We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cape Cod without the crowds”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chatham Cottage

Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage
Deck Deck for dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
2 reviews
Cottage
Deck
Deck for dining
Back view
Blue room
Kitchen
Living room/ dining room
Master bedroom
Bedroom - second free standing single bed pops out from this day bed
Bathroom with shower
Ridgevale Beach at sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Chatham, Cape Cod, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 2 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Iraval
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Under-sized, overpriced 1 bedroom cottage with ants misrepresented as 3 bedroom place.”
Reviewed August 27, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent only 1 night in the cottage, only because it took us 24 hrs to find a suitable place to move the family of 4 with a dog to an honest 3 bedroom house.
Main reasons : tiny size - (678 sq ft.) - there is 1 closet, size of a human being, for ALL 3
bedrooms - 2nd bedroom has a closet fully taken up by washer and dryer, and the 3rd bedroom has no closet. The dressers had blankets and other things in it already.
NO closet/storage space for a family of 4. NONE!
Had we stayed we would have had to literally live out of our suitcases,
with most of them in our cars - see above vis-a-vis lack of storage
space.
ANTS - were crawling in corners, on the walls, ceiling and floor. LARGE
ANTS. The only night we spent in the cottage was punctuated by
lovely wake up events in order to flick the ants off ourselves.
The plastic shower box in the (only) tiny bathroom - AS OPPOSED TO THE
full bath from the review - has a large, sagging rip in its "ceiling" which
would inevitably lead to macabre wonderings about what is above the
shower and if it will collapse on your head while you are in it.
As it stands right now, we are demanding a full refund.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Nothing, really.
Liked least: Lots of ants
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your experience. We want all of our guests to have a wonderful vacation and we take their concerns seriously. Some of our guests have been repeat customers for over 15 years. Our cottage is a traditional cottage size and has been renting as a three bedroom for over 40 years. The size of the rooms is reflected in our photos. You did reserve the cottage for four adults and a dog. We made an exception for the dog. In fact, you brought an additional adult and baby. If we had known that, we would have advised you that the cottage would be too tight for all of those people, plus the dog. In one of our reviews our bath with new fiberglass shower stall was referred to as a “full bath”. Please note the photo of the bathroom on our site. In the past few years we have upgraded to new appliances, a trundle bed to conserve space, WIFI, flat-screened TV, and streaming DVD for our guests’ convenience and comfort. All of our plumbing and electrical wiring has been upgraded. Recently, one of the closets was updated to a stacked washer-dryer in response to our guests’ requests. This did eliminate one closet, but hooks were provided. To ameliorate this issue, we will be substituting wardrobes for the bureaus to provide more space for hanging clothes in the two bedrooms without closets. We are surprised by your report of the ants. A professional was called in just the week before your stay to take care of that unexpected problem. We brought him back right after you left. He thoroughly inspected the property inside and out and found a few dead ants, but no live ones. He re-treated the cottage just to be certain. The woman who cleans found only two dead ants. We are aware of the damage to the single ceiling tile in the shower which must have been caused by someone denting it with an object. It will be repaired in the off season. Thank you for letting us know about your concerns.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJPLee_NH
Lee, NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cape Cod without the crowds”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This traditional yet very spacious Cape Cod cottage is perfectly situated in a quiet neighborhood on an lightly traveled road. It is a most pleasant five minute walk from the cottage to a delightful beach with great swimming. The cottage itself is well maintained, has a completely outfitted kitchen, and a lovley attached deck. In addition to a full bath there is a very private outside shower which is perfect after returning from a trip to the beach. My wife and I have stayed here by ourselves on both of our visits, but the cottage can easily handle a family of four or five. Chatham is a lovely town with many interesting shops, art galleries, and restaurants and only a ten minute drive from this cottage. One would be hard pressed to find a better Cape Cod experience than a week or two at Chatham Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The solitude
Liked least: No concerns
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing