We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$452
US$410
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harborview Inn(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$239
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Julietta House(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
The Castle Manor Inn(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$179
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$299
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$265
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rockport Inn and Suites(Rockport)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
45
48
10
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
48
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom cottagenice poolcontinental breakfastthe cottagesstay there againwhale watchnice place to stayswimming poolexcellent staybed was comfortablefirst floorclose to downtownshort drivestayed one nightyogurtcoffee makernew england
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 108 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our family have been staying at the Sea Lion Motel & Cottages since our children were very young and the tradition has continued to the next generation. Even years ago when it was owned by others untill 1999
, it was the perfect accommodation for families. Since 2000 with the new ownership however, it is even more special. The motel provides a clean, comfortable relaxing atmosphere. The perfect place to decompress. The staff are very accommodating and welcoming. There isn't much one could ask for that the staff and management won't try to do for their guests.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Sea Lion Motel this past weekend for 3 nights. The location was great because it was close to the beach, grocery and other stores, and a short ride to the downtown area. We stayed in a suite in the main house (room 122). It was pretty much a small apartment - it had a full kitchen, a large living room/bedroom area, a large private deck, and your own private pool entrance. Having the full size refrigerator was great! The motel is not far from the beach, and there are distant water views from some of the rooms. I would have rated it higher if we would've been able to sleep better. The bed was flat and hard, and there was just something about the pillows that kept us from being comfortable. Also, 2 of the windows are stained glass (which were very pretty), but they really magnified the sunlight very early in the morning! I would return to the Sea Lion, but I would probably bring more of my own pillows.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magen1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My family holds a weekend reunion (approximately 40 people) each summer. We alternate between the Jersey shore and the New England coast. The Sea Lion Motel and Cottages is by far the best place we've stayed. The rooms, grounds, and pool are immaculate. A previous review complained of a musty room smell, but once we turned on our air conditioning unit, any odor (which was minor) disappeared. The property offers a nice range of affordable accommodation styles...small cottages for young families, larger ones for families of six, suites, and standard motel rooms. One family group in our party rented
the two bedroom cottage which includes a good-sized private backyard where we enjoyed a lobster bake catered by local caterer, Classic Cooks. Excellent food...way above a typical clambake and great service. The Sea Lion is within walking distance to a supermarket and liquor store... convenient for people staying in units with kitchenettes. The motel is about 1 mile from Good Harbor Beach-- perfect bathing beach with bonus of natural lazy river. Kids loved it. The only drawback for the Sea Lion I can think of is that it would be difficult to walk to the beach because there are no sidewalks. However, they provide discounted parking passes for Good Harbor. The employees and owner, Mona, were so gracious.The Sea Lion is a simple and wonderful gem.

Room Tip: The one bedroom cottage was perfect for two adults with two small children.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twryan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My company called a company wide 4 th july week shutdown, so I made a quick decision and found a closeby place to rent for a few days. My wife and I like Cape Ann so I made one phone call during lunch and we were all set. The resort was very close to my work and only 45 minutes from home but there are lots of nice places to go on Cape Ann. There's too many good places to eat.
We rented a one bedoom cottage. It had a full kitchen, full bath, AC in living room and bedroom. Although it is on a somewhat busy road, its very quiet since its on a hill and set back. The staff was very nice and accomodating. The cottage was vey clean.
There are many beautiful beaches and miles of shoreline to see. Gloucester has a great history with many museums. And if you like seafood, there is no better place to eat. You cannot find bigger clams anywhere.
I know we will be back again. Also, it was very reasonable priced.

Room Tip: We were in the middle cottage.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobandDonna_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I have stayed at Sea Lion twice and both times was happy. The accomodations are spotless, staff is helpful and friendly. The heated pool was just right.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have any view at all, but some do, so you should ask when making the reservations.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catloverKingston_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews