We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Second Time Around”
Review of Park Place Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Park Place Hotel
Ranked #23 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I keep forgetting to post this review. It was the second time around for us here at Park Place. This place is great for families, a last minute trip or weekend trip. We stayed at Park Place again this past summer in June during Senior Week. We had our 2 yr old daughter with us and I was pregnant at the time. The hot water was shut off there were warning signs posted in front of the elevator doors on each floor of the hotel. Apparently it was going on b/c of a major repair that needed to be done. But we did not notice, it must have been off only briefly since I wasn't greeted by a cold shower (though I was sadly expecting it). The location is the best because you are right on the boardwalk which worked out great for us because I was entering my 3rd trimester, walking and extended time in vehicle was becoming challenging and painful. Park Place never disappoints us, it's family friendly and drama free even during Senior Week (one of the most drama filled times/weeks that Ocean City experiences). As a matter of fact, they banned the rowdy and drunken Senior Week party goers and boardwalk drunkards from using the hotel's facilities mainly the bathroom at night (even put a sign up and locked the doors) many would ask to use the bathroom in the hotel and corner the Conner's staff. They weren't having any of it and didn't even entertain the sarcastic questions like "so where do you go to the bathroom then?". Many asked and were turned away. The Conner's Beach Cafe breakfast buffet is the way to go if you're a breakfast person I know I am and you don't want to have to venture too far and no frills. The price is very reasonable and it's all you care to eat. I will always remember this hotel for returning my digital camera to me after I lost it during my first stay here. Something almost unheard of these days. This hotel is becoming a family favorite for us.

Room Tip: Do enjoy the breakfast buffet at least once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lil_Bunny84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

This hotel sits on the boardwalk right in the heart of OC. I travel to OC very often and found that this place offers a good affordable option. The rooms are a little bit smaller but typical of this area. The room choices usually include 2 beds....very minimal King choice but also very typical. The balcony was large and the extra room with sofa was ample.

The beds here were OK.....I have had worse but also better. Great choice for families and couples!

Room Tip: Would not recomend a room that sits within the open balcony...they are not private and open for that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank powder068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This hotel is perfect to have a wonderful location and ocean view. Rooms are clean and have lots of extras we even had bath & body works toiletries! The location is great you are very close to the start of the boardwalk and that is where the best restaurants and shops are. You can walk everywhere! The rates were so cheap for the off season we paid $50 a night during the week, the only bad thing is that most places close in Sept or Oct so their isn't as much to do at night.

Room Tip: get the oceanview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talbbe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We recently stayed in Ocean City Md, at Park Place Hotel, primarily due to the reviews here on Trip Advisor. We took other traveler's advice and asked for Ocean View room on a higher up floor. We stayed on the 5th floor. What a wonderful view. We were in OC, off season, which made it much quieter but a lot of attractions were closed. We stayed from Wed Oct 19 to Sat Oct 22. Wed, Thu nights were very quiet and peaceful. Friday night we could hear the movement, voices, tv etc from the room next door, but luckily the people quieted down as it got later so there were no issues for us.

Our biggest complaint was the room smelled musty when we walked in. We opened the slider to the balcony and the musty smell quickly left. It's possible, the smell was from the A/C since it was turned on when we arrived. We turned it off and left it off for the duration of our stay because it was in the 60's everyday and we didn't notice the musty smell again.

Another issue is we were getting dived bombed by seagulls when we went out on the balcony. This happened twice and both times were due to the guest, on the balcony below us, feeding them. When he was not out there, the birds left us alone.

The bed was comfortable. The towels plentiful. The kitchenette was great because we could store beverages in there, we made popcorn one night. The TV had plenty of channels. The Wi-Fi was great and we were happy that was available. The room was clean. The staff was very helpful when we asked about local restaurants and gave us their recommendations.

Room Tip: Higher floors, better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We booked our weekend here after reading so many positive reviews online. The location couldn't be better - right in the middle of everything, even in the fall. We stayed up on the 5th floor and had a great view. The room was huge and included a mini fridge, microwave, table, and couch in addition to the bed. While the bathroom was also huge, it was beginning to look a little older and there was no ventilation so it took forever for the steam to evaporate. Everyone we dealt with was friendly and the wifi was free!

Room Tip: Top floors will get you up and away from the passing noise, making it easier to enjoy your balcony w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlsatud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is my favorite hotel in Ocean City and have been coming here for several years. The place is very clean, the staff very friendly, and it's right on the boardwalk. The rooms are a good size...most are two double beds, pull out couch, small table with two chairs, and a balcony. There is a pool and a restaurant and bar (not a fan of the restaurant). There are chairs out front on the big balcony to relax and watch the boardwalk and ocean. I have always had bayside facing rooms. Maybe next year we'll get an ocean front! This place is awesome!

My only complaint- the pillows are very soft and mushy. I had to use two to get any support. But the hotel is WONDERFUL!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LinaK221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at Park Place this past weekend for three days. From start to finish, our stay was one of the best I have ever had. We arrived three hours early, and the front desk gave us our parking pass and told us to go enjoy lunch and the boardwalk, and they would call when our room was ready.

We hadn't even been gone ten minutes, and they called us. We checked into our room around 12:30. We had a nice room on the fifth floor overlooking the lower deck, boardwalk, and ocean. The room was very clean and our view was fantastic. There is a really nice little kitchenette with a microwave, fridge and sink. There are even dishes and dishwashing fluid and towels. The room had a newer flat screen tv and a fold out couch. We were very comfortable, and if you needed anything, the hotel responded immediately.

The pool is on the bay side of the property...very clean and very easy to get to. There are two bathrooms near it that you can use with your key. It is on the same floor as the restaurant deck. We ate at the restaurant...very good.

You cannot beat this location, and you cannot beat the service...we felt very comfortable there. It is an older property, but they maintain it very well. They stock the bathroom with "Bath and Body" products.

We most definately will return...it is such a pleasure to find a place like this to stay!

Room Tip: I would stay on the upper levels...the view is wonderful and access to everything is very easy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank TLC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#29 of 104 in Ocean City
320 reviews
1.2 km away
The Commander Hotel
The Commander Hotel
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
880 reviews
0.2 km away
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Gateway Hotel & Suites
#17 of 104 in Ocean City
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 104 in Ocean City
1,031 reviews
6.3 km away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#33 of 104 in Ocean City
887 reviews
0.2 km away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#55 of 104 in Ocean City
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Address: 207 North Atlantic Avenue, Between 2nd & 3rd Streets, Ocean City, MD 21842-4161
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $224 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront hotel on the Boardwalk. All rooms are efficiencies with a microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. Oceanfront rooms were redecorated in 2013 and Bay View rooms in 2014. Amenities include private balcony, in-room safe, duvets, hair dryer, flat screen TV, HBO, Disney, two heated outdoor pools, free wi-fi, Bull on the Beach Restaurant and Deck Bar. Hotel is close to amusements, water sports, boardwalk restaurants and night spots. All parking is on site, but limited to one space per room. Disabled access. Golf Packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Park Place Ocean City
Hotel Park Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing