We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveller rating
285
105
27
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
285
105
27
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool and hot tub other guests cold drinks half mile enjoyed our stay my husband and i b bs breakfast was delicious bike ride chesapeake landing in town get away common areas quiche each morning downtown st relaxing weekend
Filter
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 445 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2009

The room was spacious and beautiful. Everything that we could have needed was
made available to us. We would definitely come back again. The breakfasts were very
good.

One thing that might have been added to our room could have been floor lamps by
the chairs for better illumination for reading in the evening.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigJNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2009

My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights to get away from it all (DC) and had a delightful time. Will, the owner, was very receptive to our needs and our questions. The location was very good, just a half-mile outside of town on a quiet drive. The grounds were well appointed, as were the rooms. Bikes were complimentary, which was a great plus and a good way to see the area. All in all, we were glad that we chose the George Brooks House and would come again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iammrben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Our visit to the George Brooks House was during two rainy days in March. It should suffice to say we hope to return in the summer when the pool will be open and more than the crocuses will be blooming. Unlike some B & Bs we have visited where the furnishings were a hodgepodge, Will has furnished GBH with exquisite taste and a quality that matches the quality of the restoration of the house. Be sure to have him tell you the story of George Brooks. He was a man ahead of his time. Prior to its restoration the house was a candidate for demolition, but fortunately Will rescued it. That too is a great story.
The highlight of our stay was breakfast the second morning with our fellow guests. One couple was British who were part time “ex-pats” to Normandy France, and the other professional actors. In addition to sharing an excellent meal, we shared marvelous conversation for the better part of two hours with these delightful folks. It doesn’t get much better than that on a rainy March morning.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Except for one issue mentioned below we thought the George Brooks House was wonderful!
Our room was charming, Will was a great host and especially loved the baked goods! The only trouble we had was our ALLERGIES!
My husband and I (as much as we love them) are both SEVERELY allergic to cats and even though we didn't see any in our room, there was a huge hunk of cat hair on the night stand when we got in to it.
We thought we would be okay, but we found ourselves running out to a convenience store at 10pm in search of Clarinex and Benadryl to alleviate our symptoms and were so very thankful we had our asthma inhalers on hand.
If we had known ahead of time about the cats we might have booked elsewhere or came better prepared with our own prescription meds and steroids that we needed to breathe better and make it a more pleasurable trip.
Otherwise - if you have no issues with cats - have no hesitations about this location!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traynry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillWorkman, Owner & Innkeeper at George Brooks House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2009

Like other inns, we live on-site and have several cats in our apartment over the garage who spend some time outside and ocassionally come into the inn. We do not allow the cats to go into the guest bedrooms. When this guest arrived Friday afternoon, I was holding "Lover Boy" in my arms. The guest commented about how handsome he was . . . and pointed out that they were allergic to cats. I put the cat outside and was careful to keep the cats out of the inn while they were here. The guest spent Friday night in the room and said nothing on Saturday and checked out Sunday morning without a word. After seeing this posting, I carefully inspected the room and found no trace of any cat fur (even ran a lint roller over the comforter, pillows and shams . . ). I found dust between the mattress and the bed frame . . an area often overlooked by most of us and housekeepers. I wiped down the headboard and posts and vacuumed the dust trapped in the narrow slot between the mattress and bed frame. If you are allergic to cats or dust, please let the innkeeper know . . and if you have any problems of any kind, the innkeeper is there to help resolve any problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2009

The George Brooks House is a clean, comfortable, well-cared-for, B&B with attentive staff. We stayed during a rainy weekend, but there were lots of choices of DVDs to chose from and watch in our room and plenty of information about local restaurants to enjoy. My favorite aspect of the B&B were the late afternoon tea and brownies by the fireside. With the off-season special, the price was very reasonable. ($275 for two nights - taxes included)

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank npjutr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews