We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tides of pleasure.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tides Motel of Falmouth
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2010

This motel is perhaps the most amazing hotel on the whole Cape – the location is unbeatable, you literally walk to the beach and the sea from your room, if you are on the first floor. The magic of the sound of waves is indescribable, and it is so enchanting to fall asleep lulled by it…

The sea water quality is very good yet not the best, since right next to the pier on the side there is quay from Falmouth marina. It provides its own romance and entertainment, though, as it is pleasant to watch the boats. Still the swimming from the motel beach is very good, the water in Falmouth is warmest in the whole Cape, it was about 80 at our stay on Sep 1, 2010. I would advise to wear swimming shoes as the sea bottom has some rocks and shells - it is not entirely sandy.

Tides is so marvelously decorated with flower baskets, and the lawn with flowers and bushes is immaculate. I was amazed at the most courteous and welcoming reception at the front desk – something that is rather seldom met at the Cape as well, as in most places the hospitality leaves a lot to be desired; normally you are looked at suspiciously, since you are a newcomer, and treated rather with cautious indifference. However Tides is operated by the motel’s owners, hence the most pleasant difference.

Everything on this property is squeaky clean – which is a TRUE rarity on the Cape, where in just about every hotel you will find rust, mold, etc; the only comparable place in cleanliness is Midway Motel in Eastham, but that one is not at the sea.

Our room#9 had a kitchenette with stove and coffeemaker (no microwave); it also had a fridge, which in hot weather is so indispensable. If you cook , you are expected to wash your own dishes on departure. The bathroom was also very comfortable and immaculate, although it had a shower only, no bathtub. Naturally, only soap was provided, no additional frills., as it is customary on the Cape. Yet additional pair of towels was on the bath rack, which was a generously nice touch.

Tides Motel seem to cater to rather quiet clientele; there was no sound of loud talking, music, TV, etc., which is fantastic, since you can truly enjoy what you came here for – the music of the sea and the songs of seagulls. It is so delightful to feed these birds, too!

There are a few potential drawbacks, depending on your taste and requirements:

All rooms except for one have two double beds, and only one room #5 has a queen bed. Also, the reading light is right above each bed, lighting the whole room, while it would be less disturbing if it lights more discreetly. In addition, the quality of the linen and blanket is average, which is, “virgin polyester”; unfortunately, it is a problem of the whole Cape – if you want a New-York or European quality bed, you will not get it. Since I live only an hour drive away, I always bring my own down comforter and pillows with me, but for those who can’t these polyester covers could be a disappointment.

There is no air conditioner in any room. We were there when outside temperature was 95 degrees, and yet because of the sea breeze it was very cool in the room. But for those who can’t live without the A/C its absence could be a problem. The motel provides fans and hairdryers at the front desk.

The quiet location also means that there aren’t any restaurants right at the spot; but it is a 2-5 min drive to Falmouth center or just over the hill along Grand Avenue to the next public beach, where there are a few eateries – Bailey’s by the Sea, etc. We have not eaten anywhere but in our sea-front room, since it is the BEST possible view and open-air place.

This place is a gem and a great find on the Cape.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gradiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2010

My family and i have stayed here 2 yrs in a row. It is so convient,especially with little kids.You don't have to pack a cooler, and not to mention finding a parking space to go to the beach!! It is a little musty and everything feels damp.They do not have a microwave,or a hairdryer!!! If your looking for a reasonable price and don't want to waste the day packing up stuff,this is a great place!! A little tip? Make sure you drive far enough to go out to eat. Very expensive eateries near the pier.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bella22Weymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We spent a week driving all over the Cape and stayed at the Tides Motel for the last two nights of our trip. It was by far the best place we stayed at. We had an unbelievably clean room that walked right out onto the beach! We slept with the window open listening to the waves both nights. With Martha's Vineyard out the back window and Falmouth Harbor out the front, you can't find a more beautiful place. We will be back there soon!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adamwesthart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

rooms are clean, staff is friendly and the sliding glass door opened right out onto the beach. An easy drive to many things in falmouth and plenty of parking. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kebbie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

My parents stayed at the Tides for many years, and it was always their favorite place at the cape. We have been visiting the cape since I was a small child, and have always found the Falmouth Heights area to be my favorite part of the cape,and the Tides Motel to be the best value on the cape.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikeladyart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

My boyfriend and I (in our mid-20s for those of you researching) stayed here this past summer and found it to be the perfect getaway. Being on the beach here makes you feel as if you are a million miles from the outside world when you are in fact quite close to downtown Falmouth, which is great for going out to dinner and shopping. We loved that once you arrive - you have no reason to leave. No sitting in traffic or waiting for parking at public beaches...we simply stepped downstairs onto the private beach which was never overcrowded. We also were able to walk to and from the ferry to go to Martha's Vineyard for the day. Great place to go with your significant other, or one or two of your girlfriends for a 'girls weekend.' Not the place to go to party if you're a group of young people - which is also why it is great for couples. The other guests seemed to be pretty easy going, so it's not the type of place you have to worry about 'stuck up' touristy types. Being next to the beach at night is so romantic and peaceful. The room itself was super clean, the bathroom seemed almost new, and the staff was very friendly. Can't wait to return here next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nosilla126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Stayed at the Tides recently, and loved every minute of it. Right on the water, listen to the surf, dig your toes in the sand, have a cocktail, and relax! Walking distance to great Falmouth restaurants, and super beaches, including the one right outside your door. The staff was super, very kind, and helpful. Offseason rates were very good, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mimiwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
0.8 km away
Beach Breeze Inn
Beach Breeze Inn
#1 of 20 in Falmouth
544 reviews
4.5 km away
Green Harbor Waterfront Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge
9.7 km away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
1,018 reviews
1.1 km away
Town and Beach Motel
Town and Beach Motel
#5 of 20 in Falmouth
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Motel of Falmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Motel of Falmouth

Address: 267 Clinton Ave, Falmouth, MA 02540-3800
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: $99 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides Motel of Falmouth is situated on its own peninsula at the mouth of Falmouth Harbor. We offer twenty-nine suites with two double beds, cable TV and access to our own private beach; twenty suites are equipped with refrigerator, range or microwave, and service for four. We also offer a two-room presidential suite with kitchenette and accommodations for six. You won't find a more relaxing or convenient location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tides Motel Of Falmouth Hotel Falmouth
Tides Motel Falmouth
Tides Hotel Falmouth
Tides Motel Of Falmouth Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing