We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't live up to it's Trip Advisor ratings :(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pleasant Bay Village
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bucks
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Doesn't live up to it's Trip Advisor ratings :(”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Reading the other reviews, I'm really surprised we're talking about the same place.

We travelled from New York and had wanted to book one night at first and if we liked it, then book another 4 nights. Judy on reception advised us to book the 5 nights up front as she said the Cod was very busy & we would have difficulty finding anywhere else. She did say she didnt want to pressure us but on our journey, we were worried we would end up with no other accomodation for the rest of our stay. So based on this & the Trip Advisor ratings, we booked 5 nights up front. We asked about their cancellation policy in case we changed our mind, but they said that bookings were non refundable. So we took a chance.

As we were going to arrive at 9.30pm, they advised us to eat on the way. However circumstances meant that we couldn't so we hoped they would be able to make some snacks when we arrived. It wasn't that sort of hotel....they only served breakfast and no evening meals/snacks. There was no bar. It was more of a motel. Johnny on reception said Chatham was a quiet place with no nightlife and everything shut by 10pm generally. He rang 3 places in the centre to see if they were still serving food but they weren't - this was at 9.45pm in the height of the season! The hotel is 5 minute drive from the town centre & fortunately we found a takeaway pizza parlour which was still serving food.

On a positive note, the staff were helpful, very accommodating and willing to sort out any problems. Their resident dog Bear was an absolutely gorgeous and we all wanted to take him home with us. The landscaped grounds were very well kept too.

On a negative note, the rooms were very dated and although they looked clean at first glance, they were dirty in places. Wallpaper was coming off the walls, paintwork was patchy, and they were in need of updating. There were no tea/coffee facilities in the room and no safe.
We had 2 teenagers on 2 rollouts in our room....the mattresses on the rollouts were plastic and when the kids moved in them, they were noisy and creaky. The first night, our son hardly slept it was so uncomfortable and lumpy. We told the owner, who was very helpful & he provided us with 2 different rollouts with firmer mattresses. However they were still plastic covered so it didnt help the noise problem. But the kids said they were more comfortable.
We also were unfortunately next door to some college kids who were there for a wedding. The walls are very very thin and for 3 nights from 3 - 5 am they were raucous. Thudding, shouting and very drunk....we hardly slept. We did think of ringing reception but I was worried they would hear us complaining on the phone, as the walls were that thin! Other people complained about them to the staff.
The sink was also blocked, but sometimes you don't want to complain so we didnt. In all fairness to the staff, if we had, they would have sorted it out.
The breakfast service was slow, but the food was good.

I told my partner I wanted us to leave, but because we had booked up front and it was non refundable it wasnt an option.

I think the hotel is so important for how you enjoy the holiday - personal view. For me, it spoiled my experience of Cape Cod and I wont be going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tabby761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    133
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
321
185
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Ditto on most of the comments in the other reviews. Just want to give a shout out to the front staff who were friendly and very helpful. We like B&Bs generally because of the extra concierge service from the owners...and the PBV staff were just as helpful with ideas for restaurants, walks, etc. My only down comment has to do with personal taste: I didn't like the Florida-type color scheme in our room And I think the bed linens could be upgraded a smidge. The bathroom was very high end on the plus side. And the two issues I had with room problems were resolved cheerfully and immediately...so kudos for that. Excellent choice for the price range and the pool/hot tub space is hard to beat. The ping pong table added a fun few minutes also.

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking and want to get to pool area alot, stay away from the farther rooms (e.g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Pleasant Bay Village is a true hidden treasure behind a wall of tress on busy Route 28. Once you enter the beautifully landscaped grounds you'll feel like you are tucked away in a private resort. The grounds are deceptively large and the landscaping provides a lot of privacy. There is nothing fancy about the hotel, but everything it has is done well. The rooms are impeccable, tastefully decorated and take into account your every need. There is plenty of room to fully unpack with a large closet and lots of drawer space and shelves. Everything in the bathroom was pristine and the lighting is terrific (one of my personal bugaboos - hate having to go outside to put on my make-up!) Johnny and Judy at the desk are always fun to chat with, have great local recommendations, and will go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We thought the breakfasts were simple but great, although the service a tad slow - but this gives you time to talk to Smokey - the African Gray Parrot, and pet Bear - the huge dog mascot in the lobby.
Pleasant Bay Village is in a terrific location, easy access to the beaches and other attractions. I've been going to the Cape for 50+ years and stayed in all kinds of places. So glad we found Pleasant Bay Village last year right here on Tripadvisor. This was just our second stay at Pleasant Bay Village, but I'm sure we'll be back again and again.

Room Tip: There are a variety of different types of rooms available, so call Johnny and tell him what you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

It was my first stay at Pleasant Bay and it was very nice. The room was clean and charming. Since it was "off-season", it was pretty quiet and low key and even though the room we had was closer to the main road, it was still very quiet. The location is great - so close and convenient to many great destinations but also very quaint and charming. Also, we did alot more exploring around the area, so didn't really utilize many of the resorts amenities but the grounds were gorgeous and the staff was very pleasant and accomodating. I would definitely consider a future stay here as well as recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agr1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Hi I recently stayed in Pleasant Bay with a group of friends attending a wedding nearby. We really enjoyed our stay. There is a very warm atmosphere created both by the staff and the landscaping. Rooms were very clean, showers were piping hot and very powerful. The location is very convenient both to Chatham town and neighbouring resorts. On leaving the hotel I left my passport folder in the bed side locker and when I called to inform Pleasant Bay, Johnny in reception was so helpful and arranged for Fedex to send it to me at my next location. Don't hesitate to book Pleasant Bay for your next trip to the Chatham area.

Paul (Dublin, Ireland)

Room Tip: Room 107 is a large end unit with rear access to Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at the village and took a room for two. The welcome from the staff was excellent and warm and the facilities and village were explained very well. At all times the staff were very helpful and informative. Our room was very clean and well decorated with everything required for the stay..................even an evening turndown service.

The grounds and pool area are delightful and spacious, with the mature planting scheme, pond and garden features looking magnificent.

The location is great, close to a beach and easy to find with good access to the centre of Chatham for good restaurants (staff recommend good ones), beach etc.

Only downside was that breakfast service could be a little slow and a bit pricey.

If you are looking for a good base for your visit to Cape Cod you won't go far wrong here for quality and value...............and a great friendly welcome.

Room Tip: They all looked good to us
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vict0r_R_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here in the high season this July. The grounds are lovely with creative, lush landscaping and great garden art. Our room was very clean, bathroom was newly remodeled and spotlessly clean. Decor choices are very tasteful. Only very minor problem is our TV was older and made a humming sound. It really didn't matter though because it was so beautiful there we didn't stay in the room much. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
24.6 km away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
8.8 km away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
23.0 km away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
1.4 km away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
8.8 km away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Bay Village

Property: Pleasant Bay Village
Address: 1191 Orleans Road/Route 28, Chatham, MA 02633
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chatham
#1 Family Hotel in Chatham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pleasant Bay Village 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Bay Village is a unique and beautiful hotel/resort offering luxurious accommodations including rooms, efficiencies, and suites; located on 6-acres of exotic rock gardens and waterfalls in Chatham, just a short drive into town and seconds from Pleasant Bay beach. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast in our dining room or relax by our outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. All rooms are decorated with original art from local artists, are non-smoking and have free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pleasant Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pleasant Bay Village Chatham, MA - Cape Cod
Pleasant Bay Village Hotel Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing