We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at the shore”
Review of The Spinnaker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Spinnaker
Ranked #20 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Fenwick Island, Delaware
Level Contributor
207 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice stay at the shore”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We arrived on a Wednesday in late May. Since it was midweek and before the busy season, we had no trouble getting a room.

We requested a non-smoking room. The last “non-smoking” room we stayed in had a smell of stale smoke (Comfort Inn, Indiana, Pa), so we wanted to make sure the room was up to our standards. We asked about the room. A staff member gave us a key and told us to check out the room.

Fortunately, there was no smell of smoke in our room. Our room was an efficiency and was very clean. The room had two double beds. The mattresses were firm and there were plenty of pillows. Included with the room was a flat-screen TV. There was a pullout sofa and a table with four chairs.

There was a walkout balcony. There were two plastic chairs on the balcony, which had a view of the ocean.

There was a stove, a microwave, a 10-cup coffeemaker and a nice-sized refrigerator. Cabinets with silverware and plates were included.

The bathroom was decent-sized with a nice mirror. The water pressure on the shower was adequate.

The only complaint that I had was the key card for the room. I have used key cards many times, but for some reason the key for our room was very sensitive. With a little patience, I finally was able to unlock the door after three or four "swipes."

Although we did not get to use it, there is a nice pool and plenty of seating by the pool. There are tables with umbrellas.

The room was $75 plus tax and included a free breakfast. The rate went up June 1st. Rooms at the beach are not cheap, but the Spinnaker provides nice rooms at reasonable prices.

There was a nice café on the ground floor (Malia's) with inside or outside seating. The food was good and for us and reasonably priced (free!).

We will return to the Spinnaker, probably during the off-season, when the rates are lower.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hoopscoach-dmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troypurn, General Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Spinnaker Motel and we are very pleased with your
wonderful review. I would like to respond to the complaint of the key lock system and
I am extremely happy to report we have switched our entire lock system so you will
not have to deal with that situation again. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to see
you again!!
Sincerely,
Heather M Ward/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    163
    40
    6
    10
See reviews for
209
98
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

At first I was a little reserved about staying at a "motel" but we went with a group and this was the place that was chosen. I have absolutely one complaint and one complaint only.... We wanted to add another night to our stay but they were completely sold out so we had to check out..... We had a very, very clean room! Location was absolutely the best... We had room 310 which gave us a nice view of the ocean for absolutely no extra charge. We loved the fact that it is literally steps away from the boardwalk and the beach and is still in very close proximity to everything in the area.

We will be returning.... Thanks for the great stay and welcoming service!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PerfectBreezeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed at the Spinnaker Motel over Memorial Day weekend for a last minute road trip. We were able to book our room Wednesday for a Friday arrival. We arrived before our check in time, but the front desk staff allowed us to settle our balance and get everything ready for when our room was cleaned. The front desk called me on my cell phone to let me know the room was ready, which was nice. They were very friendly at the front desk. The room was great. The most important thing…it was super clean! The maids do a heck of a job! Pretty much everything looked new in the room. Beds were comfy, sheets were clean, carpet was also clean. The room came equipped with a small kitchen and a balcony. The kitchen was a nice touch. We could see the ocean and boardwalk when standing on the balcony. The actual boardwalk and beach are literally steps away from the motel. Once we pulled in on Friday morning we didn’t have to drive anywhere, everything is in walking distance. The motel also has a small café (Malias). We enjoyed breakfast there, food was very good and so was the sun tea! The room was cleaned each day and the maids were super nice. The pool area was fun. There is a small pool and a deck with lounge chairs and tables. My only complaint is the elevator…it was a very uneasy ride up and down. Tried the steps, but they smelled like urine so we stuck with the elevator on most occasions! Overall, I would highly recommend the Spinnaker I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kristy3518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

The spinnaker was worth the price for its distance to the boardwalk! It was yards away from the boardwalk, not right at the boardwalk but behind the hotel which did sit on the boardwalk. The balcony is great and we are definitely coming back and asking for a room on the end so we can have the ocean view which is no extra charge! All rooms are one size and include two beds, very spacious room with a very nice divider in case you have someone sleep on the pull out sofa which was very nice and a good size! (I never actually pulled out the sofa bed however.) The key card was the worst thing about this stay, there were times when it took five minutes of frustration to finally get the scan to register and unlock the door to our room! We did not get room service while we were here! The maid asked if we needed anything and gave us what we asked but our bed was never made or anything of the sort which you grow to expect. The bath water turns hot almost immediately, however it has a strong, strong bleach odor! There is a nice sized dinner table in the rooms, nice big, big windows facing the balcony. Nice lamp by the bed that includes two outlets so you can charge your cell phones conveniently. A small safe which they charge 4.50 for a week or something like that for. Carpet was very nice and almost bouncy!(thick) Very nice big mirrors, more tables, a kitchen, silverware, stove, everything. No ice machine, $3 ice bags at the cafe downstairs. Although the slight view has only further motivated us to look for an affordable hotel that actually sits on the boardwalk, we will remember how satisfying this spinnaker motel was, did not break the bank for being so nice and such a great location. Nothing great about maids or front desk staff, weren't off putting and that's enough for me. * If the next room we stay in has the same key card issue it will be enough to not return!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WOLVES911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This is a very clean, well maintained, reasonably priced motel in a great location. You will not be directly on the beach but many rooms have a ocean view. The only minor complaint I have is that they do not provide any amenities, even if you ask for them. I wanted coffee and since they have a coffee maker I assumed they would provide coffee and condiments. They do not. I asked at the front desk and the night manager and attendant acted as if I had been the 1st person to ever ask for such a thing. After being sent to a closed Dunkin-Doughnuts and the local CVS, I came back several times to see if they could get me coffee from one of the studio rooms that do provide coffee. The whole exchange seemed odd and lacking in customer service. Also we ran out of toilet paper after the 1st day and the maid service never replaced it. I guess they keep prices down by saving on the small things.
All and all it was a pleasant stay and cleanliness and location would bring me back. Next time I will make sure to pack my coffee and t-paper.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This was our first time staying at the Spinnaker Motel. The rooms were very clean, quiet, and had a nice full kitchen which was great. Bathroom was clean and bright. Beds were very comfy, also had a pull-out sofa. View of ocean was great (was in a 3rd floor room) and only a few steps away from beach. The staff were very nice, friendly, and helpful! Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kameron12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Our first visit to the Spinnaker Motel, it was quiet and clean. They had done renovations of the rooms with a nice flat screen TV. It was ocean side and I had no complaints with the #10 rooms as you did not have anyone obstructing your view. The A/C units were new, which was nice since in we had a warm week in April. The staff from front desk to maintenance where helpful and attentive and made it that much nicer of a stay. The cafe at the motel is a nice place for a quick meal very well done. Look forward to a visit this Fall.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 10 nice view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RonB021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.0 km away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
1.0 km away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.4 km away
The Commander Hotel
The Commander Hotel
#8 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.7 km away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
0.8 km away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#60 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spinnaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spinnaker

Property: The Spinnaker
Address: 18th Street & Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-0519
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#12 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Spinnaker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spinnaker has all full efficiency units that sleep to six people per unit. Each unit includes two double beds a pull out sleep sofa double bed, private balcony, fully equipped kitchenette, full bath and private balcony. All units are NON Smoking. All rooms have free WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Spinnaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinnaker Motel Ocean City
Spinnaker Ocean City Md
Spinnaker Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing