We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
68
34
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
34
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews there is no air conditioning private beach water shoes martha's vineyard dishes and silverware boats coming yacht club next door island queen coffee maker watching the boats screen door ocean breeze rooms are clean fantastic location nantucket sound small fridge the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 113 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We actually were invited to stay by friends.They had found hotel on line,we all are familar with area usually rent a home in heights.Loved the private beach! Rooms are very clean and ground well kept.Maid service very prompt and thorough each day.Only complaint is beds are a bit to hard and pillows not so plush. Quite for sleeping and nice ocean breeze.This is a annual weekend trip for our freinds and family we will be returning next year.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BETH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 5 days. What a treat to sleep on the beach (figuritively speaking). Opening the window and slider - we felt safe and at home. Truly the sound of the surf is something you only hear on CDs - but it was real! Our room was beyond clean! Immaculate! The service was friendly and caring. Young couple own and run it and are on premises at all times - and you can tell. The decks and beach are swept every morning. The cleaning staff are polite and sincerely interested in our comforts. View of Martha's Vineyard and the boats leaving the harbor - picture perfect. Wear water shoes - shore is rocky but surprisingly, you get used to it. Once you get in the water and see how clean and clear the water is - it was worth the purchase of the shoes.
ONLY downside is privacy - Easy solution: build 1/2 walls on the patio between rooms and label the room numbers from the beach side (we had a guest poke his head in our screen door and a few young guests liked to walk down the patio peeking in rooms. The 1/2 walls would give the senseof more privacy and discourage peekers.
We hope to make this a tradition and hope to see this one and only improvement we could see.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capevacationer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We could walk onto the beach from our backdoor & the off season rate of $120 was great. The kitchinette feature was handy & free WiFi was a nice feature if at bit slow (0.7Mbps). The Island Princess ferry & British Beer Company are an easy walk. However, it's an older property with poor insulation and we could practically hear our neighbors breathing. Avoid room #7 if you can. We were right by the ice machine and the stairway to the second level which made for a noisy location. The sheets were low quality. No shampoo or hair dryer in the bathroom. They provided a ironing board but no iron

Room tip: avoid room #7
Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank runtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2011

This motel gets a five rating from me because of the fabulous location and the cleanliness of the rooms. In fact it looked as though the rooms were updated recently. If you were any closer to the water it would be in your room! There is nothing like falling to sleep by hearing the waves hit the beach. Our room had a small refrigerator, sink, microwave, coffee maker and some plates/utensils. Great for breakfasts and lunches. There are no amenities such as an iron (although there is a small board) hair dryer or shampoo, etc. The room rates are VERY reasonable. The view of the water, boats and Martha's Vineyard is such a treat. Only comment about the beach: bring water shoes and beach chairs as the shore is rocky.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lanpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2010

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised upon arrival at the Tides Motel. Polite, friendly staff greeted us, and helped us find a restaurant to eat at that evening. The room and the bathroom were very clean. The view was beautiful. The price was great!
All in all, a perfect stop-over for our trip back to Canada from Martha's Vineyard.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Na51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews