We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place, Perfect Stay”
Review of Gateways Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gateways Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect Place, Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We couldn't have been happier with our stay at the Gateways B & B. The owners and staff went above and beyond to accommodate our every need. The breakfast which was included in our stay, was spectacular. Everything was just baked or homemade right down to the fresh squeezed orange juice. We are already looking forward to our next trip to the Gateways, and the piano bar and lounge they are the process of creating. - Erin Daniels: Sayville, NY

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinDaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    32
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
54
222
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanuet
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My wife and I have been traveling to the Berkshires for many years and we fully enjoyed our stay at the Gateways. Our room was large and comfortable, and our hosts freindly and gracious. Michelle served a wonderful breakfeast that held us for the day. We look forwarding to returning.

Alan F

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My fiance and I stayed together at the Gateways recently overnight, and it was an amazing experience. The owners, Eiran and Michele, are incredible; kind, welcoming, warm, and knowledgable. I cannot say enough to complement our wonderful hosts. The Inn is amazing, beautiful, charming, romantic, and comfortable. Lenox is an amazing town, very quaint and quintessential New England. The Gateways is very conveniently located for all the local attractions as well, which was wonderful; the town's center was literally around the corner from the Inn. The scenery is breathtaking, and although it was winter and snowy during our stay, it was still incredible. Breakfast was wonderful, it is not often I eat an early meal, but it was worth it. We loved our stay. It was our first time to Lenox, and it certainly will not be our last- We fully intend on visiting town in several months, during peak season, and would not think of staying anywhere else!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are seem wonderful! They are all so unique, special, and different from one another, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERNewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The Gateways Inn is a wonderful Inn that my fiance and I are so looking forward to staying at again and again. We traveled to Lenox from NYC to see a wedding venue and chose the Gateways based on a suggestion from my future in-laws. Well they could have not been more right about the charm and comfort of the Inn. On arrival we were greeted as if we were family by Eiran (the Innkeeper) and his wIfe Michelle. Both could not have been more welcoming! After checking in we walked around the Inn too see this wonderful place. Eiran was more than happy to not only tour the place but give us a brief history lesson which being a history buff I immensely enjoyed. After a restful stay in the cozy Proctor room we awoke to a simple but elegant breakfast prepared by Michelle, (The previous night we explained we were not big breakfast eaters at which point Micelle looked actually disappointed that she would not be able to cook for us.) of homemade granola, coffee, tea, yogurt, fresh fruit and some delicious freshly baked croissants. Again we are so looking forward to coming back to visit Eiran, Michelle and the Gateways Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lenox, ma
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

After 15 long years, the Gateways says farewell to the Chiarrelo's as they venture in to a new chapter of their lives.
New owners but experienced innkeepers, Michele and Eiran Gazit are ready to welcome you to the Inn, originally built for Procter (of Procter & Gamble) as his Berkshire cottage, which has become a Lenox landmark.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eiran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2012

A very lovely inn in a very lovely town, walking distance to the downtown (shops!) area. We stayed in room 3, the "Sunny Room," which was larger than expected and very cozy with a fireplace and large window looking onto the main road into town. The bed was huge, plenty of plump pillows and covers, and facing the gas fireplace which made it very warm and cozy on a very cold winter night as we watched the snow blow sidewards outside the huge window. The bathroom, however, was disappointingly small, the shower stall was tiny, and the tiny sink in the corner had a strange mirror arrangement: 2 long, thin mirrors, one on each of the walls of the corner, which made it difficult to get a view of my entire face all at once. Weird. But even in the bathroom there were nice little touches, like a special black face cloth for makeup removal and nice soaps.
The food in the restaurant was superb for both dinner and breakfast, and they accomodated my husband's special dietary restrictions very nicely. The service, however, was disorganized and very slow. There was seemingly only one wait person at both meals, and she did everything she could for everyone, but could have used a few helpers. For such gourmet meals, we expected more attention to service. The Innkeeper did come in to take drink orders, and was a wealth of info about his extensive Scotch, etc. stock, but we weren't drinking. His charming chatter, though educational and entertaining, managed to slow down the meal process when he and everyone were made aware that at least 2 of the tables were pressed for time. If you do appreciate an eclectic scotch and grappa selection and conversation about it, this inn has the bar and barkeeper for you!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.7 km away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
561 reviews
4.3 km away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,020 reviews
5.4 km away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
550 reviews
2.3 km away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateways Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateways Inn

Property: Gateways Inn
Address: 51 Walker St, Lenox, MA 01240-2719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateways Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 11 room boutique hotel, located in historic Lenox MA. Origanlly built as the summer "cottage" for Harley Procter of Procter & Gamble fame. In house 5 star restuarant, exceptionally stocked bar and live music at the paino bar enhance your stay. Perfect for an intimate wedding, a family reunion or a romantic escape, we are one of the Berkshires finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gateways Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateways Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing