We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Place to Eat/Stay in Oxford!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Robert Morris Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Robert Morris Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Place to Eat/Stay in Oxford!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I have had several opportunities to dine at the Robert Morris Inn - the food is Fantastic and the Service is incredible. Most recently I was able to spend a weekend at the Inn. The rooms provide plenty of space and rustic charm, you can feel the history of the Eastern Shore of MD in Every facet of the Robert Morris Inn. I would highly recommend a weekend Trip to Oxford/Stay at The Robert Morris Inn, it is a great escape- and perfect way to recharge your batteries. If nothing else EAT THERE!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eringrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Wow . . . many thanks for taking the time to review our Inn and your generous comments. Staff as well as guests stay here and they join us in thanking you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn.
Ian & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    71
    23
    15
    5
See reviews for
27
153
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Firts impressions were of a quaint country inn, the welcome at reception was friendly and we booked in. We stayed in one of the suites across from the main hotel. The accomodation was clean but both in need of renovation with an odd mix of furniture which did not match and was in no way quaint. The meals served during our stay were of high quality and superb but the accomodation coupled with a rather unpleasant event following the evening meal when our waitress sent word via the bar person that she wanted a larger tip based on our all inclusive cost not what was spent in the restaurant left a very bad taste. Would I eat there again YES, but would I stay certainly not

Room Tip: You could check out the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggrant26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Many thanks for your kind review following you attending our New Years Eve event. It is always a great time of year and delighted you found it so. The Cottage you stayed in is very comfortable and has the most amazing views. Although in ebery way suitable it will be upgraded next year and is priced accordingly meantime. Your experience from your server and the bar person are certainly not what we would expect or condone. Be assured this has been immediately and permanently remidied. We look forward to welcoming you back again and thank you for your comments which help us shape the experience for future guests.
Ian & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Based in Washington DC we often spend a weekend on the Eastern Shore. Morris Inn fits the rustic environment of Oxford and has an excellent location. The rooms are OK. We had a room with a sitting area, a bedroom and a bathroom in the middle. Lots of space but somehow not very appealing. Wireless works, but not in all rooms, including ours. The Inn appears somewhat run down. I believe that I read somewhere that it was recently renovated. If so, that is not obvious. The breakfast was really nice and service good. All in all an OK experience but for the money we paid, we have had much nicer stays on the Eastern Shore. This is our first time in Oxford and we are definitely coming back to Oxford, but probably not to Morris Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GranddanoisbasedinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Many thanks for visiting the Inn and for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased that overall you enjoyed your experience but disapointed you will not return. We recently acquired The Inn and chose to "live with it" for a while. This ensures that renovations and redevelopment is sensitive and appropriate given the buildings age and historic significance. We are planning our refurbishment and redevopment over this year and carrying out the works at the end of 2013. Please do try The Inn again.
Mark & Ian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

The Barboursville 5 Course wine pairing dinner was perfect...the wine and food were spectacular. Janet, Mark, Luca, Kat, our breakfast waiter (I can't believe I forgot his name, because he was the perfect waiter!) as well as the entire wait staff were so gracious, fun, down to earth... Hospitality came naturally for all staff...It's just a great place and we enjoyed a wonderful get-away from the DC area!

The only thing lacking was a place to "hang out" and read or play a game with maybe a cocktail or coffee. A relatively private den/library type room I guess that we're accustomed to in an inn would have been great there... If the room had a view all the better. Also, the couches in the corner of the diningroom would be really nice flanking the fireplace in the pub during winter months...I would love to drink a Bailey's on one of them near that huge pub fireplace! In the summer they could be removed to make room for tables. (Just a friendly suggestion). The pub bar with the TV is nice, but not as the only place to go as a guest in the winter. Our room was not condusive to hanging out and is in need of renovating.

I believe the emphasis has been on excellent food...with great success. I suspect the next effort will likely be placed on bedroom renovating and tweeking of the little details. Don't let any of the negatives stop you from spending a night or weekend, because over-all it was truly a great place to spend a night (if not for anything, but the great breakfast!) We had a great time...you should definitely check it out. We're curious to see how the inn evolves over time. We are sympathetic that the tough economy won't allow for over-night improvements of the guest rooms and that a 300 year old inn is not exactly easy to improve. Great luck to the proprietors! Hats off for all of their hard work.

Room Tip: Pay more for the admirals rooms (larger) and have a view if you can; otherwise don't expect much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyH_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you so much for your kind and generous words. Having taken over eighteen months ago we and our team have worked tirelessly to get the service and food and beverage services right and we are delighted you enjoyed it so much. The dinner was a great success much down to Mark (Chef Proprietor) and Luca's (Wine maker) long relationship and both being passionate artisans in their respective fields. Great staff rounds out a great experience and they too join me in thanking you for your comments. We are currenlty planning a major renovation of the Inn to be carried out late in 2013. This will be sympathetic to the history of the whilst addressing all the issues you found.
Thank you for your business and support. Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

This place is amazing! Mom & I came here for a girls trip and it was lovely. Everyone was so accommodating and friendly.Janet in the office was the nicest person in the world and ready to help with anything. The staff in the tavern were great to, they made sure we were enjoying our meal without being intrusive. The room was on the smaller side but what can you expect? The bed was very comfy and as others said there was no TV but who needs one? We will definatly be back to this gem on the Eastern Shore.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCYDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Absolutely dleighted you had a great time and many thanks for your kind review. Staff as well as guests stay here and they really appreciate your comments. We are lucky we do have fabulous staff! Regards Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Perfect opportunity to appreciate how our ancestors lived 300 years ago when visiting this special property. Walking on anchient hardwoods and looking at other original architectural details was fascinating. It has beautiful views of the river and is quietly located at the end of a street. Food is AWESOME!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curtisrealestateco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Many thanks for you generous review and kind comments. We really appreciate your business and look forward to your return. Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayport, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Was a very pleasant stay. If you are into antiques and old fashioned hospitality, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiterabbit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Many thanks for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to The Inn. Winter is a very peaceful time of year. The town is quiet and still - a great time of year for a relaxing break and our winter packages are unbelievable value.
Happy Thanksgiving
Ian and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
11.6 km away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
9.0 km away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.2 km away
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Harbourtowne Resort
Harbourtowne Resort
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
11.0 km away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
12.6 km away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#4 of 9 in Easton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Morris Inn

Property: Robert Morris Inn
Address: 314 N Morris St, P.O. Box 40, Oxford, MD 21654-1019
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Robert Morris Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes. More history is located here. Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming. Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers. This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Robert Morris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert Morris Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing