We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfortable stay”
Review of Sea Lion Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Lion Motel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This was our first trip to the East Coast and you will find out quickly that it is not cheap to stay in this area. Our first stop in Gloucester was the visitors center. After telling them we were just staying for the night and we were looking for something reasonably priced and clean. They called up the Sea Lion Motel to see if they had any open rooms. We lucked out with this one. Not only was it reasonable it was clean, had a nice pool, was pretty close to the downtown area, and you got a discount for Harbor Beach to use. We also met Marty a regular who has been coming to Gloucester for 40+ yrs, he always been staying here because they like it so much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCHELSEY6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

Our family have been staying at the Sea Lion Motel & Cottages since our children were very young and the tradition has continued to the next generation. Even years ago when it was owned by others untill 1999
, it was the perfect accommodation for families. Since 2000 with the new ownership however, it is even more special. The motel provides a clean, comfortable relaxing atmosphere. The perfect place to decompress. The staff are very accommodating and welcoming. There isn't much one could ask for that the staff and management won't try to do for their guests.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed at the Sea Lion Motel this past weekend for 3 nights. The location was great because it was close to the beach, grocery and other stores, and a short ride to the downtown area. We stayed in a suite in the main house (room 122). It was pretty much a small apartment - it had a full kitchen, a large living room/bedroom area, a large private deck, and your own private pool entrance. Having the full size refrigerator was great! The motel is not far from the beach, and there are distant water views from some of the rooms. I would have rated it higher if we would've been able to sleep better. The bed was flat and hard, and there was just something about the pillows that kept us from being comfortable. Also, 2 of the windows are stained glass (which were very pretty), but they really magnified the sunlight very early in the morning! I would return to the Sea Lion, but I would probably bring more of my own pillows.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magen1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My family holds a weekend reunion (approximately 40 people) each summer. We alternate between the Jersey shore and the New England coast. The Sea Lion Motel and Cottages is by far the best place we've stayed. The rooms, grounds, and pool are immaculate. A previous review complained of a musty room smell, but once we turned on our air conditioning unit, any odor (which was minor) disappeared. The property offers a nice range of affordable accommodation styles...small cottages for young families, larger ones for families of six, suites, and standard motel rooms. One family group in our party rented
the two bedroom cottage which includes a good-sized private backyard where we enjoyed a lobster bake catered by local caterer, Classic Cooks. Excellent food...way above a typical clambake and great service. The Sea Lion is within walking distance to a supermarket and liquor store... convenient for people staying in units with kitchenettes. The motel is about 1 mile from Good Harbor Beach-- perfect bathing beach with bonus of natural lazy river. Kids loved it. The only drawback for the Sea Lion I can think of is that it would be difficult to walk to the beach because there are no sidewalks. However, they provide discounted parking passes for Good Harbor. The employees and owner, Mona, were so gracious.The Sea Lion is a simple and wonderful gem.

Room Tip: The one bedroom cottage was perfect for two adults with two small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twryan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My company called a company wide 4 th july week shutdown, so I made a quick decision and found a closeby place to rent for a few days. My wife and I like Cape Ann so I made one phone call during lunch and we were all set. The resort was very close to my work and only 45 minutes from home but there are lots of nice places to go on Cape Ann. There's too many good places to eat.
We rented a one bedoom cottage. It had a full kitchen, full bath, AC in living room and bedroom. Although it is on a somewhat busy road, its very quiet since its on a hill and set back. The staff was very nice and accomodating. The cottage was vey clean.
There are many beautiful beaches and miles of shoreline to see. Gloucester has a great history with many museums. And if you like seafood, there is no better place to eat. You cannot find bigger clams anywhere.
I know we will be back again. Also, it was very reasonable priced.

Room Tip: We were in the middle cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobandDonna_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I have stayed at Sea Lion twice and both times was happy. The accomodations are spotless, staff is helpful and friendly. The heated pool was just right.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have any view at all, but some do, so you should ask when making the reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catloverKingston_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I was planning a deep sea fishing trip out of Gloucester, MA., and, since the boat leaves at 4:00AM and I was not familiar with the area, I thought it'd be wise to get there the day before and get a decent night's sleep. The charter boat captain recommended The Sea Lion saying it was clean and comfortable. I called and spoke to someone named "Mona." I explained that there would be five of us staying and we would only need one night. To make things more difficult, we would be staying the Saturday evening of Memorial Day Weekend. She explained that normally, there is a two day minimum and that weekend would be tough. But after some back & forth conversation and quite a bit of research on her part, she provided us with connecting rooms, with a kitchen for one night. I also told her that if the weather did not cooperate, the captain would cancel the excursion even as late as the night before. She said they had a seven day cancellation policy, but if things looked really bad, to call and they would try to work with us on any refund that could be had. The price for what we got was more than reasonable.

The rooms were perfect, clean, and spacious. The service was great and everything about the Sea Lion was to our liking. While the fishing was not all that great, the guys in our party said, "well, at least you picked a nice place to stay."

We'd recommend staying here and probably will for next year's outing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
2.7 km away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
258 reviews
2 km away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
3 km away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
418 reviews
23.4 km away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,048 reviews
3.5 km away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Lion Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Lion Motel

Address: 138 Eastern Ave, Gloucester, MA 01930-1854
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range: $145 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Lion Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sea Lion Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Lion Hotel Gloucester
Sea Lion Motel Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing