We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed hard, building outdated, maintenence flipped cigarettes at us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #36 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Visit date: May 2011. We stayed on the second floor, ocean view. The beds are extremely hard. Think they poured concrete and pulled a sheet over it. The building and decor is just way outdated.

The worst part was having maintenence on the second floor sawing with power tools through the day and flicking there cigarette butts down on our balcony below. Should we choose to come back to Ocean City it will not be here. It just is not worth it.

Room Tip: Don't choose any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear guest, we are truly sorry for your dissatisfaction. If you were dissatisfied with the quality of your bed we would have been happy to address your concern at the time of your stay. Many of the Carousel rooms have been re-modeled and mattresses are always replaced as needed. Our Oceanfront rooms have new granite countertops, drapes, tile, beds, bed spreads and flat screen LCD TV’s. Many of the Non-Oceanfront rooms have been re-vamped with new carpet, new bed spreads and again, we replace mattresses as needed. We work hard to make sure you’re as comfortable as possible. We would have been happy to accommodate you if you would have voiced your concerns with a member of our friendly staff. We are truly sorry for the cigarette issue. In fact, we don’t know how this could have happened. We did not have any renovations last May and we have a no smoking policy for both guests and staff. We work very hard to ensure guest satisfaction, we hope that your next stay in Ocean City will exceed all of your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,005 - 1,011 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

for starters it was me and my wife's honeymoon and our first night there we had a ocean front jacuzzi deluxe king room #244 we got in the room started looking around and just like a bunch of the reviews on here said the room looked like it was out of the eighties there was exposed wires on the floor and the toilet had a poop ring around it the bathtub had some hairs in it but other than that it didn't look too bad it had a flat screen TV the bed was horrible it had no padding what so ever. next thing i am an extreme germaphobe and i like for my stuff to be clean so i ran some tub cleaner through the jacuzzi and had it filled and running for all of about 5 min. and all these pubic hairs started flying out now mind you me and my wife had not entered the tub yet also a bunch of dirt and other debris so at this point i called the front desk and she told me that there housekeeping had been sent home at 3 pm in the afternoon so she was sending a security guard up to have a look at this point me and my wife left for the evening six hours later we came back and the first thing i did was turn on the tub and start filling it and to my surprise when it was filled and i turned the jets on the same stuff started coming out so once again i called the front desk and by the the person was being very rude and i ended up having to move two rooms down to room 246 and i did the same with this jacuzzi and the exact same thing happened so furious i called back down well the front desk sent up the security guards which were all very nice and very appalled at how the tub in our first room looked and when i drained the tub and then refilled it for the security guards so that they could witness what i had three times they were disgusted so we stayed the night in that room the next morning i spoke with a manager who was no help at all and after arguing with her for 10 min i demanded the general managers number so i called him and told him in the nicest way what had happened so obviously he wasn't very happy with his staff because he completely refunded my first nights stay well that day me and my wife left and came back that evening i did the same with the tub and finally it was OK so we went down to go ice skating at their rink of which i would not recommend we were skating on it and about 5 min in me and my wife went to get a snack and decide if we wanted to continue skating because there were holes in the ice 2 inches deep and 5 inches long and at the same time i heard the sound of someone hitting the ice so hard because of the holes that 35 feet away at the snack machines we heard his head hit the ice upon this i went in and ask the attendant if he would clean and scrape the ice he responded with no I'm not doing anything its 2 hours till we close I'm not worried about it after me explaining to him what happened so if you are considering staying at this hotel i strongly recommend that you take into consideration my review and the rest of the bad reviews on this page because i gaurentee on my life that the are true this is positively the worst hotel ever!!!!!

Room Tip: I just wouldn't stay here ever. It was seriously the worst hotel we have ever stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kristen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear guest, we are truly sorry for your dissatisfaction. If you were dissatisfied with the quality of your bed we would have been happy to address your concern at the time of your stay. Many of the Carousel rooms have been re-modeled and mattresses are always replaced as needed. Our Oceanfront rooms have new granite countertops, drapes, tile, beds, bed spreads and flat screen LCD TV’s. Many of the Non-Oceanfront rooms have been re-vamped with new carpet, new bed spreads and again, we replace mattresses as needed. We work hard to make sure you’re as comfortable as possible. We would have been happy to accommodate you if you would have voiced your concerns with a member of our friendly staff. We are truly sorry for the cigarette issue. In fact, we don’t know how this could have happened. We did not have any renovations last May and we have a no smoking policy for both guests and staff. We work very hard to ensure guest satisfaction, we hope that your next stay in Ocean City will exceed all of your expectations.

This was seriously the worst hotel.
We are sorry your stay was unsatisfactory. The room you stayed in was thoroughly inspected before and after your room move and showed absolutely no sign of exposed wires or un-sanitation in or around the toilet, bath tub or Jacuzzi. Your complaints did not fall on deaf ears even though you claimed our staff was less than professional. In fact, a member of our front desk staff and security staff generously cleaned another room so that you could switch rooms at 11pm and we did not charge you for that night. Both staff members filled and ran the Jacuzzi three times and found no trace of anything unsanitary. Here at the Carousel we have extensive training to ensure that all of our housekeeping procedures are stringently followed for the satisfaction of our guests. The Carousel housekeeping employees have an average tenure of over 5 years and the Executive Housekeeper has tenure for over 15 years. Each Jacuzzi is sanitized and cleaned thoroughly with an acute attention to detail before and after every guest stay.

We would respectfully have to disagree with your opinion of our ice rink. We run the Zamboni every time the ice becomes unsuitable to skate on and our standards are very high. We do not have an accident report on record of anyone falling and hitting their head as you claim.
The Carousel prides itself on havng a friendly, professional staff. Our management and operations team work hard everyday to make sure our guests receive the vacation they deserve. Were sorry you weren’t one of the thousands of satisfied guests that come to the Carousel every year. We wish you could have been part of the repeat business we generate based on quality service and a superior experience. We hope your next vacation to Ocean City exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My husband and I spent a Friday and Saturday night in February. The rooms were very bare bones. One bed was obviously "taller" than the other. One mattress was warped. The other queen bed looked better, but was not very comfortable. The bed linens were thin. The bedspread looked well worn. There was a small table in the "kitchenette" area when you walked in the room, but no plug near it to plug in the computer. It was nice to have a microwave, small refrigerator and coffeemaker. There were not other chairs in the room other that the 2 wooden chairs at the little table. So no place to sit other than the bed to read or watch TV. The heat was very hot Friday night, but on Saturday night wouldn't even heat the room when turned all the way on high. There were high winds on Saturday night and the wind blew through the sliding door, whistled and the curtains moved all night. There was not a good seal on the slider. Off the lobby there was a nice size Ice Skating rink, an indoor pool, hot tub and exercise room. The only problem was to get to the exercise room, I had to walk across a very wet pool deck, getting my sneaker soles wet and had trouble getting them dry to avoid slipping on the treadmill. The lobby bar and restaurant were nice, as well as a snack bar. I think I would have spent less time in the room if it had been summer and it wouldn't have mattered too much. Basic room, but nice ammentities.

Room Tip: Rooms have various views. Be sure to ask for above 5th floor if you want an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunloverDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

stayed 11/24/2011 & 11/25/2011 worst thanksgiving ever got bed bugs and kids missed week of school

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

We apologize on behalf of the entire Carousel staff and management but can assure you that this isolated incident is in no way related to the sanitation of our establishment. Bed bugs are most commonly transferred by people in their clothing and are an unavoidable problem for every and all hotels. This is not a cleanliness issue on behalf of the Carousel, but a issue with guests bringing them here. We are fortunate to only deal with so few cases. One issue we would like to address is the manner in which we took care of the problem, and your comfort. We refunded your stay with a smile and cannot apologize enough for your inconvenience. Our professional housecleaning staff has an average tenure of over 5 years and our Executive Housekeeper has been providing guests with excellent accommodations for over 15 years. We cannot say enough that this is not an issue of the Carousel sanitation and we take pride in the level of hospitality we have been providing and continue to provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Not a fan of ocean city, but this hotel is a good place for sure during the winter, when the pool & ice skating are the attraction! The rooms are decent and the price couldn't be beat!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Audrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Although my family stayed a couple years ago, I'm not sure it has changed. The rooms are ok, but some of them are by a stinky dumpster, and NO ONE wants to smell that! The "restaurants" are probably better suited for a mall down in frederick. Although the prices might be good and it's right on the beach, it's not a place you would want to stay at.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bea1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Were sorry to hear your experience was less than pleasant. If you had let the front desk know your dissatisfaction with your room location we could have worked on moving you into something more comfortable. The dumpsters are in fact across the street and we do apologize, but we thought you would have enjoyed the ocean view which you wouldn't have had in other non oceanfront rooms. We hope your next visit to Ocean City exceeds all expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I have going to the Carousel 40 years (except for a few years before the current mangement
took over). Once they took the helm they put the ship on the right tack. Slowly but surely
they have improved the hotel with large flat screen tv,new granit vanities in both the bathrooms
and the kitchenetts . They have put in place a great staff from the front desk,house keeping,maintance,food service and all that you don't see . The impossible just takes a little
longer for this staff .
The reason I am giving this reveiw is that I see the one dot reviews . They do not realize
that the condos are privately owned and maintained or the come when all of O.C. is extreamly
busy . If the went any where in O.C. the would wait on line,wait for a table,wait for food which
may not be perfect.
If I live 10 more years I'll bring my great grand kids. They will ride the elevator pushing all the
buttons and I'll get a call from Patrick or Glenn that security has them in tow . (yes the hotel
has great security) . They will be scared I'll punish them for 5 minutes and then off to the
pool,ice skating,snack bistro,play ground or beach .
The Carousel is about fun at a affordable price .

Room Tip: ocean front 3 or 4 th floor south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Thanks for the great review! We too hate to see the "one dot reviews", we work very hard to make sure our guest experience is the best it can be and its a shame when bad reviews can discredit our good reputation. Carousel has gone under new ownership as of a decade ago and it has come leaps and bounds from the time when new ownership took it over. We are always improving and cant wait to show off all the great renovations in 2012!

Stay healthy and bring the great grand kids along! Although Carousel has great security, it is very rarely needed. Bring the great grand kids along and keep our security staff on their toes!

PS: Great tip, we love those rooms too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#33 of 104 in Ocean City
887 reviews
0.4 km away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#72 of 104 in Ocean City
226 reviews
2.5 km away
Bonita Beach Hotel
Bonita Beach Hotel
#16 of 104 in Ocean City
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#34 of 104 in Ocean City
325 reviews
7.8 km away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#57 of 104 in Ocean City
321 reviews
7.5 km away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#4 of 104 in Ocean City
2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums

Address: 11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $81 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your family can enjoy a tradition of fun and relaxation at one of Ocean City Maryland's most popular family resorts. Come join us on our famous Ice skating rink or relax in our spacious atrium. Kick back and enjoy our beach patio with live music, exceptional Ocean City cuisine, and sip a frozen cocktail as you lounge beach side. Drop the kids off for ice skating and relax in our indoor pool, hot tub, or sauna. No matter what your expectations are for an ideal family vacation in Ocean City Maryland, Carousel has it all. We are Ocean City Maryland's favorite family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Resort Hotel And Condominiums
Carousel Hotel Ocean City Md
Carousel Hotel Condominiums

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing