We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Standard, Good Breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty Standard, Good Breakfast.”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed in the Holiday Inn Express for a night during a trip out to Amherst. Pretty standard across the board. Staff was very friendly, checkin was easy, room was smallish, clean enough, bed wasn't the most comfortable I have slept in, but certainly not the worst. The breakfast was actually pretty good. Very good selection, not the usual continental. There was a pancake-making machine, eggs, breads, coffee, juice, etc. All in all not a great value, but the location is very good as it is quite close to the University of Mass., restaurants, shops, etc.

Room Tip: Bottom floor by the back exit was not a great room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    111
    36
    8
    8
See reviews for
116
32
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hewitt, TX
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express three nights the last week of February. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and the breakfast was fine. What was really neat was that they now give complimentary tickets to UMass hockey or basketball games! We were visiting our daughter who is a student at UMass. It was nice to get free tickets to the hockey games, which are always a lot of fun. Great perk for the hotel price!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoofHeartedLoudly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed one night at Holiday Inn Express in Hadley, MA and were very satisfied. We got a good rate through Hotwire. The staff is friendly and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The bathroom was large with plenty of sink space. We got a good price, which included breakfast. The breakfast was OK for a free breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artlovers401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I made a reservation at this hotel last night, approximately 15 hours ago, for a stay a week from now. I am now trying to cancel that reservation based on reviews on this site, and they're not going to let me without a $120 cancellation fee. That's criminal.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dr_MPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

The rooms are clean and the service and people are friendly. The complimentary breakfast is fine for an economic hotel with ample food and choices from yogurt to cereal or eggs. The orange juice has improved in the past year. It used to be watery and now it is decent.
The workout room had several machines but should have antiseptic wipes available so that the machines can be cleaned after each use. The TVs are all now flat screens which is nice. Overall, a pleasant modest place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papamimimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed here because we were visiting colleges in the area and we got a suite for a good price and it included a full breakfast. When we pulled up the hotel looked really nice from the outside. The room, however, did not look as updated as the hotel exterior. It was worn and dated although roomy. My biggest gripe about the hotel was that it was not clean at all. Unfortunately we did not get in until midnight and were too tired to really notice until the morning. But the bathroom smelled like a dirty sponge and there was hair and dirt on the floor of the bathroom. The bed didn't even look like the sheets had been changed; the pillow was crinkled and didn't have the trademark thing around it that says whether the pillow is firm or soft. We were really feeling a little creeped out when we realized the room had not been cleaned. If they updated the rooms and got new cleaning staff this hotel is in a great location and the breakfast was better than the usual. My daughter loved the pancake making machine. However, I would not stay here again due to the fact that the room smelled and was dirty.

Room Tip: Before you unpacked check the room to see if it's clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wannatravelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We arrived at this hotel at the height of the snowstorm on Oct. 29th that knocked out power to 3 million people. The lights were on but a few minutes later everything was dark. The power was off until Monday night. During that time the hotel staff was unfailingly calm, helpful, courteous, and professional, from the front desk personnel to the housekeepers. Even though they had their own homes and families to worry about, they came in and did what they could for us; we were even still able to have breakfast (cold items) those mornings. As people in the region stopped in to see if there were any rooms and found there was no power, everyone answered questions and gave what news they could. Real grace under pressure. The hotel even credited us our night without power (we had decided to stay for our full five nights as we had business in the area, and luckily the power came on Monday night, much sooner than anticipated).
We will certainly make Holiday Inn Express in Hadley our hotel of choice when we return to the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willarddix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
0.5 km away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
3.7 km away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
457 reviews
2.7 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
0.2 km away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
1.1 km away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#6 of 7 in Hadley
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Address: 400 Russell St, Hadley, MA 01035-9579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amherst/Hadley, is located in the Pioneer Valley, conveniently situated near Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, Smith College, and the University of Massachusetts. Our 100 rooms include a business class floor and 22 suites. Enjoy complimentary, deluxe 'Smart Start' breakfast, including hot items; wireless high-speed Internet; and use of our indoor pool and fitness room. Explore all our area has to offer and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley Hotel Hadley
Holiday Inn Express Hadley
Holiday Inn Hadley
Hadley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing