We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal base to explore Cornwall”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Stithians Church stands proud in this delightful village setting
Truro Cathedral is Victorian Gothic Revival at its best
A little further away, Newlyn is the largest fishing port in England
Pendennis Castle is one of Henry VIII's Device Forts and was built to defend the River Fal
Discover Godolphin, one of the most fashionable 17th century houses in Cornwall
Watch the sun go down at Porthleven with a refreshing drink at the Ship Inn
St. Ives and the nearby Carbis Bay are a lovely day out
Falmouth has the world's third largest deep-water harbour and is renowned for the arts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Porkellis, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rob M
2 reviews
“Ideal base to explore Cornwall”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Lovely, clean comfortable cottage, ideally situated in a quiet village just a short drive from lizard point and within easy reach of the whole area.
Welcoming hosts who also run the friendly local pub next door that serves great food if you are hungry after a day exploring. Couldn't fault it 10/10 from us!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
Rob, it was lovely to have the two of you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you both again sometime. A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringerL...
Columbia, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gem in the middle of 'no where'”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We are on day 2 of three and just finishing a delightful 'pub supper' - started with a pint of local cider and straight on to a 'trad' dinner of gammon, peas and chips. The gammon came from a pig just a ways down the road. Supper in the pub was accompanied by a pair of visiting labradors; the owners have two dogs and we brought two - all well behaved and indicative of the convivial atmosphere. Waiting for desserts - summer pudding for 2 and a dark chocolate berry meringue sundae :). We are staying in the accompanying cottage, which, like the pub has been restored. The decorations are delightfully minimal but reflect the area making the structures sound and cozy. Our cottage has an upstairs kitchen (cooker, fridge, coffee maker & good selection of utensils, plates & kitchen gear) and the bathroom down stairs has a washer/drier as well as a wall towel warmer in addition to the expected appointments). Owners are super!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
Thanks for your really kind comments. It has been lovely having the three of you and the two spaniels stay with us. We wish you a pleasant trip back and look forward to welcoming you all again soon. A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
75Angie
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY.”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Village Location.. Porkellis, Near Helston, Cornwall. The Star Inn is on the doorstep and serves good food and a selection of beers, wines & spirit. It has a small Convenience Store & Library. The Owners were very friendly and welcoming and the Pub had a great local atmosphere. Our accommodation in The Barn @ The Star Inn was first class, clean and comfortable with good facilities. The welcome pack was much appreciated. Within easy reach of Helston, The Lizard, St.Ives, Hayle, Truro etc.
We are hoping to return next year.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2017
It is really pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carter176
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top quality Christmas break”
Reviewed 27 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We had a brilliant cosy capsule Christmas at The Barn, by The Star. Great little place and a fantastic pub right next door. Andrew and Anthony are laid-back and friendly and their pub was the festive heart of the village. Highly recommend both the Barn and the pub (which has a library and a shop inside as a bonus) and the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2016
We are so glad that you joined us for Christmas and that you were able to get away from everything and enjoy your break together. We look forward to seeing you again soon. A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
We are so pleased that you had a great time and glad that you managed to catch up with so many people. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Oct 2016
Lauren, thanks for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon. A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm atmostphere
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Oct 2016
Thanks so much for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to meet with you. We look forward to welcoming you back. A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$81
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing