We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Ship's Knees Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ship's Knees Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 East Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Lovely”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Our second stay and it was again, lovely. Beautiful and comfortable room; friendly, helpful hosts and delicious (and beautifully presented) breakfast. Cozy, without being too intimate. Charming, well appointed, and just a short walk to Nauset Beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    37
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
166
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We took advantage of the inn's 3 nights for the price of 2 and stayed the first weekend in Nov 2011. Our room had king bed and private entrance to the courtyard. It was nicely decorated with good quality toiletries provided in the small bathroom. The location was great - a short walk to Nauset beach and a short drive to several restaurants, etc., that stay open off-season. The owners were friendly and also thoroughly professional, offering info and on trails and other local attractions. For us, the continental breakfast (local daily newspaper, bagels, english muffins, homemade pastry, fresh fruit cup, good coffee, juice, cereal and yogurt) was perfect.... especially the just-out-of-the-oven scones that we took with us as we left on Sunday morning. Thanks, Peter and Denise.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNYtraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Ships Knees on the weekend of the Wellfleet Oysterfest 2011. We called ahead to say that we'd be arriving late and the owners gave us great directions to our room and left the light on for us. We stayed in room 3, which was super cozy - low ceiling, sitting area with working fireplace overlooking the courtyard. Got up early, grabbed a coffee and took a short walk to Nauset Beach to watch the sun rise. The bathroom could use a little updating, but was clean and not a big deal. Breakfast was not "traditional B&B", but was very good - really tasty continental style with fresh baked breads and scones, fresh fruit cups and much more. the innkeeper was very nice and helpful for local attractions. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuralMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, MA
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Ship's Knees Inn is charming, cozy, and just plain delightful. Peter and his wife are very hospitable and welcoming. The outdoor patio with its gas fireplace is beautiful, and breakfast is delicious and presented in a very appealilng manner. We cannot wait to visit again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, CT
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

When considering where to stay for a long anniversary weekend I was presented with two resorts and the Ships Knees Inn a fantastic B&B near Nauset Beach in Orleans' MA. We had a lovely suite that was a great value considering that the resorts wanted $700 per night. We were in the midst of everything wonderful about lower Cape Cod. Nauset Beach is spectacular, Rock Harbor sunsets beautiful, easy access to Wellfleet and P-Tow, Chatham and it's charm just to the south.

The owners were warm, friendly and helpful. You couldn't find a better place to stay!

Room Tip: Nauset Suite is spacious and very private. A great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockridgeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Amazing Inn; close to the shore, beautiful rooms, wonderful breakfast, darling outside fire pit and the best Inn Keeper! At the conclusion of our bike trip, the bike rental company picked up our transportation. We sudden;y realized we were too far from our next connection to walk and the Inn Keeper gallantly offered to provide a ride. Now that's "above and beyond" hospitality!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Ship's Knees Inn in mid-September, 2011 to celebrate his birthday. We enjoyed the charming decor in the historic inn and the lovely gardens. In the evening before dinner, we sat in front of the gas fire pit on the patio and enjoyed our wine.
The innkeepers, Peter and Denise, helped us choose an excellent restaurant for dinner. The breakfast of fresh fruit, cereal, and homemade baked goods was an excellent way to start our
day exploring the nearby National Seashore. This lovely inn so close to Nauset Beach is a great find.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 543voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orleans
9.2 km away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
9.6 km away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
684 reviews
3.2 km away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Nauset House Inn
Nauset House Inn
#1 of 5 in East Orleans
366 reviews
11.6 km away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
6.1 km away
Inn at the Oaks
Inn at the Oaks
#1 of 11 in Eastham
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship's Knees Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship's Knees Inn

Property: Ship's Knees Inn
Address: 186 Beach Road, East Orleans, MA 02643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship's Knees Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth and charm of a 190 year-old restored Sea Captain's home, just 1/4 mile up the hill from the world famous Nauset Beach. 17 individually appointed rooms, 15 with private bath, and 1 or 2 bedroom fully equipped ocean view "Captain's Quarter's" guest apartment. Our newest accommodation (2010) the "Nauset Suite" has a king bed, private bath and private entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ship's Knees Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship`s Knees Hotel East Orleans
Ship's Knees Inn East Orleans, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing