We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
84
5
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
5
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain's suite cape cod b b's longer stay common areas are adirondack chairs perfect stay breakfast each morning sea captain mayflower beach room was spotless would definitely stay here again beach towels ann paddle hosts skylight
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 92 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2017

My friends got married at the Dennis Inn and this was one of the properties that was recommended which was an easy choice for the proximity and the reviews. Roy and Ann were wonderful and made sure we were well taken care of. The rooms with a fridge had bottled water, books, sunscreen, and bug spray were available which was excellent. There was also breakfast and coffee but was up too late :)

I unfortunately didn't get to take full advantage of the property and lake but it would have been perfect for a longer stay and better weather.

I will say it was a bit dusty and older but that's the charm of the B&B!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank KimberlyG425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2017

When looking for a Dennis-area place to stay, I scoured reviews and websites to find the perfect place. Now, we all know finding the perfect place is near-impossible... usually you have to "lose" something you want. But if it is possible to reach perfection, Scargo Manor is IT.

The B&B itself is a charming old house owned by a sea captain back in the day (a classic Cape Cod tale). Our room was the Princess Suite on the 2nd floor, which had a brand new gorgeous King bed, AND another attached back bedroom (with a door separating) with a single bed that was perfect for our 9 year old son 9 (you could easily fit another child on the floor of this room). Also as a GIANT bonus, there is an attached private balcony that overlooks the gorgeous Scargo Lake beach and giant Manor lawn. It was perfect for enjoying a glass of wine at the end of the day (and a generous-sized mini fridge is in the room as well to keep it cold! And stocked with bottled water daily!).

The decor of the B&B was classic and cute, not super fancy but adorable in that "B&B" way. The food was very delicious, with 3 hot entrees every day as well as many breads, muffins, etc, and coffee/tea/juice options, and yogurt. It's only served from 8:30-9:30... would have loved it to start at 7:30... because of the beach arrival time (more on that later).

Roy & Ann, the innkeepers, are quite possibly the nicest people you've ever met. Ann made me feel like a well-known friend before I'd even shown up, recognizing my phone number when I called to confirm. Roy loves to chat, keeping the conversation lively, and the other guests were all very fun to talk to as well. Classic B&B conversation with strangers who become friends.

But what makes this place the "Whole Package" is the grounds, and its incredible proximity to the town & BEACHES of Dennis. First, the grounds -- the yard is the size of 8 suburban lawns, with lovely lush grass, and a trampoline, soccer goal & whiffle ball to play with (did I mention we had a nine year-old with us??), not to mention several hammocks everywhere. Then, at the end of the lawn is a lovely sandy beach on Scargo Lake, a perfectly-sized gem in the middle of the Cape. Across the lake is a larger public beach, perfect for swimming and playing (more sand & a little less "murk", according to my son, though you could swim off the Manor's beach). We used the pedal-boat, sailboat and paddle board to go across the lake. There are kayaks as well, and many Adirondack chairs to relax in on the beach. The lake & all the amenities were a great way to spend a less-than-perfect-beach-weather afternoon, and we spent our last morning there as well because we enjoyed it so much.

Next, the proximity. You can walk to no less than 6 outstanding restaurants (and cute shops) in 10 minutes, not to mention a market, a park, and the best-known playhouse on the Cape. Only reason we didn't go to a show was because of the aforementioned 9 year old, but I'm told it's amazing and it looked like a gorgeous space. Make dinner reservations a week in advance -- really recommend FIN, it was the best meal we had on the Cape.

The 3 beaches of Dennis (Chapin, Corporation, and Mayflower) are all 1/2 mile or so away. Maybe a mile to Chapin. Mayflower beach is, hands down, THE BEST BEACH IN AMERICA. If you have ever pictured a "Cape Cod" beach, this is the one -- half mile of sand bars at low tide, umbrellas and sea grass on the sand, impeccable. And if you go on a sunny day, you MUST arrive before 8am (like, 7:30) on a weekend, and no later than 9 on a weekday (we left at 8:45 and were one of the last cars). If you don't get parking, don't fear -- drive back to Scargo Manor and call an Uber to drive you there -- you'll end up saving $25 for parking!

Basically, this place has it all -- no pool, but being from CA we didn't need one -- we were there for the amazing Dennis Bayside Beaches, and wanted to be close to them (being able to walk to town was just a bonus). The lake was an amazing alternative to the ocean (and again, something we don't have a lot of in CA!). Love, love, love this place -- we will be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JarJar319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2017

The Scargo Manor's Captain's Suite was one of the few B&B's to offer decent accommodations for a family of four, so based on that, and reviews, we decided to book.

We were not disappointed. First the hosts: Anne is a total riot. She makes the experience. Warm, funny, and hospitable. And very chatty. Roy went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable (replacing the air conditioner on a unseasonably hot day), providing a bike, making sure the water equipment was all in working order.

Speaking of the water equipment: the kids had a blast with kayaking, paddle boarding and peddle boat (or whatever they call those things).

Finally, the bunny was an absolute hit. A really cute touch.

All in all, a great stay and if we were ever back in the area, we'd be sure to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank goldbeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2017

We stayed on vacation in the Hydrangea Room for four nights. The room was extremely comfortable with everything we needed, including a skylight to watch the stars! The house was a delight - beautifully decorated to preserve the feel of an historic Captain’s house. The town of Dennis was a great base to explore the rest of the Cape - from Provincetown to Martha’s Vineyard. Most of all, what made our stay really memorable were our hosts, Ann and Roy. They were both incredibly friendly and willing to accommodate all of our needs - and Ann’s breakfasts were amazing. Would highly recommend Scargo Manor to anyone visiting the Cape.

Room Tip: Hydrangea Room was quiet with good view of the garden and the lake
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kimandkevin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2016

I stayed in the Princess Suite for three nights in October. Really phenomenal. The Scargo is comfortable, cozy, and personal -- just want you want from a B&B. Great location, next door to an excellent restaurant and walking distance to town (under a mile). Anne and her husband make a beautiful breakfast and are so helpful and fun to talk to. I actually stayed there on business, and there is plenty of common space to work and we were able to get a strong wifi signal -- but it was as fun as a personal stay!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank meganmoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews