We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great Place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harborside Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
New Hartford, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great Place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed here after a terrible stay at the 1720 House, earlier in the week. This was a very clean, nice Hotel. The staff was great, the location is excellent, the pool was perfect, the views are beautiful. The rates were very good, it was a good sleeping environment and we are looking forward to coming back with the rest of our family. They helped to make the rest of our week enjoyable, after the horrible experience at the 1720 House and Abbey Hirsh.

Room Tip: We had a room in one of the out Building a next to the main building and it was great, quiet and and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryr1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    37
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
32
52
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selden, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed here for our 10th anniversary and was not disappointed! From the time of booking, the staff was wonderful to us. The location is amazing and the view is breathtaking. So many places to go in walking distance. We were surprised at how family friendly the place was and will definitly be back with our children. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We had a center balcony room overlooking the harbor. We loved the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDMD831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

What a great location, right in the centre and on the outskirts of the residential area. A beautiful spot, quaint houses and overlooking the harbor with cafes and restaurants within easy walking. The rooms although in period decoration were very old fashioned and very over priced for the inclusions.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank JDandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringoes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Spent three days here right before labor day weekend.....got a special rate on a guest room facing Water Street...I usually stay at B&Bs but I took my nine year old son and the pool was key...especially after a long day at the beach.....the room was more than adequate and the grounds and views were spectacular. I'm not sure if I would pay 400 bucks a night during peak season but that seems to be the going rate.....only one negative..the parking lot was a good 1/4 -1/2 mile walk up the street' other than that I thought it was quite nice and comfy.....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fitedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Rack rate for a Motel 6 room. Great location, but overpriced by $150 a night.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ominbnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampstead, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
137 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

The Harborside Inn is a beautiful place to stay on the Vineyard. Visited Martha's Vineyard several years ago and stayed at the Harborside Inn. Immediately went to the front desk and asked for a list of units available to purchase. When we went home we were able to purchase one. We go back every year during the 39th week. This time of year is a much quieter time but the restaurants are still open and the stores also.
The Harborside Inn is a very beautiful place. It is so very well taken care of by the loving hands of the staff. There isn't a thing that they won't go out of their way to do for you. From the first minute when you walk into the entry way you are greeted with a smile and treated wonderfully. The staff always looks out for you and will do everything possible to make your stay at the facility a happy one. The manager is a great guy and very low key. He assists all of the owners and the guests with total respect and goes out of his way to make sure that your stay is a happy one.
Harborside is located right on the harbor and you look over to Chappaquidick island. It is a beautiful location right in the center of Edgartown and the shops and restaurants are within walking distance. There is an outdoor heated pool, a hot tub and other amenities for the guests. Many of the rooms are in old homes that hold a lot of history, but the rooms have been renovated beautifully and are clean, comfortable and beautifully appointed. As I titled this piece it is a little piece of heaven on the Vineyard.

Upon reading the other reviews, I have to laugh at the negative ones. It appears that some people don't like to follow rules. Yes, absolutely The Harborside Inn has rules and yes they need to be followed for the safety of everyone. What is the problem with that? Absolutely nothing.
If you want to enjoy a great time on Martha's Vineyard stay at the Harborside Inn in Edgartown and you will not want to leave and just cannot wait for the next time you can come back to visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chiefrbpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed at The Harborside Inn, which is in the midst of things in Edgartown. It sits on the edge of a gorgeous residential neighborhood which is fun to wander and look at the beautiful homes and gardens. The Harborside is a very nice place, especially if you can reserve a balcony room with a full-on view of the harbor. The lodging we had was in one of three historic whaling captains' homes, which are very well-maintained and charming.

Our room was good-sized, with a relatively new bathroom. The ceiling fan and A/C kept it cool, plus its beautiful little private balcony provided extra space. We were extremely pleased with it, having read a negative review on TripAdvisor that the hotel was dated and rooms extremely small, which was NOT our experience.

Room Tip: Reserve ahead, to get a balcony center room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mebrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.7 km away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
10.4 km away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
1.0 km away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
8.0 km away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.0 km away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#2 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Property: Harborside Inn
Address: 3 S Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8137
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Edgartown
Harborside Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing