We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Sad, alarming stay.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Springfield/Chicopee MA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn Springfield/Chicopee MA
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chicopee
Cheltenham, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sad, alarming stay.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed here during summer 2011. Have delayed writing a review, as I have been confused about this hotel from the moment I stepped foot through the door.
The check-in was good and the receptionst friendly. Plenyt of parking and easy access to our room.
I have never stayed at a Days Inn before, so not sure what I was going to encounter.
The air conditioner in our room was loud, smelly and dirty. The carpet was greasy. The double bed was 2 singles pushed together. The dresser was broken and the curtains didn't close properly.
Had we not just driven 6 hours from the Catskills, on route to CapeCod, we would have definately moved hotels. But we were tired, hot and hungry.
Had dinner in the bar next door, which although a bit rowdy and loud, the food was suprisingly good.
Breakfast the next morning... This is the bit which upset me most.
I had my breakfast with my 2 young daughters, next to a table on which an older man was grillling 3 teenage boys as to why they should join the military. He was obviously on some recruitment drive and these 3 boys looked bewildered and lost.
Apart from listening to 30 minutes of jingoistic claptrap, I was more than shocked that this "gentleman" was allowed to do this on Days Inn property.
Whatever your views about the military campaigns that USA are undertaking, I did not expect this at breakfast in a hotel, even in a military town. I would have expected this man to be escorted off the premises. He was not.
This hotel needs a massive amount of work, renovation and care.
I don't know what other Days Inns are like, I would never risk finding out.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheltenhamCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HershalBK, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Springfield/Chicopee MA, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TA. All our rooms are inspected and maintained on a daily basis so I'm surprised you found the room in such disarray. I apologize for your breakfast experience but as you know this is a free country and we cannot control what our guests say--we have a lot of military business due to Westover Reserve Air Base. We are constantly upgrading the property so we hope you give us another opportunity next time you are in the area.

Thanks,

Hershal Patel
BK Investments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    92
    97
    98
    70
See reviews for
176
72
51
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

I don't recall staying in a days inn before but I do not think I will come back. The staff was very friendly and courteous. Check-in was a breeze. Hotel though is a bit run down & dated. Room was spacious and clean but again very aged and inferior to other hotels. Very quiet but since it is right off the highway, do not book if you can't tolerate the noise of cars and trucks whizzing by. Hotel was not busy. Hallways smelled of cleaning chemicals. Breakfast selection was more than expected but not impressive. Bagels were hard, waffle maker was broken, coffee was dark water. There were several interesting characters roaming around which became clear that they lived there since they spoke to the front desk person on a first name basis. However, it seemed that they had rooms in a different wing of hotel. I may be thought of as being snobbish but this place depressed me over all and I do not see myself staying at a welfare hotel again when I can afford better. However, I do not blame the hotel since I was being cheap and economizing.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlomagno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HershalBK, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Springfield/Chicopee MA, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review on TA. The hotel was bought in 2007 and it was in really bad shape. We have put in almost $2 million dollars in renovations and we continue to upgrade the hotel. The people you are referring to have been displaced due to the tornadoe we experienced earlier this year--their homes were destroyed and they are staying with us until they have a new place they can call home. I'm sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us, I hope you give us another opportunity in the future.

Thanks,

Hershal Patel
BK Investments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, CT
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

My mom (of senior citizen age) and I booked a 2 night stay and traveled with my 2 young children. I have to say, I was concerned at first (bar on premisis, pet-friendly = barking at night, etc). I was pleasantly surprised. Our collective experience was a very good one.I have no complaints. It was super quiet, the front desk was friendly and accommodating, I enjoyed the fitness area and my children had a blast in the game room. The brightest spot of it all was the food and beverage employee, Pat, who greeted us each morning like she was hosting her own Bed and Breakfast. She was warm, gracious and went out of her way to make sure the kids and I had everything we needed and was accommodating when I needed to bring breakfast items upstairs to my mom who could not make it down due to illness. I look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayO16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HershalBK, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Springfield/Chicopee MA, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the positive review on TA. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Thanks,

Hershal Patel
BK Investments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

After weeks of planning, the reservations were not correct.Checked out after the first night due to major disturbances in the room next door, followed by distrubances in the hallway. Upon calling the front desk to voice concerns that evening and the following morning, managment seemed to just take it in stride like it was a everyday occurance. Room was free for the night, but that is not customer service. Staff needs C.S. training???

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HershalBK, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Springfield/Chicopee MA, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on TA. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. The GM acknolwedged your frustrations the following morning, apologized, and refunded all your money. We cannot control the actions of all our guests--we hope you give us another opportunity to service your lodging needs.

Thanks,

Hershal Patel
BK Investments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicopee hotels

Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

This hotel is obviously aging. Much of the decor and some appliances are dated. Other than the condition of the building my complaints are minor (no fridge/micro, no quarters for laundry, sink not actually in bathroom, a few particularly offensive guests).

Staff was friendly enough, breakfast was acceptable (and available early), and it really is close to everything.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HershalBK, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Springfield/Chicopee MA, responded to this review, 6 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TA. This property was purchased in 2007 and we continue to upgrade the property--a brand new $20,000 property management system was recently installed. Also, Elan's Lounge has been completely renovated and is now open to the public. We hope you give us another opportunity next time you are in the area!

Thanks,

Hershal Patel
BK Investments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

My first night at Days Inn in Chicopee, MA as soon as we walk into the lobby of the hotel we new we going to very disappointed with our stay there. The place look like rundown motel the place had no bride in there business. They gave us a room #125. The size of this room was 10 X 10 dirty, filthy with a bad odor. The bed was a smaller that a full size it looked like they found the mattress in a dumpster; it was a nightmare. We asked the front desk to give us other room but they said that they didn't have any vacancy in the hotel due to a event in town called The Big E. Thank God, in the car we had a thick covering that is used to move furniture we went out to get it and we laid on the bed so that try to get so rest but that was impossible. The next day at 11:20 am they gave us a bigger room with a king size bed but all in the same dirty condition there was hairs in the bathtub the sink was dirty. So we called some friends to help us out and they were able to get us a room at The Sheraton Hotel in Springfield MA. So we were supposed to stay at the Days INN for 2 night we could do it for other 5 minutes so we packed and left. We new that we had lost $172.97 and no refund was going to be given to us. This Days INN shouldn't even have half of star or worth $20.00 per night. I have always used hotwire and this was my first bad experience and because of it I will never use Hotwire.com again I will be to scared to experience this again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kacery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HershalBK, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Springfield/Chicopee MA, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Dear Guest,

People who book via a third party channel like hotwire.com tend not to be happy with their accomodations even though they pay a lower price and here's why: those rates are the lowest because the room type is usually the cheapest room the hotel has available. Unfortunately, we did not have a different room to accomodate you in due to the fact we were sold out and other people had paid much more than you did. Our lobby is completely remodeled and is better than most hotel lobbys. We have a lot of pride in our hotel--it was recently purchased and renovations continue. I'm sorry you were dissappointed in your stay with us. Please book at daysinn.com in the future to guarantee the best room type.

Thanks,

Hershal Patel
BK Investments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

I'd suggest you bypass this hotel. We booked this hotel to be close to the Brimfield Antique show as a Wyndham club member. The front staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast area clean. They switched our room at our request to be closer to our car and the room was relatively clean however some of the upgrades (eg granite countertop around bathroom sink) were in contrast to other room quality (the walls surrounding the bathroom sink were badly in need of replacement). As well the TV was about 20 years old. There was no fridge, no microwave and not even a luggage rack (we had to use the ironing board to place our suitcase). There was a continual drip in the bathtub area from above and we had to close the bathroom door to avoid the sound. And it appeared that the hotel was home to people other than
motel guests (mothers and children) which made it quite noisy with children running up and down the halls and a different environment than that of transient guests. Had we known all this, we would have spent more money on accommodations for a better quality room elsewhere with more amenities in the surrounding area..

Room Tip: ask where the pet friendly rooms are and avoid them...ask to be in a quiet area away from children r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CV_traveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HershalBK, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Springfield/Chicopee MA, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TA. We continue to upgrade the hotel as our budget allows. I'm sorry you did not have a positive room experience--we are upgrading rooms in clusters so you may have been in a room that has not been upgraded. I'm happy that you found our staff helpful and friendly and our renovated breakfast area clean. We hope you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations next time you and your family are in Chicopee!

Thanks,

Hershal Patel
BK Inbvestments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicopee
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn Chicopee/Springfield
7.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
5.4 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
#5 of 17 in West Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Residence Inn Springfield Chicopee
7.4 km away
Howard Johnson Express - Springfield
7.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Springfield West Inn
BEST WESTERN Springfield West In...
#2 of 17 in West Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Springfield/Chicopee MA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Springfield/Chicopee MA

Property: Days Inn Springfield/Chicopee MA
Address: 450 Memorial Drive, Chicopee, MA 01020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Chicopee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chicopee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Springfield/Chicopee MA 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Inn in Chicopee Massachusetts has been newly upgraded in 2015. All rooms include high definition flat screen LG TV's. We also have brand new Beautyrest Pillow Top Mattresses by Simmons in every guest room. Our fitness center has state of the art Precore equipment and is a great place for a quick workout. The Days Inn Hotel is located near several major Highways, I-90 and I-91. Westover Air Reserve Base, 2 miles. Convenient locations and a variety of accommodations makes the Days Inn Hotel in Chicopee MA ideal for families, business travelers, seniors, weekend vacationers, groups and special events i.e. weddings. 7000 Square Ft. Conference & Banquet Space. The Hotel in Chicopee is located near Six Flags New England, 10 miles (Discount Tickets Available) Eastern States Exposition (The Big E), 8 miles. University of Massachusetts and all other colleges within minutes. Days Inn, The Best Value Under the Sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Days Inn Springfield/Chicopee MA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Springfield/Chicopee Hotel Chicopee
Days Inn Chicopee
Chicopee Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing