We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property and Rooms, Wonderful Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Huntingfield Creek
Ranked #2 of 10 Rock Hall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2011

If I were an innkeeper, I'm not sure how I'd respond to a couple who called for a reservation on a Monday night at 7pm... then showed up 10 minutes later with their three-month-old baby. (Long story.) I suppose I'd be partly taken aback and partly delighted to fill another room--and Jim and Joanne certainly took it all in stride, making us feel completely welcome. In fact, they were so charming, had we needed anything else during our two-night stay last month, we might have hesitated to ask: They immediately felt more like our friends than our hosts! The Pond Cottage was lovely, the grounds were very well-maintained, the puppies were delightful and the breakfasts were delicious (the one we enjoyed at their coffee shop in town, as well as the one at the inn). By the way, DON'T MISS driving through the wildlife refuge just down the road--it's spectacular. It was such a thrill to see a bald eagle within the first five minutes!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somanystars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

Beautifully decorated rooms, comfortable lounge area with complimentary wine and beer, large selection of books and magazines, no television...perfect recipe for relaxation. We enjoyed exploring the property, but were disappointed that their access to the bay wasn't really boat-friendly (very shallow, mosquito-ridden). On the plus side it was nice to watch the sunset from the dock. The town of Rock Hall was cute and had character. We enjoyed picking crabs at Waterman's (recommended by the inn proprieters). Breakfast at the inn was delicious and homemade. Also enjoyed playing with the three dogs and chatting with the owners.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCInnkeepers, Owner at Inn at Huntingfield Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Although we are delighted to hear our guests enjoyed their stay we would like them and prospective guests to realize that after 8 weeks of drought, our area experienced 18 inches of rain in a month's time. Normally, mosquitoes on our property are rare except after dusk, but the unusual weather combo created a ripe environment for them in our deep woods. The majority of our 70 acres is and always has been virtually mosquito-less. Also, we are tidal and a protected wildlife inlet so indeed we are ideal for kayaks and the like but not larger crafts. The view from our dock across the Bay is amazing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

It's a wonderful place stay. The cottage is perfect for a romantic getaway and just to relax. Jim and Joanne were great hosts. Their breakfasts were very yummy. Our city dogs had a blast. They were greeted by Jim and Joanne's 2 labs and Jack Russell. They were able to run and swim in the bay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kay089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed for three nights and had a fantastic stay. This is truly a place to unwind and get away from it all. Joanne and Jim are wonderful hosts and went out of their way to see that we had an enjoyable stay. Within an hour of our arrival, Jim had suggested and then reserved a spot for us on a sunset sail. Great people, great property, We will be back!

Room Tip: The Pond Cottage was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chracjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The Inn at Huntingfield is 'by far' the best place to stay in or near Rock Hall. The accommodations are outstanding, the hospitality is incredible. It seems like even the dogs do their part to make everyone feel welcome. There is plenty of space all over just to relax and enjoy the company, a book, a drink or whatever. I have traveled (and stayed) in every state in the USA (except Idaho...but that's another story) and I don't think I have had a more relaxing stay anywhere I have been than at Huntingfield Creek. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: No tips...all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benzimidazolone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We loved our first visit to Huntingfield earlier this year and - looking for a peaceful well-run getaway from city life whilst trying to avoid crowded places - decided to return to this lovely little inn in Rock Hall. We stayed three nights and were once again sorry to leave. We stayed in a charming little cottage stuffed with books and with lovely views over fields of green and skies of blue. The scrumptious breakfast, warm hospitality from hosts Joanne and Jim and homelike atmosphere (a big thank you to the three dogs Java, Jezebel and Gracy) made the sunny days sunnier. The peace of the nature reserve and beauty of the Chesapeake Bay filled our hours with joy. We are looking forward to seeing the Inn in Fall!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bizet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This Inn was grand! The accomodations were superb, the breakfast to die for, and the innn keepers hospitality can not be compared.

Room Tip: All room are very unique and special the cottages are elegant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rock Hall
18.2 km away
Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
3.7 km away
The Inn at Osprey Point
The Inn at Osprey Point
#1 of 10 in Rock Hall
344 reviews
3.0 km away
Inn at Haven Harbour
Inn at Haven Harbour
#3 of 10 in Rock Hall
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Haven Point Inn
Haven Point Inn
#4 of 10 in Rock Hall
17 reviews
37.4 km away
1840s Carrollton Inn
1840s Carrollton Inn
#3 of 12 in Baltimore
862 reviews
11.8 km away
The Inn at Mitchell House
The Inn at Mitchell House
#4 of 11 in Chestertown
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Huntingfield Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Huntingfield Creek

Address: 4928 Eastern Neck Rd, Rock Hall, MD 21661-1700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Rock Hall
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rock Hall
Price Range: $210 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Huntingfield Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at Huntingfield Creek, an historic, waterfront farm-estate in quaint Rock Hall, Maryland features upscale and romantic accommodations, family and pet-friendly cottages and private-event retreat facilities. Situated on Kent County's oldest land parcel, Huntingfield Manor was the hallmark of a 1,200-acre estate deeded by Lord Baltimore to the area's original settler, Thomas Ringgold. Ideal getaway from 'big-city blues' and the perfect setting for country-chic weddings, group meetings or reunions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Inn at Huntingfield Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing