We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Fried Clams” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodman's

Woodman's
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Fried Clams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is the place to go for awesome New England seafood! Fresh! Fresh! Fresh! The best fried clams ever! They even have gluten-free fried clams!

This is a family friendly, no-frills restaurant! It's all about the seafood!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bermuda78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    187
    120
    43
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fried clams are the draw -- bring cash and an appetite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

They may not be the healthiest preparations, but certainly the most delectable -- and you can't get much better than the New England fare here at Woodman's. Even my parents, who are from another state, make a special detour to enjoy the food here! The dining area is not sophistocated, but the food makes the trip worth it.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“hate it, so over rated, must have great publicist”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

so not the place to get your lobster! i guess it is fine if you like friend food, but we got fresh lobster, grossly overpriced, over cooked, had to wait in two lines one for food one for drink and then sit in extremely uncomfortable tables. can't recommend a good lobster in the rough place in the area, we've found it's never as good as home unless you go very far north in maine

Helpful?
1 Thank ArtLovingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
157 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Drove an hour and 15 minutes specially to get there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Staff have that typical New England charm...warm and cheery as melting ice.
Explained I had read about the place, being a legend, etc...staffer looked at me like I wasn't there...impressive

The star is the food. In summer they jam the place---it is a factory...don't look for atmosphere...very New England clam shack'y but it's function over enthusiasm.

Fried everything...it is why you go there...and this is the best I have ever had.

Chowder is ok at best---skip it for the main event. The Haddock was prepared better than anywhere else I have had it---and that list is massive. The color achieved was between yello and gold...spot on perfect...

Tried both the whole bellies and strips---this place says it invented the fried clam...if so, they have perfected it ...excellent

Fries were not great...Rings the real deal

If you love sea food, come 'n get it!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We went on a sunny Saturday afternoon around 2pm.
There was no line at the order window. I ordered a small side order of fried scallops ($17.50) and a small side of onion rings ($5.50). My wife ordered a clam strip plate ($13.95). We got our drinks and found a table in the back to sit at. In about 10 minutes our order was ready to pick up.
The clam strip plate comes with fries, onion rings and cole slaw and was very large. My wife said the clam strips were delicious. My scallops were good but you only get about 10-12 in a box which I thought wasn't enough for the money. The next size (medium) box was around $25 which is way too much for me to pay. The onion rings are excellent but I think the fries are boring and tasteless.
There's a couple of things that I don't like about Woodman's; the sodas don't have free refills and the prices are a bit high.
I wouldn't come here if my wife didn't like the clams so much, lol.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yawl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woodman's also viewed

 
 

Been to Woodman's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing