We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room but no air conditioning in lobby/restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apple Tree Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lenox
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apple Tree Inn
Ranked #11 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice room but no air conditioning in lobby/restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

I stayed in room #4 which I call the peacock room. A lovely room with wonderful bedding. The window ac unit did the trick! The bathroom was large with plenty of space to spread out.
The negatives are.....when it is hot, you cannot bare to dine there or even take the time to relax in the lobby and first floor rooms. There is no central air conditioning and they used fans downstairs and that's it! There were lines of people waiting for ice in the evening. Owners were not all that polite either. Almost like they were defensive because they knew it was hot and couldn't do anything about it. I suppose a Fall visit would be safer than during the hottest part of the year.

Room Tip: The peacock room is room #4 in the main inn and it is shown on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GirlBlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appleres, Owner at Apple Tree Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2011
I am happy that the guest enjoyed room #4, it is one of my favorite rooms. The guest is mistaken about the dining room, it is centrally air conditioned. We always have the air conditioning on in the dining room during dinner, although many guests prefer to dine on our covered deck with mountain views. We do not usually air condition the dining room during breakfast, because the nighttime temperatures in the Berkshires are usually in the mid to low 60's, as they were during this guest visit.

My husband and I own the Apple Tree Inn, and the guest did not discuss air conditioning with us. If she had, we would have explained that we have chosen not to air condition the parlor and other public areas in the Main House because we have few hot days in the Berkshires.

When the guest visited it was in the low 90's during the day, but cooled down into the mid 60's at night. The parlor is a large, airy space with high ceilings and we have two ceiling fans in it which are very effective. We, and we believe most of our guests, prefer to enjoy the fresh air and sounds of nature over being sealed in an air conditioned environment.

We hope the guest will return in the Fall for another visit. The Berkshires are beautiful at any time of year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    31
    17
    12
    12
See reviews for
24
50
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leverett
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We had a very pleasant stay at the Inn in spite of the fact that the odor of mold is still present as one opens the door to their room in the Lodge. Sadly, we would not return if this problem cannot be corrected. Everything else about the Inn was exceptionally done. The pool, the grounds, continental breakfast, dinner on Thursday nights, cleanliness, decor, and helpfulness of Sharon and staff was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaLeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appleres, Owner at Apple Tree Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2011
We are happy that Linda enjoyed most aspects of her stay and appreciate the compliments. We hope she will return in the future and are working on the moldy odor she mentioned.

Some of the rooms in the Lodge do have sporadic, unpredictable dampness problems. We are working on correcting this problem. We learned this Spring that there had been some damage from ice dams over the winter and began repair work, unfortunately we were not able to complete the work before Summer hit. We also have a contract in place for improved drainage behind the building. We are hopeful that projects will correct the dampness problems.

I will keep you posted on our progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
211 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

The Apple Tree Bed and Breakfast Inn in Lenox, MA, offers rooms in both the Main House and in an unconnected lodge building. We stayed in the Main House during the off season, and enjoyed a beautiful room with ensuite bathroom. The room was very clean and nicely decorated with a beautiful bed. It did not have a TV, but that was not a problem for us. The bathroom was large and provided expected amenities. The included breakfast was offered off of a short menu, but we assume that was because the B&B was fairly empty when we visited. The homemade granola was excellent. The breakfast room/public areas of the hotel were very nicely decorated. The hotel has wireless, but our room was apparently too far from the router to achieve any speed. Internet speed in the common areas was good. The hotel has a restaurant, but it was not open during the off season. I have heard good reviews of the food there from locals. The location is directly across the road from Tanglewood, about a mile outside of the center of Lenox. It is a beautiful and relaxing place in lovely Lenox. The off season rates were reasonable. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Six members of our book group made an excursion to the Edith Wharton House, and four of us stayed at the Apple Tree Inn. We stayed on the third floor of the main house, occupying rooms 10 and 12. One room was a suite with two bedrooms, one bath, and a sitting room. The other room next door was a room with a king side bed and a bathroom in the hall. It was perfect. We all shared the sitting room and the bathrooms. There would have been room for one more on the pull-out sofa if we needed it.

The downstairs area is beautiful. We sat outside on the lanai in the evening, talked,
and drank wine. And the next morning we had a excellent breakfast. It was a very very nice continental breakfast.

Once we split the cost among us, it was very reasonable (especially since we still had the winter rate which had been extended).

To Book groups out There -- consider the Apple Tree Inn as an option. Be sure to let them know how many people you have in your group, and they'll work with you to book you into rooms which will meet your needs.

Oh yes, did I say that the landscaping and grounds are beautiful as well? You've got to see this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melekonahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

We stayed in Sepetmeber 2008 and loved every moment - the goregous views from pool and the kids rolled down the hill after breakfast every morning whilst we drank tea/coffee and chatted with friends. We stayed here to attend a wedding and despite staying in many lovely 5 star resorts around the world previously our 3 kids talk about this B&B more than anywhere else. We stayed in a top floor attic room/suite with creaking floorboards and small bathroom - but loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macmarkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazlet, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

I really love this B&B! Such care is taken in every part...the grounds, the rooms, the food, the service...nothing is missing here! The owners are genuinely nice people and you can see how much they love their Inn.
This is the perfect place to stay if you are in the Berkshires. Tanglewood is literally across the driveway, Kripalu is right next door and the town of Lenox is a couple of minutes away.
I have stayed in both the lodge and the Inn and had a great experience in both. All of the rooms have phenomenal views and the decor is beautiful.
My favorite rooms in the Inn were #2 (has its own porch!) and #4. I stayed in the Inn in the winter and it was so nice to have the fireplaces going in both the rooms and in the main parlor. It is so cozy here!
My very favorite feature here is the pool. It is absolutely breathtaking!!!! It is clean, spacious and the views are FANTASTIC!!!
In the summer they open the kitchen for dinner and it is delicious!

I highly recommend a trip to this beautiful place!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marenleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (second) with a large group of friends. The common area was perfect for our group, breakfast was excellent, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a large tub - great for reading! The owners were very accommodating and served our group a delicious dinner both nights we were there, even though the kitchen was closed for the season. I left a couple of items behind and they were promptly sent to me. We will return!!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank far2pennywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lenox hotels
6.8 km away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
6.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.1 km away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#2 of 20 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
2.9 km away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
2.8 km away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#1 of 20 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Inn

Property: Apple Tree Inn
Address: 10 Richmond Mountain Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing