We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to go to! Forget anywhere else.”

Crab Apple Whitewater
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Charlemont
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed September 3, 2018

Took my husband for his birthday and this was his first time rafting. He has not stopped talking about how much fun he had. The guides at Crab Apple are fantastic! Especially Charlotte. Can't wait to go back next season.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Christi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank M, Owner at Crab Apple Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Awesome birthday idea! Glad it was a hit with your boyfriend. Thanks for coming and glad you had a good ride with your awesome guide, Charlotte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"deerfield river"
in 105 reviews
"monroe bridge section"
in 24 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 52 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 51 reviews
"brownie"
in 32 reviews
"fife brook"
in 30 reviews
"river guide"
in 18 reviews
"next year"
in 29 reviews
"salmon"
in 8 reviews
"awesome guide"
in 11 reviews
"water fight"
in 11 reviews
"family business"
in 6 reviews
"bigger rapids"
in 6 reviews
"parking lot"
in 21 reviews
"water guns"
in 6 reviews
"excellent family"
in 6 reviews
"inflatable kayaks"
in 6 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 513 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2018

There are multiple locations, levels and options. Know what you are getting! We did the funyaks in MA for six people ranging age 5-65. It was perfect! We had a wonderful time. They provide a mini water bottle and granola bar but you can bring more if you choose. They had no problem with my husband's waterproof bag, gopro, etc. They sell their pictures very reasonably and had glasses straps for $5. It was very reasonable and didn't feel nickled and dimed. The staff was kind and knowledgable. We ate at Hearty Eats and walked the Bridge of Flowers which was just icing on the cake. It was just a fun and relaxing low stress day.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank Marika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank M, Owner at Crab Apple Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Thanks for choosing Crab Apple and selecting our Funyak (inflatable kayak) trip on the Deerfield River. Such a beautiful and relaxing trip for 8 miles. Sounds like the perfect trip for your crew although as you mention we have a wide range of trips and options in rafts and kayaks.

Very nice that you visited Shelburne Falls after the trip and got a good meal and saw the local sights along the river.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018

My husband and I recently enjoyed our first rafting trip, and I just had to share my experience. With three kids ranging in age from 19 down to just shy of 8, I was worried abut finding the right level to accommodate everyone. We did the Deerfield River trip and found the rapids to be the perfect blend of excitement and safety. The trip was amazing and impeccably professional from beginning to end. In particular, our river guide Charlotte exceeded any and all expectations. She was fun, highly-skilled, kind and all-around remarkable. Thank you for giving us a memorable experience that we'll all treasure, Charlotte. We can't wait for the next time in your raft!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Brandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank M, Owner at Crab Apple Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Wow, what a great review! So glad this was a memorable day for your family. Crab Apple is a three generation family business and we LOVE hosting families like yours. You were lucky to enjoy the day with Charlotte, she is a wicked awesome raft guide, for sure! Ask for her next time you come to Crab Apple.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018

We did the Deerfield River - Fife brook section trip earlier this month with our family (kids ages 11, 15 and 18). Crab Apple was so organized and made it such a fun day!! (we did a float trip on the Delaware this past weekend with another company and that reminded me to leave this review as it was in stark contrast to Crab Apple!!) Our guide, Arthur, was wonderful, and very thorough with explaining how to navigate some of the larger rapids. The bbq when we got back was so nice, and they were able to easily accommodate my gluten free meal (I have celiac disease). The kids had a blast with the water fights (it was such a hot day!) We look forward to going out with Crab Apple again in the future, and would recommend them without any hesitation!!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank sksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank M, Owner at Crab Apple Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Thanks for following up your trip with a great review. Very happy to hear that you had a great family experience on the Deerfield with
your guide, Arthur. He is certainly a gentle giant who really cares for his rafting guests. Can't wait to see you again in 2019!

As for your Delaware River trip experience - sorry that did not meet your expectations. We certainly pride ourselves on our organization and logistical skills to make our trips run smoothly. Not all outfits spend enough time making sure that all parts of a trip (pre-trip instruction, check-in, river time, food, guides, facilities, etc) are top notch. Thanks for noticing that we care about the details!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

My 15 year old son and I went last Thursday. It was so fun! Pat, our guide, was awesome. Everything about the trip was just great! I cannot wait to go back next year.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank DonLeeFen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank M, Owner at Crab Apple Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Awesome! Glad it was the perfect day for you and your son - see you on the river in 2019!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crab Apple Whitewater also viewed

 
Massachusetts, United States
 

Been to Crab Apple Whitewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing