We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing B&B Experience”
Review of Cornell Inn Lenox

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornell Inn Lenox
Ranked #1 of 19 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Amazing B&B Experience”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Where to begin? The Cornell in Lenox is quite possibly one of the most unique and amazing experiences. When I travel I prefer to stay in B&B's and the Cornell far suprasses all. Let's start with the food. Lance (their head chef) is utterly incredible. His culinary pairings are of the utmost quality. Lance has an understanding of food that is just beyond my comprehension; his scalloped potatoes make the Iron Chef look bad. Lance has a passion for food and it is absolutely reflected in his servings. If you have the opportunity to stay for brunch, you would be missing out if you didn't experience it. Then there is Judith. Judith is the primary innkeeper at this point in time, and she is incredible. She's kind, she's caring and most importantly, she just wants you to have a good time. Any good inkeeper is one who cares about the quality of your stay, and Judith wants to make sure your stay is fabulous. I haven't even mentioned the rooms (that's probably because I think they speak for themselves), so quanit, so clean, so outstandingly beautiful. Colleen and her crew absolutely enhance the rustic ambiance of this mangical Inn. The Cornell has an amazingly antique charm. Upon walking in you just feel welcomed. Time seems to just slow down and you're suddenly able to stop and smell the roses. Personally, I fell inlove with The Cornell from the moment I walked in. Its an experience I would recommend for anyone.

Room Tip: You just can't beat Francis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    113
    27
    11
    2
See reviews for
55
310
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed for the weekend in the Frances Room which is big, comfortable and has a nice fireplace. Lance made a delicious breakfast and had helpful tips on where to go for a hike (Kennedy Park which is 2 minutes away from the hotel) and restaurants to try. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We spent New Years Eve at the Cornell this past year and can not say enough about this place and it's staff! The staff made us feel very much at home and happily answered our questions about the Inn and surounding area. Our room was very clean with such a beautiful bed and fireplace. The Location could not be better, just a 5 minute walk into the very cute village of Lenox, where there are lots of great shops and restaurants. But!, we decided to eat dinner Saturday night at the Cornell, and let me tell you it was the best meal we've ever had!! The duck was perfectly done with a sauce that was out of this world, butternut bisque (amazing!) popovers, prime rib, risotto, potatoes, and vegetables (FIVE STARS!), bourbon pecan pie and raspberry cheesecake, (heaven!!!) we can't wait to go back, and are thinking of having a family reunion there! Did I mention the breakfast?! Hats off to the chef! Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belchertown, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We spent a quiet 2 nights at the Cornell this November. We found the B&B to be on par with more expensive ones and were suprized with great breakfasts served-up by Lance.,Our host. We picked the Frances and sprawled out in the huge room. I'm 6'6" and had no problems with fixtures. I'm am not one to indorse many things, but I will say, you can't go wrong staying here. Its clean, inviting and close to town. Best, Peter and Bev.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house, your closer to the food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadley, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Cornell this past weekend and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We were celebrating our 5th anniversary and our visit was relaxing and memorable. I'll say right off that my wife and I are not finicky/fussy. On the other hand, we are not indiscriminating in our expectatiions. I was more impressed by the hospitality at the Cornell than some $300+ hotels I've stayed at. My wife's mother ran a B+B for more than 10 years and recognizes good service. In part, I am writing this review to offset a poor review that I read with disbelief. I honestly feel that 4 stars is a fair appraisal.

I like Victorian style homes and found the rooms beautiful and clean. The inn was not fully occupied so Lance offered us a choice of several rooms. We upgraded to a room called "Dolly" at no extra cost. The decore was spendid with period furniture and tasteful floral wallpaper. We loved the antique touches in the room such as lamps in the style of the early 20th century and depression era glassware. The complementary coffee mugs we received were a pleasant surprise. After dinner we took advantage of the cozy bar which had a variety of tablegames. The fourposter bed was comfortable and we slept well.

The next morning the breakfast included a delicious egg/potato/herb casserole, homebaked cinnamon rolls, fresh fruit, coffee and juice. We had a lively conversation with the staff and then walked about the property. The Cornell has a lovely Koi pond, a patio with umbrellas, and a wooden swing on the lawn. The main house has an inviting porch with rocking chairs. Afterwards, we had a great hike in Kennedy Park which was within walking distance from the B+B.

I will mention some things which could use a little attention. The house could use painting. Some yard items could be spruced up. My wife and I have renovated our house which dates back to the 1840's and believe that things don't need to be perfect to be appreciated. Overall, I felt the friendly staff attended to our needs and gave us a wonderful stay. We'd gladly stay at the Cornell again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greeley, colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed here during the last week of September for three nights. The hotel had a horrible dirty, musty odor, including our room. We stayed in Frances. It was dimly lit, the sink was very slow, the plastic mini blinds didn't keep the spotlights from shining in our windows. We asked for a fragrant candle to mask the odor. I even found pair of dirty socks in my night table drawer! Breakfast was almost inedible with herby, rubbery omelets, butter that tasted like the refrigerator and cut up fruit salad that was old. When we returned home, we found that the Cornell didn't credit our deposit and charged us the full amount. We called immediately and they still have done nothing about the overcharge. This was a week ago, so after numerous e-mails, we turned the problem over to our credit card company. We stayed at the Lenox Hotel in Boston amd the Wauwinet in Nantucket prior to our arrival at the Cornell. Both places were less expensive than the Cornell and were far superior. What a disappointment this run-down place is.

Room Tip: Find a different place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank babybulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montvale, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My girfriend and I stayed at the Cornell this past weekend and absolutely loved it. We have stayed at one other B&B in Lenox and several others in different locations. So while we may not be B&B experts we are experienced and I should also note we are very well travelled.

ROOM:
Our room was awesome but to be fair we did our research online and new we were getting one of their biggest rooms with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub. Unlike other reviews below their was a log waiting in the room.

FOOD:
The breakfast rocked. Lance, chef and acting manager for the weekend, made 3 types of pancakes: buttermilk, blueberry and per our request chocolate chip. He topped it off with his homemade pumpkin syrup which was incredible. There were also eggs which were made with herbs, potatoes, bacon, fruit and bread. Again unlike other reviews there was tons of food and Lance kept bringing out hot, fresh pancakes and eggs. Also noteworthy is the breakfast area. The atmosphere is very country with tons of windows and natural light. The other B&B we stayed in had a more formal dining room. Not that it was bad, just different, and we preferred the Cornell's.

PROPERTY
The grounds are beautiful. Outdoors the fish pond and falls are so peaceful. Inside the bar area was lovely and we enjoyed a quick card game before packing up. We also loved the proximity to Lenox so we could walk to town in 5 minutes.

Overall we loved it. As is well known the property is currently owned by the bank looking for a new owner. So I am representing all the facts the house can use a new paint job and other minor cosmetic touches but nothing major. Nornally I shy away from this situation since you never know if you will find staff that cares. This couldnt be further from the truth. The staff was awesome. We not only recommend it but are looking at booking a week there this coming summer.

Room Tip: Do your homework. Some of the rooms are small but they do not hide it online. We were in the largest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.5 km away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
552 reviews
4.3 km away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
533 reviews
5.3 km away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
9.7 km away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
993 reviews
3.2 km away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Inn Lenox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Inn Lenox

Property: Cornell Inn Lenox
Address: 203 Main St, Lenox, MA 01240-2384
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Inn Lenox 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cornell Inn, a three-guesthouse inn located in the heart of historic Lenox village. The Main House (c. 1888) is a Victorian with 10 guest rooms. The Carriage House (c. 1889) is decorated in a country primitive style. Two of the suites in the Carriage House each offer full kitchens, perfect for long-term guests. The MacDonald House, a private family home built in 1777, has 10 guest rooms, each decorated in the Colonial style. All rooms are strictly non-smoking, have private bathrooms, high definition cable with flat panel TVs, and air conditioning. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces, jetted tubs, refrigerators, and/or decks to offer you year-round comfort. The inn has a private pub for houseguests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Cornell Inn Lenox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell In Lenox Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing