We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better; could have been worse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crystal Sands Motel
Ranked #56 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Merlin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Could have been better; could have been worse”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

GOOD
Cheap
Location
Clean
BAD
Tiny out dated room
Limited amenities
(No shampoo, hair dryer, tissues)
Attitude of some desk personnel
1/2 parking 2 blocks away
No pool

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabababba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    19
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
19
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

Checked in and took kids to put them to sleep. Pulled out couch bed to find human urine all over sheets and mattress. Owner wouldn't even get out of his chair to come look at it. Sent a parking lot security employee to put a thin mattress cover on it. Disgusting, like I'm gonna let my two and three year old children sleep in somebody's urine. I was responded to in a rude and completely unprofessional manner. Do not stay here it is a dirty motel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank universityhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

I was really pleased with the Motel, a great find! The location is perfect, very close to the beach for an affordable price. Room was bright and clean. The staff are lovely, the girl at the desk was very friendly and helpful. I will definitely be staying here again

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulu60795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

This is one of the cheapest motels/hotels in Ocean City and I regret not paying a few extra bucks for a better one. This motel is right behind a night club parking lot. Someone urinated by our window and the air conditioning blew it into our first floor room. We had 5 people in a room and it was really really small. Flies and mosquitoes were flying around our room the whole time. The parking lot is in front and very tight. The young girl I spoke to on the phone was polite and I asked her if there was a sofa bed in the room she said yes and called me back later to tell me there isn't one. She also told us when we got there that there was additional parking in the back and we got yelled at because it is only parking for the club.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheapowned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

Since we are on a very limited budget, I was looking for a motel within our price range, but within reasonable walking distance to the beach/boardwalk. This place worked out great.

The man at the front desk was very friendly when I arrived. Check in was easy, and when I got to our room, I was pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean, in a no frills kind of way. Everybody that worked there was very nice to us during our stay.

Love the location. Only one block from the beach and the boardwalk, on 17th street. No problems getting across Baltimore Avenue, being most of the traffic is on Coastal Highway.

Only problem I had was the parking. Had to park in the secondary parking lot, which is 1.5 blocks away, across Coastal Highway. Other than that, I don't have any complaints.

Next time we go to Ocean City, I will definitely be staying at the Crystal Sands.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrplePanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the dale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

they knew we were gonna drink at senior week, they were very cool about it, just as long as we didnt take it outside.. the nighttime security guard carlee was awesome.. best time of my life..

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petrie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joppa, MD
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

This was one of the cheapest motels I could find on the web for a one night stay so I really didn't expect anything fancy. The man at the front desk was very nice. The rooms were small and there was a very strong smell of pine sol or some lemon cleaner. The windows wouldn't open very much. The beds did make my husband and I itch. But the room was very clean, no bugs. The location was great, walking distance to places like dunken donuts, all you can eat buffetts and the boardwalk. The only reason I wouldn't stay there again is there is no pool, which is amust with small kids.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank poca1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 km away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#37 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.7 km away
Beach Walk Hotel
Beach Walk Hotel
#52 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.1 km away
Seabonay Motel
Seabonay Motel
#69 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#46 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.8 km away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#77 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.2 km away
Sun 'n Fun Motel
Sun 'n Fun Motel
#53 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Sands Motel

Property: Crystal Sands Motel
Address: 1705 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3634
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crystal Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Sands Motel is located in Ocean City MD. We are just a block away from the boardwalk and beach! Here at Crystal Sands we provide 3 different room types: King Room w/ microwave and mini refrigerator, Double Bed w/ microwave and mini refrigerator, and also our large Family Efficiency rooms w/ 2 beds, sofa bed, dining room table, kitchenette area with stove top, microwave, and large refrigerator. We have knowledgeable staff with GREAT customer service and cleanliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Crystal Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Sands Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing