We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
3
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed April 24, 2016

We have stayed with Linda twice during the summer. We found our room and the house to be very clean and comfortable, and Linda's breakfasts delicious.
Our room was at the top of the stairs on the right - it was quiet, and had a lovely view of the property. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tulip1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2014

We have stayed at the Collins HOuse now twice. The rooms are clean and well-appointed and very comfortable. The breakfasts are tasty and sumptuous. Everything is fresh and served family style. Met some great people each time we were there. Loved the friendly dog...The owners are very welcoming and open to answering your questions. Looking forward to a return visit!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jary13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Spent 2 nights at the Collins House B&B and enjoyed our stay. They said they rent out 2 of the bedrooms. We were the only guests both nights and it felt as if it was our house. Our private bathroom was across the hall from the bedroom and I'm not sure how that might have worked out if someone else was staying there too. Our room was comfortable with large windows that looked out to the lovely yard. It was rather hot and we were offered either a fan or an a/c unit. The fan worked just fine. The downstairs of the B&B was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The grounds were great for relaxing and enjoying a cup of coffeee or glass of wine. Surprsiginly at night one could hear the highhway, but we kept the fan running so it provided white noise and blocked the highway.
Chauncy and Linda were great hosts -- helpful, but not hovering. Very good breakfasts.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dl602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2008

I decided at the last minute to take Hubby to the Berkshires to celebrate his birthday. Because of other obligations, we really could only stay one night. Being a very popular time of year, due to goings-on at Tanglewood and Jacob's Pillow, I made many, many calls before finding this gem. The Collins House was recommended to me by another innkeeper who had no vacancies. Fortunately, the innkeepers at the Collins House not only had a vacancy but were amenable to taking a one-night reservation (which most B&B's won't accept during high season).

I was a bit hesitant at first, because they didn't have a website yet, and I was reserving a room without seeing any pictures or reviews. When I called, owner Chauncey Collins immediately put me at ease. Turns out he and wife Linda just opened Collins House as a B&B - it was their home for about ten years prior to turning it into a business. They have three guest rooms, each with their own private bath. Well, our stay here was simply wonderful!!! You might think that newbies might have some kinks to works out, but the Collinses seemed like old hands at innkeeping, likely due to their many years' experience working in the hospitality industry. They were also very reliable regarding directions and recommendations, having grown up in the area.

As hosts, Chauncey and Linda were not only warm and friendly without being intrusive, but also very gracious and thoughtful, providing everything a guest could possibly need or want: soft drinks in the fridge... driving directions to wherever we wanted to go... a sumptuously comfy living room... numerous area guidebooks... reclining chairs on the stone patio... candles and bath salts in the bathroom... one of the best homemade breakfasts I've ever had at a B&B... aaaah, it was as if they had read our minds about what would make us happy! Linda even put a birthday candle in Hubby's breakfast muffin.

And what a beautiful home! Not a creaky drafty old house, the Collins House is fairly new but solidly built, and full of character and classic architectural details. The bedrooms are simply and tastefully decorated, and the rooms downstairs that are part of the main house could be featured in a decorating magazine -- but my favorite room was the bathroom. It was a gigantic room, with a huge tub and a shower. Hubby & I both fit quite comfortably in the tub -- we picked up some champagne in town and lit those candles for a nice romantic bath together. Our room was at the end of the hallway, so we felt like we had our own private suite.

The grounds around the house are gorgeous - it is adjacent to the Devonfield Inn, which sits on a large property. The Collins House has a stone patio behind it with plants, flowers, and flowering trees surrounding it. At breakfast, we sat and gazed out at evergreens and walnut trees, and the treeline in the distance. Its location in Lee is convenient to many attractions in the area. We had tickets to Jacob's Pillow, which was about a 20-minute drive on a very windy road, so Chauncey's directions were extremely helpful. Edith Wharton's former home, The Mount (highly recommended!), is just down the road. Restaurants and shopping in Lee, Lenox, and Stockbridge are short trips from the Collins House.

We took our chances making our last-minute reservations and the Collins House turned out to be a fabulous find. We wholeheartedly recommend it. We WILL be back - and definitely for more than one night!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NYCDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews