We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
68
34
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
34
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach watching the boats ocean breeze rooms are clean no air conditioning vineyard sound the ground floor small fridge main street cape ferry lull units
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 113 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2010

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised upon arrival at the Tides Motel. Polite, friendly staff greeted us, and helped us find a restaurant to eat at that evening. The room and the bathroom were very clean. The view was beautiful. The price was great!
All in all, a perfect stop-over for our trip back to Canada from Martha's Vineyard.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Na51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2010

This motel is perhaps the most amazing hotel on the whole Cape – the location is unbeatable, you literally walk to the beach and the sea from your room, if you are on the first floor. The magic of the sound of waves is indescribable, and it is so enchanting to fall asleep lulled by it…

The sea water quality is very good yet not the best, since right next to the pier on the side there is quay from Falmouth marina. It provides its own romance and entertainment, though, as it is pleasant to watch the boats. Still the swimming from the motel beach is very good, the water in Falmouth is warmest in the whole Cape, it was about 80 at our stay on Sep 1, 2010. I would advise to wear swimming shoes as the sea bottom has some rocks and shells - it is not entirely sandy.

Tides is so marvelously decorated with flower baskets, and the lawn with flowers and bushes is immaculate. I was amazed at the most courteous and welcoming reception at the front desk – something that is rather seldom met at the Cape as well, as in most places the hospitality leaves a lot to be desired; normally you are looked at suspiciously, since you are a newcomer, and treated rather with cautious indifference. However Tides is operated by the motel’s owners, hence the most pleasant difference.

Everything on this property is squeaky clean – which is a TRUE rarity on the Cape, where in just about every hotel you will find rust, mold, etc; the only comparable place in cleanliness is Midway Motel in Eastham, but that one is not at the sea.

Our room#9 had a kitchenette with stove and coffeemaker (no microwave); it also had a fridge, which in hot weather is so indispensable. If you cook , you are expected to wash your own dishes on departure. The bathroom was also very comfortable and immaculate, although it had a shower only, no bathtub. Naturally, only soap was provided, no additional frills., as it is customary on the Cape. Yet additional pair of towels was on the bath rack, which was a generously nice touch.

Tides Motel seem to cater to rather quiet clientele; there was no sound of loud talking, music, TV, etc., which is fantastic, since you can truly enjoy what you came here for – the music of the sea and the songs of seagulls. It is so delightful to feed these birds, too!

There are a few potential drawbacks, depending on your taste and requirements:

All rooms except for one have two double beds, and only one room #5 has a queen bed. Also, the reading light is right above each bed, lighting the whole room, while it would be less disturbing if it lights more discreetly. In addition, the quality of the linen and blanket is average, which is, “virgin polyester”; unfortunately, it is a problem of the whole Cape – if you want a New-York or European quality bed, you will not get it. Since I live only an hour drive away, I always bring my own down comforter and pillows with me, but for those who can’t these polyester covers could be a disappointment.

There is no air conditioner in any room. We were there when outside temperature was 95 degrees, and yet because of the sea breeze it was very cool in the room. But for those who can’t live without the A/C its absence could be a problem. The motel provides fans and hairdryers at the front desk.

The quiet location also means that there aren’t any restaurants right at the spot; but it is a 2-5 min drive to Falmouth center or just over the hill along Grand Avenue to the next public beach, where there are a few eateries – Bailey’s by the Sea, etc. We have not eaten anywhere but in our sea-front room, since it is the BEST possible view and open-air place.

This place is a gem and a great find on the Cape.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gradiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2010

My family and i have stayed here 2 yrs in a row. It is so convient,especially with little kids.You don't have to pack a cooler, and not to mention finding a parking space to go to the beach!! It is a little musty and everything feels damp.They do not have a microwave,or a hairdryer!!! If your looking for a reasonable price and don't want to waste the day packing up stuff,this is a great place!! A little tip? Make sure you drive far enough to go out to eat. Very expensive eateries near the pier.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bella22Weymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We spent a week driving all over the Cape and stayed at the Tides Motel for the last two nights of our trip. It was by far the best place we stayed at. We had an unbelievably clean room that walked right out onto the beach! We slept with the window open listening to the waves both nights. With Martha's Vineyard out the back window and Falmouth Harbor out the front, you can't find a more beautiful place. We will be back there soon!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adamwesthart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2010

rooms are clean, staff is friendly and the sliding glass door opened right out onto the beach. An easy drive to many things in falmouth and plenty of parking. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kebbie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews