We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.comUS$99
TripadvisorUS$99
Priceline
Expedia.comUS$99
Hotels.comUS$99
FindHotelUS$99
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,045)
Filter reviews
1,045 results
Traveller rating
509
316
118
37
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
509
316
118
37
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fractured prune cabana suite captains suite vip parking ocean front suite outdoor pool family vacation location is great pull out couch definitely stay here again coffee maker off season grottos boardwalk balcony housekeeping summer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,045 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2020

We came to Ocean city like we do every year to enjoy our stay at the beach. We drove 8 hours to pull up to the Buckingham hotel where we were supposed to say to find out they let us book a hotel that's closed. They move us to this "sister" hotel the Commander. They tried to charge us the same price for a room that was half the size of the room we booked at the Buckingham. They gave us a specific room number for that to end up NOT being out room. Finally get to our room for it to be filthy. Dirt all over the doors/walls, the whole room smelled like mildew the ENTIRE time. The bath tub was disgusting we didn't shower the whole time we were there we had to bathe our selves outside of the shower. All of the vending machines were not working, the ice machine was out of order, our fridge was not working and we had a whole gallon of milk go bad. We called about the temperature in our room multiple times it went from freezing cold to so hot you cant even sit in the room. I mean the list is endless. I can go on and on. We came for a 4 day trip to have an awful experience and the lady at the front desk so sit there and say "I don't know what to tell you" How unprofessional? I will be calling to explain my terrible experience here and demand they do something about this. I am so disappointed. I will NEVER go back here. Do not come to this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mariaautumnjakob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill Douglas, General Manager at Commander Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2020

Thank you for letting us know about your stay Mr. Feddiman! It is my understanding this room was shown to you and you said it was good for your to check into for your 3 night stay. i'm a little surprised we didn't hear anything during your stay about any issues but I'd love to hear more about it. I don't have your contact information as you booked through a 3rd party. Please reach out to me at 888 289 6166. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2020

Went at the end of September. Place was nearly empty, but the main staff was very accommodating. I know they can’t control other proprietors but it would have been nice if the restaurant downstairs was open. The hotel has all the features of the newer more expensive and newer hotels up the street. I’m sure Covid cut back on clouds but that just made the time there better. Very basic rooms but well laid out and comfortable for two people. I would recommend they get a new couch as the one in the was a bit broken in. All in all we intend to texture next year.

Room tip: Get an ocean view room. We loved ours.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allyson Knight, Other at Commander Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2021

Thank you for your feedback robert D, we appreciate you sharing your experience and feedback with us. As part of our off season renovations this year, we are replacing the sleep sofas in every suite. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Ocean City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2020 via mobile

We come to Ocean City every year for bike week and this year we decided to stay at Commander Hotel. Great place, clean and our room was nice. King suit with two private balconies. We would stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank staceyw926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allyson Knight, Other at Commander Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2021

Thank you for your review staceyw926! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back for Bike Week again in 2021!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2020

We did not have a beach front room, but you can see the beach from our room and it also has an excellent view south of the city. The room was clean, beds comfortable, kitchenette good, and the balcony size was larger than expected.

Room tip: Get a room as high up as possible for a better view. We were on the 6th floor of the 7 floor building.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BShu-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allyson Knight, Other at Commander Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2021

Thank you for your review! We appreciate the feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2020

Charlene at the front desk was such a good front desk staff member, she wanted the best for us was very kind and funny and always greeted us very nicely everytime we came in and out of the hotel. A very nice hotel with a VERY GREAT staff

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 142alexiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill Douglas, General Manager at Commander Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2020

Thank you for your review and for staying with us recently! We appreciate your feedback and nice comments about Charlene!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews