We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average and disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HYATT house Boston/Burlington
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

If this is #1 in Burlington, we would not stay at #2-6. We found this to be a very average hotel, especially given the reviews and price. We are avid users of tripadvisor when planning our travels but this location let us down.

We arrived late with the expectation of a crib for our 3 month and the sleeper sofa for our 2 year old. Found no crib available upon arrival! The 2 year old slept in the king bed with dad and baby on the sleeper sofa with mom, not a safe option. Let's just say the next day was not a bright and cheery one after that arrangement. The sleeper sofa is VERY uncomfortable on top of that. We were told a crib would not be available for the second night either although when we mentioned we were checking out given that information, a crib was located within the hour.

The room was clean but slightly dated, especially the bathroom which had every single floor tile loose and damaged towel rack. The standard bed was comfortable but very noisy with every single movement which wakes sleeping babies. Having two TV's was a plus but the DVD player was disconnected and unplugged and we were not able to make it work at all. The television in the bedroom had VERY poor cable reception which after disconnecting and reconnecting several times we finally found a sweet spot and were able to watch. The kitchen was a great plus; however, the refrigerator was noisy during most cycles and is located within the same room as the sleeper sofa. Also there are no darkening curtains in the main room right next to the sleeper sofa so early morning light pours in.

The noise factor of the hotel was very disappointing. You can hear people roaming inside and out at all hours of the night. The noise from the rooms above you is also very loud. We heard continuous heavy footsteps until late at night.

The included breakfast was as expected with any average free hot/cold hotel mix.

Overall, very disappointed with our stay and we will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HendoHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

622 - 628 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and would definitely stay again. Excellent breakfast included.

Room Tip: Rooms were all suites and wonderful. Very, very clean, excellent breakfast and fabulous customer se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azjd17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Wonderful rooms, excellent service, breakfast was fair but it had a good selection of hot and cold items. Room was very spacious and decorated nicely with a full kitchen. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank river_ranger7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was the nicest hotel room I've stayed in on a family trip. We have a preschooler so having two TV's was awesome (both flatscreen, naturally). One is in the bedroom and one is in the sitting room just outside. There's a sofa which turns into a bed if needed. Doors to bedroom also lock on the inside with a latch at the top of the door. Dressing area between bedroom and bathroom include huge closet with shelf space and mirrored doors, vanity sink with towels and toiletries. Bathroom very clean. Bed was firm but comfortable and the bedding was equally comfy. Pillows were lovely and soft. Kitchen is fully equipped with stove, sink, microwave, full sized fridge. Pots, pans, utensils, plates, bowls, wine cork, etc. all in the drawers and cabinets. Dishwasher and soap also provided. Notice board with info. Great book in TV cabinet with info about the hotel, nearby shopping, ATM locations etc. Laundry room equipped with washers and dryers, table to fold clothes. Bear in mind that the tourist brochures are located in the laundry room as well. Workout room and business center also provided. I had no problem printing what I needed. Read in book that there is a service whereby you can print from you room and just go pick up the printout with a code but I didn't use this as it was just easier to look stuff up on their computer and print it out in the business center. Large breakfast room offered different hot food each day -- aside from the standards like milk, apple/orange/tomato juice, coffees, toast, muffins, pastry, fruit, yogurt, bagels, etc. there was scrambled eggs, omelets, sausage, bacon, french toast sticks, corned beef hash, fruit compote. I did not care for their eggs at all, though. There's a small market next to the front desk where you can buy snacks like chips and cookies as well as limited sundry items. Offered were various headache meds, lip balms, batteries, ice cream, frozen pizza, chips, chocolate bars, Kraft Mac n Cheese and more. Vending machines were also in the hallway for stuff like candy cars and sodas. Location was awesome, right across from huge strip mall. Across the street there's a Chuck E Cheese which is good if you have kids. It's a little ways to downtown Boston but not inconvenient. What I didn't like: the door to our room slammed every time we shut it and I had to keep reminding hubby to close the door slowly. It was LOUD. Also with the door their safety latch was too low down and our child could reach it, flip it and walk out of the room. I would have preferred if the safety latch were harder for preschoolers to reach. (This is why I mentioned the lock in the bedroom -- you can at least make sure your children won't leave the room while you're sleeping at night.) The breakfast was nice but the eggs were dismal. Finally there was a worker from the kitchen who never greeted us ever, and it was off putting because usually employees in hospitality will always greet you with a smile and make you feel welcome. This one would walk past us in the halls and ignore us and ignored us at breakfast as well when he would come out and walk around. Minor gripe but it's about feeling welcome and he sort of brought that factor down. I'd return to this hotel because it was very clean, pleasant, the room was laid out just perfectly, it had everything we needed. I'll just avoid the eggs next time!

Room Tip: Don't worry about rooms by the basketball court. Ours faced it and even though there were some g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudeCorrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our group stayed three nights at the Hyatt Suites in a roomy two bedroom suite with a seperate living area and kitchen. It was the ideal set up for six people. The Hyatt provides an excellent buffet breakfast each morning and also has an evening reception with food on weekdays. The Burlington property is conveniently located just off the I95 and it is an easy drive of about 20 minutes into downtown Boston. There are shops and services in the immediate area, many of which you can easily walk to. The rates were very reasonable, particularly with the discount for AARP members. They had a great looking pool and hot tub in their outdoor courtyard, but unfortunately it was not opened up for the season when we were there in April.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarathonTraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Great place! Clean and spacious. There was a great restaurant, Not Your Average Joes, within walking distance too. We loved this, great food and great wine then we walked back to hotel. Plan to check out Hyatt House in Chicago next we loved this place so much would be great traveling with family.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

A convenient location if you have a car and comes with lots of free parking. Central Boston sights are very accessible (not by foot) but the historic outlying sights of Concord etc are also close by.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which we found much cheaper and quieter than our stay in the heart of Boston. As this is a Hyatt Suite establishment the rooms are much larger than standard hotel rooms with large beds and even a small kitchen, the two bedroom suite offers your own space with TV's in all rooms which keeps even the most difficult happy.
Location is more business so it's not as convenient for walking to the sights but its a lot more comfortable, bigger rooms, and cheaper than staying in town. There are enough out of town facilities to keep you occupied (i.e. eats, shopping mall, and cinema).
The breakfast was good and the facilities at the hotel were decent.
The hotel staff were very professional, helpful, and friendly.
For the price I would have to say that this ranks as one of the most comfortable stays in the US.
If you have transport it actually makes a decent base for the exploration of the local areas especially for a group of more than 2 people, such as families.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Telemachus_Jnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.8 km away
Boston Marriott Burlington
Boston Marriott Burlington
#4 of 8 in Burlington
814 reviews
1.6 km away
Sonesta ES Suites Burlington
1.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn Boston Bedford Burlington
1.3 km away
Residence Inn Boston Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Boston/Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Boston/Burlington

Address: 2 Van de Graaff Dr, Burlington, MA 01803-5195 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Burlington)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Burlington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Burlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Burlington
#3 Business Hotel in Burlington
Price Range: $149 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Boston/Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt House Boston/Burlington is a contemporary styled hotel with the comforts of home and office. With its residential feel and inviting social spaces, our hotel is a place to live, not just stay. Located 20 minutes from Boston, our hotel offers easy access to local businesses, shopping, dining and attractions, including Wayside Commons and historic Cambridge. Spread out and get comfortable in our spacious suites where you feel right at home. Go with a One-Bedroom or Two-Bedroom Suite, featuring a plush Hyatt Grand Bed(R), full kitchen with cabinets, dedicated work space and a living room with flat-panel TV and DVD for an evening of relaxation. Got extra guests? We've got a standard pull out sofa bed as well. Start your morning off with our complimentary Morning Spread with Omelet Bar. Grab freshly prepared sandwiches and salads from the 24-hour Guest Market or grab a few groceries for whipping up a meal in your room. Whether you are visiting for business or leisure, as our resident guest you will enjoy a 24-hour workout room, seasonal outdoor pool and a business center. Our friendly House Host is happy to help with anything else you need to feel connected and comfortable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your HYATT house Boston/Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Burlington Hotel Burlington
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Burlington
Summerfield Suites Burlington
Hyatt Burlington
Burlington Summerfield Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing