We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
68
34
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
34
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach watching the boats ocean breeze rooms are clean no air conditioning vineyard sound the ground floor small fridge main street cape ferry lull units
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 113 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the end of July. The room was a good size and immaculately clean. We were given a fan when checking in as there is no air conditioning & it was hot. We had the doors at both ends of the room open to let the air blow through. We were facing the harbour so it was kind of noisy from boats and cars. We really could have done with an air-conditioner. It is right on the beach which is really nice until you get to the water. It is really rocky in the water and not just for a few feet like some areas. That part was disappointing. We were gone most of the time so it didn’t matter except for the last day we wanted to relax on the beach & in the water. We found it expensive for what it was, but that is Falmouth; everything is expensive. You need to bring your own shampoo, etc. There was a coffee maker & fridge in the room. No pool.

Room Tip: Facing the ocean are nicer & probably more quiet
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmv686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This motel is not fancy, but I've always found it to be immaculately clean. There is no better location on the Cape. It's incredibly beautiful to look out over Martha's Vineyard sound and watch the boats coming and going from the harbor. Plenty of dining options in the area. I won't stay anywhere else in the Falmouth area because the location is simply perfect.

Room Tip: I like the second floor because of the view, and better air circulation on warm nights.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We were delighted with the choice of this motel, and enjoyed it more than any other on our tour of New England, because of its perfect location, right on the beach by Falmouth Harbor. Regrettably we only had two nights, but could have spent a week there, relaxing by the ocean. Room 5 was on the ground floor, with a patio right on the beach. The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and recently decorated to a good standard. A clock and glasses would have been nice (plastic cups not great for sipping wine!), but all in all a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room facing the beach.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Offthetouristtrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We checked into this motel for my brothers wedding weekend, the place is on a great spot, however the room was so musty smelling and my son was sitting in the bed and told us there was a bug! we googled the picture and it was exactly what a bed bug is! We then tore apart the bed and found a couple more. We told the office and they swore they were not bed bugs. That night we were so discusted and slept fully clothed and got new blankets (on our own) for our kids to sleep in. The next morning my husband took a shower and found another bug on him! That was it.... we packed up and stayed somewhere else! The office never resolved anything and told us again it was not bed bugs and if it were they would have to fumigate the whole entire place and it would be costly. My guess.......THEY WONT DO IT! beware!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kiwikellbell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTidesMotel, Owner at Tides Motel of Falmouth, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

My family has owned The Tides Motel since 1968 and has never had an incident with bed bugs. I understand that bed bug infestation has grown to epidemic levels across the country in recent years and we do everything possible to prevent and protect ourselves from such issues. Having said that, knowing how easily bed bugs are spread we would never conduct ourselves in the manor presented by the reviewer. This review is completely fictitious and unfortunately TripAdvisor will not allow us to respond to the review with the truth of what happened. This review is nothing more than an attempt to extort money from our business and we are amazed that TripAdvisor is allowing it to happen. We ask that you look at our reviews from the past years and you can easily see the glaring contrast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Tides Motel and loved it. The motel is very basic but very clean. The cleaning staff was busy cleaning windows, sweeping, etc. the entire time we were there. The location is great. The beach is private but rocky. The public beach is about a half mile up the hill. We enjoyed both. A ferry to Matha's Vinyard is only a half mile away (walk so you don't have to pay $15 to park). The motel is about 2-3 miles from the tourist shops and restaurants. We would definately go back! Two stories, no elevator.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjn752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews