We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BREATHE ELSEWHERE”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Will O' the Wisp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Will O' the Wisp
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
Put in Bay, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BREATHE ELSEWHERE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

I am writing this review at home ( Pittsburgh) because my husband and I had to flee unit number 711 (loft) due to the heavy smoky smell. Both my husband and I had looked forward to this getaway over the Labor Day weekend and now it was ruined. A call down to the front desk was met with the promise of an ionizer which was supposed to take out the smell but we weren't taking chances and refused. In a nutshell, being a holiday weekend, there were no other condos available so our trip was over . We tried several other places but no rooms were to be found anywhere.

I expressed my dissatisfaction to the supervisor especially since the sign on the door entrance to the condo read "Non-smoking". He only said it was hard to enforce. He seemed totally insensitive to the problem his establishment had caused us. What a poor excuse for a manager. He never did apologize for any inconvenience.

As noted in other reviews, this condo was dated but the view and balcony would have been lovely if only we could have been able to breathe.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank winston124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    31
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
33
32
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

My family has been to snowshoe West Virginia for years in the wintertime for ski trips. After a few bad (overpriced and overcrowded) years we decided to try something different. Will O the Wisp was excellent and we wished we would have started coming here sooner. We rented a full 3 story unit lakeside toward the center of the building and it was perfect. Nice beds and couches. Kitchen was smallish but good enough to put together a nice dinner the few times we didn't go out. I cant remember the unit number but you get to it from the level connected to the upper parking lot.

The pool was immaculate. The dual level hot tub was awesome for the adults.

The hotel was only a few minutes from Wisp resort and we were also pleasantly surprised at how nice that ski resort is. Highly recommend for even moderate to upper level skiers.

I think the biggest thing we took away from staying there is that it felt more "down to earth", less crowded, and cleaner than the highly commercialized Snowshoe. I think everyone enjoyed themselves a lot more there.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loui1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

Made reservations and the place sounded wonderful....views, fireplace in the room, etc
We were "put" in the "annex", in an adjacent motel that was dreadful. No view, no blinds, and basically, depressing. The Will O the Wisp does not serve breakfast or lunch...we traveled 13 miles to find a diner....We did not try the pool nor the other amenities.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank amzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

A reviewer just mentioned this - and it's true - each condo has a different owner and you don't know what you're going to get. Ours (#505) was a bit rundown (fine for a beach vacation) and smelled of smoke (not good with kids). We called the front desk and they said the ionizer will take it out. If they in fact did it, we couldn't tell the difference. Beds were terrible.
Pool and hot tub are nice - but don't expect the towel rack to ever have a towel on it. Beach is great, view is beautiful and location on the lake is ideal. If you can look past the no-frills and aged units, it's a decent place for a lake vacation. Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? Really depends.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

While the location of the condo and views of the lake are spectacular make sure to check out the units you are looking to rent before you book. They are individually owned and each condo has a different style of decorating, many not updated in years. Our recent stay in Unit 310 was disappointing. The furniture was missed matched and well worn, the carpets were soiled, especially in the stairway, doors did not close properly and they all showed evidence of pet scrathes along the bottoms, patio and closet doors were all off track and the appliances were a throwback to the seventies. Our dishwasher did not work and after a service call from maintainance it leaked water all over the kitchen floor. After a second request for service yielded the same results. Given the asking rental price of $1900 a week, upgrades or higher level of comfort should be a given. On the positive side, we have stayed in the loft units on the 7th floor and have found a greater sense of pride taken by the owners. The desk and service staff are very good and helpful given the conditions of the units. The Four Seasons restaurant offers an excellent menu and the bar area is very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D24E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

We spent the first weekend in May here and it was very nice. Had the studio with the loft and it felt like you were sleeping in the clouds. Great view of the lake. The trees were not out yet so we could still see the lake. Later on in the summer it would have been blocked. The pool and hot tubs were great. The place has been around for a while now and it is showing it's age. The sandy beach area is getting smaller. The condo was very nice for two people and the spiral staircase would not be good for older guests. It was very nice to sit on the balcony and have your morning coffee and look at the lake. It is also close to some good eating places if you don't care to eat on site. The movie theater is also just down the road.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ejsfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

My group of friends (in our late 20's) go on an annual ski trip every year. After staying at ski in-out condos at Snowshoe WV (Powderridge Townhomes) a few years and feeling like we were getting gouged we decided to try somewhere else. We were all glad we tried Will O Wisp and I cant stress enough how much better our trip was staying there. We got a three level condo. It had a real fireplace, two bathrooms, a kitchen with dishwasher, and nice beds. It looked like all the units had views of the lake. The pool and bi level hot tub was immaculately clean and not a madhouse. HUGE difference from the nasty hot tubs at Snowshoe Split Rock pool. It's about a 5 minute drive to the Wisp Resort where the skiiing is.

There's a restaurant attached to the building called the Four Seasons. The food was great, and we didn't have to wait forever. The Salmon Rockefeller is to die for. FYI This was a HUGE difference from eating at Snowshoe restaurants where you have to bribe the waitress to be seated and then you get a so so overpriced meal.

There was a bar in the lobby of the restaurant where we hung out one night. It was a pretty laid back atmosphere.

There's even a racquetball court right down the hall where we played a few games. One of the girl's in our group didn't want to ski and worked out in the weight room and said all the equipment was really nice.

Case in point, we will not be returning to Snowshoe Mountain and have already planned to return to Will O Wisp next year. If you go, request a unit towards the center of the complex so you can get a full view of the lake.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianaMan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakland
5.4 km away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
23.5 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
0.9 km away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
1.0 km away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
3.9 km away
Blue Moon Rising
Blue Moon Rising
#1 of 2 in McHenry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Will O' the Wisp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Will O' the Wisp

Property: Will O' the Wisp
Address: 20160 Garrett Hwy, Oakland, MD 21550-7133
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Oakland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Will O' The Wisp is the premier condominium resort at Deep Creek Lake. The private pool. sandy beach, and enjoyable onsite dining will make you want to take a second vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Will o` The Wisp Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing