We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was just ok, not great. Location is incredible!”

Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar
Ranked #29 of 473 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: BLU Crabhouse and Raw Bar opened its doors in 2012. Beautiful sunset views on the bay. BLU has offerings for everyone. There are Ocean City favorites on the menu-the dishes you look forward to enjoying every time you come to the beach. Awesome steamed MD blue crabs, shrimp and clams, and crab cakes as well as some new twists on the traditions using innovative ingredients and seasonings. The Raw Bar has a rotating oyster selection with everything from Chincoteague's to Blue Points! Unique specialty drinks and a draft beer featuring local microbrews and a rotating selection of craft beer specials! You can dine and enjoy refreshing drinks outside on the deck or on the beach at BLU Crabhouse and Raw Bar. It's the "complete package" for a casual, fun, delicious dining experience! Closed for the Season, see you in 2019!!
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Four of us ordered the all you can eat snow crab leg feast, which was $47. The first bucket was cold. The second was hot. But neither bucket was great. They were just not right. I didn’t even finish the second serving. They were so much better the previous time I got them here. I will give them another try on a future Ocean City trip.

Thank JoanneT0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather H, General Manager at Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Joanne,

Thanks for believing in us so much that you will return again and try them again. Please let us know when you are there that your having an issue so we can fix it, not only for you but others ordering that same item too. Looking forward to your next visit.

Heather H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 869 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic seafood by the water! Opted for the crab boil and wasnt disappointed other than I couldn't finish it! Highly recommended!!!

Thank ChrisIce0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather H, General Manager at Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

You can never go wrong with a steamer pot. Thank you for taking the time to recommend the steamer pot.

Heather H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

This was my family’s 5th visiting this restaurant and it is always amazing. The food is delicious every time, the drinks a perfect and the atmosphere/view are just incredible. However this time was even better because our waiter was outstanding. TJ was so personable and took amazing care of us. We have dined in some of the fanciest restaurants in NY but TJ far surpassed an other waiter we have had. I hope he is there when we come back next summer! Thank you TJ!

1  Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather H, General Manager at Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

TJ is AWESOME! Thank you for taking the time to publicly let TJ know how great of a job he is doing. It was nice talking to you the other night, and I will be sure TJ sees this review.

Heather H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

My husband and I tried Blu this weekend for a more formal dining experience in OCMD. The ambiance is great. Right on the water, nice, yet not stuffy. Outdoor seating with romantic lighting and a very 'beachy' feel. The service was outstanding and despite a Saturday-night crowd our waitress was very attentive.

We were very disappointed by the quality of the food, however, especially considering the price point. His $20 oysters were delicious, but tiny. I ordered a steamed shrimp appetizer for $15 and have honestly had comparable shrimp from the Safeway fish department. They were tiny and overcooked. The seasoning on the blackened steak entree was overpowering to the point my husband couldn't finish his portion. The tuna steak, however, was absolutely delicious. That was well worth the $32.

Overall, a nice place, very different from the dated Boardwalk joints and chaotic buffet scene, but the seafood could use a little more oomph.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather H, General Manager at Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Laura,

All of the comments you listed above will be taken seriously. Our chef listens to everything our customers say and considers all feedback when we rearrange the menu each year. Whenever you come in and you are not fully satisfied talk to a manager, they might be able to fix the issue while you are there.

Heather H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

We are return customers and cannot say how much we appreciate the quality here. We have abandoned our usual go-to places for all you can eat crabs because the size, preparation and extras here are honestly all better.

The oysters here are fresh, large and quite wonderful.

We ordered the crab feasts and are always impressed by the size of the crabs that come with this. We have gone to other places that require more work than reward but not here. Plenty of meat, decent sized claws. Big enough that it is worth the work.

The sides included Mac and cheese bits which I hate to admit that we love. Old bay chicken (that is not fried), amazing biscuits, corn on the cob and shrimp. We eat a fair amount of seafood and can say this is worth a try.

Our son (toddler) got the crab off the kids menu and omg was it the cutest ever. He loved it and felt special with how it arrived for him.

Staff were nice. We sat down the side of the building on the deck, it had shade and was a great, quiet spot.

We cannot wait to come back when we return to OC!

Thank MissyStr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather H, General Manager at Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

We cannot wait for your next visit either! So glad we have become a part of your family tradition. Thanks for always coming back.

Heather H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar also viewed

 

Been to Blu Crabhouse & Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing