be a given. On the positive side, we have stayed in the loft units on the 7th floor and have found a greater sense of pride taken by the owners. The desk and service staff are very good and helpful given the conditions of the units. The Four Seasons restaurant offers an excellent menu and the bar area is very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D24E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We spent the first weekend in May here and it was very nice. Had the studio with the loft and it felt like you were sleeping in the clouds. Great view of the lake. The trees were not out yet so we could still see the lake. Later on in the summer it would have been blocked. The pool and hot tubs were great. The place has been around for a while now and it is showing it's age. The sandy beach area is getting smaller. The condo was very nice for two people and the spiral staircase would not be good for older guests. It was very nice to sit on the balcony and have your morning coffee and look at the lake. It is also close to some good eating places if you don't care to eat on site. The movie theater is also just down the road.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ejsfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews