We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal near DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I was looking for a hotel with consistency so I stayed here based on price and proximity and the fact that most hotels around here charge for parking. I prepaid to get the discounted non-refundable rate of $99. Parking was $12 for a 24 hr period.
Upon my arrival, I asked the Valet at what point did the 24 Hr parking period begin? He said when you check in. Since I was there Friday into Saturday and wasn't going to be back until after a 24 hr period, they said the parking public garage down the street was free on weekends. So I just put some quarters in up until 7pm and it was free from there!
The hotel was just a couple of blocks from the Metro train station to DC.

The room was standard Hampton Inn, no complaints. Breakfast was ok. The eggs were taste-less though.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeyjcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you joeyjcc for your recent stay and review of the Hampton Inn Silver Spring Hotel. We’re delighted to hear that valet was able to give you options on parking here in downtown Silver Spring. Most guests find our hotel quite convenient to the Metro making it very accessible to Washington, DC. I’ve shared your comments regarding the hotel’s free breakfast so it can be addressed. Next time you’re visiting Silver Spring or Washington, DC, keep the Hampton Inn hotel in Silver Spring in mind. Hilton HHonors is offering either Double Points or Double Miles at our hotel through June 2012 when you register for the offer on their site. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Dan Jasinski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

741 - 747 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

In mid- August we stayed at the Hampton Inn Silver Spring......
We put our car into their mandatory valet parking- within 4 hours the hotel staff knowingly GAVE our van away to an unidentified man. Needless to say our vacation was destroyed. Washington D.C. police found our abandoned car 10 days later. The hotel chain’s insurance was in charge of getting it back to us. It took 18 weeks to get it back- delivered at 4:00 a.m. When we got it back the battery was dead, the van wouldn't start. Poorly handled, months to get reimbursement for our van rental, no formal apology, no compensation for a destroyed holiday and subsequent headaches. Not well handled by a huge chain like Hampton Inn/ Hilton hotels. Parents and children’s combined collection of 150 C.D.'s is still missing. We have not been reimbursed for that even though photos taken after the van was found show the C.D.'s in the front seat! Hence they were taken after the van was recovered and in the care of the insurance company.
We expected more from a chain like Hilton/ Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Les L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

It is centrally located, clean, and offers breakfast daily. Overall, the front desk staff is not very helpful or friendly. I encountered multiple front desk staff during my 10 day stay at this hotel. The valet staff is much nicer, welcoming you when you enter the building. The front desk staff, they could care less and rarely make eye contact. I was a little disappointed by that, when I am paying big bucks to stay at this hotel for so many days. The fitness center is nice but small. The pool is rarely used and the lower level smells like wet carpet all the time. Fresh baked cookies are available at the lobby area daily:) Overall, the experience was OK but nothing great.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sola206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Thank you for giving us your feedback. I apologize that our front desk gave you anything under exceptional service. We consistently train our front desk to provide the best service to every customer, and we will continue with our efforts. We appreciate your business and we hope that you will give us another chance to win you back as a customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed here for one week as an option to the Marriot Courtyard in Silver Springs. It was very reasonable price wise as we got an AARP discount. The room was spacious and the ammenities worked well. Our daughter was in a connecting room so that was nice. The complementary breakfast was ok but not superior. The service was fast and the staff was friendly. It is convenient to several parking garages so that was not a problem. The pool is not open but in the afternoons but that was ok too. I would stay there again due to the vast price difference from the Marriot. The noise level was very low so we were able to sleep well.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaleRachmeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

We appreciate the positive feedback! Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Hampton Inn Silver Spring. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

An adequate hotel, reasonably conveniently located on the red line for access to central Washington DC, but plagued as in most major American cities by lackadaisical staff. I had to call down to request the staff to do basic things that should have been automatic, such as replacing the in-room, disposable coffee cups. The lobby is shared between a Homewood Suites and a Hampton Inn, with signs advertising the former's Manager's Reception, from which Hampton Inn residents are barred. The room was reasonably spacious and adequately appointed, though rather Stygian in its lack of available illumination. Breakfast is included in the price of the room but is both basic and unhealthy.

I confess to being a bit angry both with myself and with this hotel. With myself, for leaving a particularly nice English Laundry shirt in the cupboard. With them, for denying knowledge of its existence in the course of several phone calls. Let's be honest and say it was stolen by someone to whom taking obviously valuable property accidentally left behind by guests does not count, in their stunted moral universe, as theft. Hotels that encourage such attitudes by their staff are not, in my opinion, worthy of support.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that you were disappointed in our dual branded Hampton Inn Hotel which was one of the first in the country. Ongoing staff training and development is always a must and we appreciate the constructive criticism. Our service scores within the brand indicated a high level of satisfaction, and we are so sorry that your stay did not represent those scores. We are working diligently to make sure that all lost items are properly recorded and stored away, and once again I am sorry that your item was misplaced. We hope that you will consider using our hotel again in the future so that we can show the improvements we are making. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

If you are looking for a basic hotel near the DC metro at a reasonable rate (government available), this place is fine but nothing special. It is odd with a combined lobby for 2 different hotels. The lobby and rooms have been updated but have simple 3 star amenities. Coffee maker in the bathroom is always a bit unsanitary for my taste. Poor lighting, but improved bedding with comforters. The rooms are long/ skinny with minimal furnishings. Odd mirror closet door swings out toward room. NO in room wi-fi, but you can use ethernet or lobby wi-fi. Breakfast is included. You can walk about 10 minutes to the closest metro stop. After dark seemed safe enough as there has been a revitalization movement with restaurants and movie theaters in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TouristSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Thank you so much for your feedback. The reason we have a dual branded property is because Hilton recognized a need in both the upscale extended-stay and mid-priced transient hotel segments in the growing Silver Spring market. We have had increasing success with our dual-branded project within the focused-service segment and we feel these two leading brands bring high-quality services and amenities at a value-conscious price point. We have recently upgraded to wireless internet and I am sorry this wasn't communicated to you. We are very proud of our hotel as well as the direction the city of Silver Spring is moving in, and we hope that next time you are in the area you will choose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This hotel is a great location if you are familiar with the area, and or are interested is visiting some of the towns/ area's on the Maryland, DC border. This is not a suitable location if your main purpose of travel is to visit/ site see the main attractions of DC.

The rooms we had were on the 7th floor, very airy, spacious, modern and were very clean.
In addition to the tea making facilities in room, these facilities were also available from the breakfast dinning area.

Our booking included breakfast which was great offering hot and cold food, and a variety of breads, pastries, drinks, and fruit. The dinning area was a bit on the small side so some mornings it was difficult to find a seat.

The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the receptionist's and door men, and the free cookie at check in had a nice touch.

The key drawback of this hotel was that there wasn't a bar or dinning area offering dinner, so there was no entertainment. However the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the centre of Silver Spring which has some really good restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonyamhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole J, Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! We are a limited service hotel, therefore we do not have a restaurant and or bar on property. But as you may have noticed, we have a plethora of restaurants right in our backyard! Downtown Silver Spring is a very eclectic area, with so much to offer. We have a brand new music venue, over 40 different restaurants, two movie theaters’ and a mall. All the entertainment is right at your doorstep! Silver Spring is a great place to stay when you’re visiting D.C. because you are only a few metro stops from the heart of D.C. We are sorry that the area was a challenge for you when traveling to downtown D.C, and next time we will make sure that transportation is easily accessible. Thank you for choosing our hotel during your travels, and we hope you come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver Spring hotels
8.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
0.0 km away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#9 of 12 in Silver Spring
40 reviews
0.4 km away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
355 reviews
9.0 km away
Courtyard Silver Spring North/White Oak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Silver Spring

Address: 8728A Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#4 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range: $130 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Silver Spring 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hampton Inn hotel in Silver Spring, MD is just steps from the lively dining, shopping, and entertainment district of downtown Silver Spring. Walk or take our local area shuttle to the Red Line Metro station, just three blocks away, for access to historic sites, national monuments, and the sports venues of Washington DC. Nearby pedestrian-friendly streets boast shops, art galleries and restaurants. Hampton Inn Silver Spring is conveniently located near Interstate 495/Capital Beltway and within 45 minutes of all three area airports. The headquarters of organizations such as Discovery Communications, United Therapeutics, and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) are in walking distance. Visit the AFI Silver Theater and Cultural Center, which offers movie buffs a look at the art and mystery of movie-making, or enjoy a premier performance at Live Nation's new Fillmore Silver Spring, less than one block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing