We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$87
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-04-24
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$87
PricelineUS$87
Orbitz.comUS$87
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
61
35
12
12
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
61
35
12
12
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool interior room cannoli parking situation thanksgiving weekend full size fridge during peak season beautiful room clean hotel location is great definitely stay here again kitchenette balcony boardwalk ocean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 135 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2020 via mobile

After our terrible experience at the original Monte Carlo in OC, I was hesitant about staying at this one, but it had good rates for November with an ocean view. I was pleasantly surprised. Our room had two comfortable double beds with plenty of pillows. The room was clean and well stocked with towels, amenities, etc. It had a full size fridge, a large tv, microwave, stove top, and large closet and dresser. The bathroom had the best lighting I've ever seen in a hotel. With COVID there was no maid service during our stay, (they only come in after checkout) but if we needed anything we only had to ask. The front desk employees were very friendly. It's a great location on the boardwalk. The only drawback is the walls are thin, so an exuberant child in the next room was a 6 a.m. alarm clock, and, maybe it's just me, but it's the little things-- like dirt on the walls around light switches, a broken screen on the patio door, a missing towel hook on the back of the door, and dusty air vents that keep in from being top notch.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank A1798JEmelissab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonteCarloHotelGroup, Managing Director at Monte Carlo Boardwalk / Oceanfront Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2020

Hello, thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that you had a great stay with us! We strive for excellence and cleanliness and we are happy that we were able to provide this for you during your stay. We apologize for the walls being so thin, it's hard for us to control volumes of other guests. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2020

Suites were NOT oceanfront, air conditioning didn't work right-had to leave bedroom door open, dishwasher did not work, room was NOT clean, desk help was less than helpful. Manager never responded to complaints.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank T6025TPnicoleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonteCarloHotelGroup, Managing Director at Monte Carlo Boardwalk / Oceanfront Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2020

Hello, thank you for your feedback and we are sorry for what you convey as a negative experience. We do not advertise our suites as being oceanfront, we advertise our suites as the sister property that is across the street from our boardwalk property that is oceanfront. We can assure you that all our rooms are properly cleaned and sanitized before each guest arrives. We will share your feedback with the manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2020

We spent one night here with a reservation made the day before through Expedia. No problems with the reservation but check-in is 4pm instead of 3pm as other hotels. The hotel is in a good location off the boardwalk but has no amenities. The limited parking lot is on a street behind the hotel and inadequate. The overflow parking is two blocks away and is a small dead end lot with extremely narrow spaces. You definitely get to practice backing up. The street with the hotel entrance dead-ends at the boardwalk and there is no place to conveniently unload your car. A sign says you can park on the sidewalk for 20 minutes to unload but a car was there continuously without consequences. The small luggage cart is similar to the ones in airports. The swimming pool is very small and enclosed off the lobby. One elevator that is very slow. The room had a small round table and 2 chairs but no lamp or ceiling light to use the table at night. We requested a light and were told they would try and find one, but we never heard anything back. No hair dryer in the room and it took 3 attempts to finally get one from reception. No coffee maker. No coffee at reception. Apparently one ice maker for 6 floors. Very low water pressure. Very squeaky bathroom door. No mattress pads but fortunately no problems with the bed as in other reviews. Very noisy with thin walls. To see the ocean from our “side ocean view” room, you have to go out on the balcony, lean out and look around a wall. This hotel might be what you would expect at a Motel 6, but for $220 a night it was definitely overpriced and not as described on Expedia. I would never stay here again. The hotel was full so I doubt they will have any incentive to improve.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Service
Thank ERIC353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonteCarloHotelGroup, Managing Director at Monte Carlo Boardwalk / Oceanfront Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2020

Hello, thank you for your feedback and we are sorry for what you convey as a negative experience. Due to COVID-19, we are currently not providing any appliances in the rooms. Standard check-in is usually 4 pm at other surrounding hotels as well. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2020

We came here after leaving another hotel that should be torn down. This place wasn’t much more expensive than the dive we came from and what a huge difference. This place was beautiful! Clean hotel, nice staff, big beautiful room with a full sized fridge and a decent sized balcony. The location is perfect and even with a city view being on a higher floor we could still see the bay. The rooftop pool was also really nice. I can’t say enough good things about this place. We will definitely return. The only complaint I have, and it’s minor is the elevator is very slow. Otherwise this is a fantastic place and a very good value as well. When you go away on vacation you want to feel comfortable and stay somewhere nicer than where you normally would stay. This place definitely delivers on that.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jeffhQ5296VY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonteCarloHotelGroup, Managing Director at Monte Carlo Boardwalk / Oceanfront Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2020

Hello, thank you so much for your kind feedback! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2020

I stayed here for a night with some friends. We were having a good time and playing some music. We got a noise complaint. We turned our music down and after that didn’t cause any more trouble. Next thing we knew we were getting kicked out. This place was completely unprofessional. We paid a lot of money to stay there and they treated us like trash. I’m sure this has to do with the fact that we’re Latinos too. We were targeted for that reason and not even given a refund. I definitely will NEVER be staying here again nor will I recommend it. The pictures are also misleading. The rooms look nothing like they do in the photos just FYI. The carpets feel gross under your feet.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Svasque7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonteCarloHotelGroup, Managing Director at Monte Carlo Boardwalk / Oceanfront Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2020

Hello, we can ensure you that we are not racist towards any race. We employ people of all different races and the reason you were evicted was not because of your race, it was because your room received a noise complaint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews