We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort
Quincy, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

I stayed just this past weekend to get away for my birthday and was very pleased with the condition of the hotel. I checked in on Friday with one other person, we reserved the two bedroom suite because we had two additional guests meeting us on Saturday. The room was available when we arrived a little early. The front desk staff was incredibly friendly and made a great first impression for the hotel. The room was clean and spacious, perfect for 4 people (or even 6 if you plan on using a pullout couch). The room was stocked with every thing you need to cook at the hotel. The one night we requested a blender, they were super quick to bring it up to the room for no extra charge. The porch was HUGE! The outdoor pool was closed (being only March) but we were able to use the indoor pool at the sister hotel down the street for no extra charge. I got more than I expected for the low cost of our stay there. Its walking distance to the British Beer Company, great food and fun live entertainment. My ONLY suggestion - get some new comforters! They seem very outdated and don't feel too nice. Nice newer comforters could really make the rooms look entirely new, a small change that could go a long way. Thanks for great stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissCoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_CQS-SFD, General Manager at Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comforter suggestion. We are constantly updating decor and we will look into replacing the comforters prior to the summer of 2012. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    19
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

We had booked a long weekend and had to find another place to stay because the place was so filthy.
There was dust on top of the fridge,TV and phone books. There was pubic hairs inside the fridge and in the jaccuzzi. The jets in the jaccuzzi had obviously never been cleaned, and there was hairs in the jaccuzzi. The sheets were stained, and there was hairs on the pillows. One of the kitchen fabric chairs had some dried on slime. The toilet was not clean.
It was late and the receptionist allowed us to cheek another unit, and that one was also not clean. So we ended up having to find another place to stay at 11pm.
The receptionist said the mananger would contact us, and they never did.
Stay Away!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cjs0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_CQS-SFD, General Manager at Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
Hello,

I was disappointed to read this review. Cleanliness is a top priority for Captain's Quarters, we take pride in our housekeeping and apologize for any inconvenience suffered by this guest. The issues mentioned above were never brought to the attention of management, if they were they would have been taken care of immediately.

All of our rooms are inspected twice after cleaning. First by the Executive Housekeeper and then by the General Manager, we would never release a room in that condition. I only wish that the guest followed up with the Resort as opposed to opening a Tripadvisor account and deciding that would be the best forum for their frustration. We would encourage all of our future guests to allow us an opportunity to examine the process that led to their unhappiness.

I have sent a private message to this reviewer in the hopes that we can have a second opportunity to make a positive first impression!

Thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

This is the third time we have stayed at Captain's Quarters, and I think that we enjoy it more each time. To be clear, the facility itself will never be confused with a Four Seasons, and the beach is nothing like one in the Caribbean, but it is clean, the service is great, and the location is hard to beat. My grandaughter loves the pool, the beach right across the street, the grassy area where you can fly a kite, and the many ice cream, mini golf, etc. places within a short drive. My son loved fishing with his friend on a boat located just a mile or so away and using the jacuzzin in the room. My daughter likes the pool, beach, and going to have a few drinks and watching a ball game at the British Beer Works just 2 blocks away. My wife and I like the beautiful Shining Sea bike path that is just a few miles away, the ferry to Martha's Vineyard about 1/2 mile away, as well as going to Cape Cod baseball league games at night. We soon will be booking a week next summer at Captains Quarters.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EandG75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_CQS-SFD, Manager at Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2010
We at Captain's Quarters appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

Loved our stay Captain's Quarters. Very clean, quiet rooms with plenty of space. 2nd & 3rd floor rooms have balconies overlooking salt water pool & also unobstructed view of ocean across the street. (Hint: the lower the room number, the closer to ocean.) Having the kitchenette was great. Jacuzzi tub & gas fireplace in master bedroom was heaven. Easy parking on site. Short walk to 2 great restaurants w/live entertainment. Close to downtown, marina, ferry to the islands. You can get anywhere on the Cape from here. Knowledgeable and helpful staff (they even compile a weekly sheet of local events - try Jamaican night with live music on Wednesday!). They go out of their way to accommodate. I highly recommend Captain's Quarters @ Surfside Resort and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nhdancer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

Wasn't sure what to expect after reading 2 of the latest reviews, but was pleasantly surprised. First, the location is fantastic being across the street from the ocean and less than 2 miles from the main street of Falmouth. Room was adequate and clean, housekeeping did a great job. Staff at the front desk were very accommodating and friendly; really could not be more helpful. Everything was very well maintained, lobby, rooms, etc. We would absolutely stay there again :)

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoduck5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_CQS-SFD, General Manager at Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words! We have shared your thoughts with the staff and it is appreciated. We hope to see you again soon~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2010

Cheesy. Motel grade. Not worth the money. Full size bed was HARD, no mattress pad, flat pillows, and the bedding felt like burlap wrapped cardboard. 2 Full bathrooms with no shower pressure and if you are over 5'5 you must kneel to be under the shower head. Sub-standard soap, shampoo and conditioner provided. The "lovely" jacuzzi tub in the bedroom looked fabulous with its marble and mirror surround. The tub jets were intermittent, the water smelled like dirt and the water drained from the tub no matter how hard we tried to stop it. The tub was also extremely loud and not at all relaxing. The gas fireplace was a nice touch as long as you didnt mind the ticking time bomb noise coming from the timer. There was no real climate control as the room varied from hot as hell to freeze your butt off in a matter of hours. The fridge smelled horrific and I refused to put food in it. Bring your binoculars if you plan on watching tv as it is tiny. Plan on hearing every noise from the neighboring rooms and remember, they can hear you too. Even the front desk girl admitted that she didnt like staying there either. We toured 2 other "resorts" owned by these people and they were just as bad. Dont waste your time. The extreme high-pressure sales tactics are ridiculous as well. We would have bought just to travel elsewhere but the sales people were far too pushy and in-your-face. Alas, one can only polish a turd so much and its still a turd.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gailypooh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_CQS-SFD, General Manager at Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort, responded to this review, 9 February 2010
I was surprised to read this review. We at the Captain's Quarters take hospitality very seriously. We are proud of our Resort, I have never heard anyone complain about the shower head. It is a standard size shower' I thought the remark about being over 5'5" was humorous but far from the truth. In regards to the linen they were recently upgraded, we provide shampoo conditioner and soap. People that travel often usually bring their own toiletries if they prefer a certain brand, I am sorry it was not agreeable to this particular guest. Climate control is always going to be different for each guest, they have the ability to set the temperature to their desire. If they were having trouble I wish they would have informed our Front Desk and we could have assisted right away. As for the Front Desk agent who said she does not stay at the Resort...I would hope so! I have never heard of a Hotel or Resort that would allow it's employees to stay in the rooms, I had to read it twice to make sure I read it correctly. I guess the bottom line is everyone has different expectations, we STRIVE to make sure everyone enjoys their time with us to the fullest. We have very few reviews on Tripadvisor, for the most part people have enjoyed themselves. I understand this reviewer stayed for their complimentary night and were unhappy with the sales aspect. I do not think it is fair for the reviewer to take out their frustration on the Resort by exagerating their perceived issues to justify their complimentary evening or their issues with the tour program. Our owners and guests are our number one priority, we have a long tenured staff willing to help in any way possible. I would hope that our future guests would look at our whole body of work and not rely on one reviewer when making their decision.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

Gas fireplace did not work, light bulbs out, could hear showers and jacuzzis from nearby rooms loud enough to drown out TV in our room. Kitchenette supplies of poor quality and several items missing. Heat supplied at one end of unit only, so people could not sleep in both bedroom and on sofa bed in living room- Sweltering in bedroom and cold in living room. More motel-like. No winter activities. We feel other local places offer more- both in and off season.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jian9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_CQS-SFD, General Manager at Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort, responded to this review, 9 February 2010
I am so sorry you had issues with your stay, I have sent a private message to you and hope you would give us a second chance to make a first impression!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
2.5 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
1.1 km away
InnSeason Resorts Surfside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Seaside Inn
The Seaside Inn
#11 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.4 km away
Inn on the Sound
Inn on the Sound
#3 of 9 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
9.7 km away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort

Property: Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort
Address: 241 Grand Avenue, Falmouth, MA
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain's Quarters at Surfside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Captain`s Quarters At Surfside Hotel Falmouth
Captain's Quarters At Surfside Resort Falmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing