We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Blantyre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blantyre
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We went for a intimate family wedding. It was the most charming, exquisite wedding, due to the ambience of this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicky9253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Blantyre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

The Blantyre was absolutely perfect in every way ! The warm staff, exquisite food, and luxurious accommodations were wonderful ! In addition, the beautiful grounds and lovely setting truly added to our stay. You will love The Blantyre !

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CtTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

If you have ever wondered what it was like to be fabulously wealthy In the 1950's, stay at the Blantyre and wonder no more. the rich have pretty ways and everything about this property is over the top. You will be reminded of your grandparents tastes and preferences from the floral wallpapers and fabrics to the mounts of exotic game animals.

The service is spectacular. The wine cellar has no equal. The food is lavish.

But, the spa needs work. We booked a couple of appointments one afternoon only to get a message in our room shortly before noon that the therapist had an issue and they would have to cancel my appointment. The fitness facility does have a couple of Woodway treadmills, but that is all to recommend it. But, this is completely consistent with the period of the place. After all, who but Jack Lalane exercised in the 1950's?

A word about the cost of all of this opulence, if your home is not a mansion of equal size and scale, then you are not the Blantyre's target audience. Nice rooms run about $1000 a night and unlike comparable resorts like The Point, that is not all inclusive. Moreover, there is an 18 percent service charge on your daily bill for the staff, so figure another $180 a night on top of the $1000 for a nice room before taxes. In summary, a three night stay in a nice room will run you more than $5000. for this reason, their $8 price for a cola makes perfect sense.

If you long for the good life back when Harry Truman was President, stay at The Blantyre and practice at the art of doing absolutely nothing all day with a talented staff who are determined to anticipate your every need.

Room Tip: The Laurel Suite is lovely
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gutreaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

quick stop over on a long east coast trip -- wonderfully quaint, friendly staff - maybe a slow night but a bit empty. Overall my husband and I enjoyed our stay but maybe we needed more time to appreciate it fully.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericamyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

If only everybody cared as much about guest satisfaction as Ann F. Brown, the owner of Blanytre does! She runs her award winning English luxury country house with an observant, meticulous eye and a generous heart.

Oodles of complimentary amenities are yours as a guest from the minute you walk in the door until the minute you leave. Very luxurious to be so pampered, and such a nice treat.

Quick and pleasant service for any request, be it for a delcious afternoon snack in your room, laundry done, a spa appointment made, or one of the staff to give you a ride to take you into town if you are having a casual bite to eat at Nudel's in Lenox for dinner

(Blantyre's dining room is the most romantic I've ever seen for a formal dinner, with all the candlelight and exotic fresh flowers and pretty table settings!)

The property is in a quiet setting with wild turkeys running around the extensive grounds, flashing their gorgeous tailfeathers. Many beautiful old trees and spacious green lawns. A great place to unwind, with lots of activities, should you choose them, from the croquet lawns to the tennis courts to the swimming pool to the ice skating rink -- and a golf course nearby.

The Paterson suite is spacious and VERY comfortable inside - as is Laurel Suite, Corner Suite and The Blue room (my favorites in the house).

Everything is spotlessly clean.

Water pressure is good in the bathrooms. Towels are thick and soft. Robes are too!

Evening turn-down was right on time.
Soundproofing is great - I never heard anything from the hallway or other rooms. Slept like a baby on the great mattress with the smooth sheets, fluffy pillows, and blackout curtains drawn on the windows.

Breakfast is delicious in the sunny, many-windowed conservatory. Fresh squeezed orange juice, flaky crossants with home made jam and marmalade, steaming hot tea or coffee.

Happy to be back on my second visit within a year, and looking forward to returning.
Blantyre beats nearby Wheatleigh hands down. If you're going to spend $1,000 a night or more - spend it here!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CinderellaDearest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We decided on Blantyre for a long weekend to celebrate our 5th anniversary. We could not have chosen a better spot for our getaway!

The house and grounds, staff, service, food, and location are amazing. We've stayed in many top hotels both in the U.S. and in Europe and Blantyre truly is the best of the best--service is comparable and even exceeds the highest European standards. The staff members are attentive and friendly yet unobtrusive. Nothing is too much trouble. The dining service is impeccable.

We booked a room in the Carriage House and before we arrived I was concerned that we might feel disappointed not to be in the grand main house. I need not have worried!! The Carriage House is wonderfully appointed and comfortable and has the added benefit of being attached to the lovely Potting Shed Spa--which includes a gorgeous pool, sauna and steam-room and a heavenly hot tub in a sunny atrium. It was wonderful to pad downstairs for a quick dip in the hot tub before retiring to bed. And sitting by the deliciously warm pool during the day was spectacular--the water was the perfect temperature for early June. Abundant bottled water, lemonade and iced tea, munchies and even Dove bars are all at guests' disposal at the Potting Shed.

Our room was terrific--called the Hillside Suite, it sits on the second floor and boasts a sitting room, a little balcony and two separate bathrooms (quite a luxury!). There are books, magazines and movies galore. The bed is very comfy, with nice fluffy pillows and a thick duvet. Lighting in the bathrooms is very good and the hotel provides nice Kiel's bath and body products. Upon arrival there is a yummy plate of cheese, crackers, fruit, cookies and some of the chef's splendid caramel candies.

The Carriage House is a quick, invigorating walk to the main house (the staff will drive guests back and forth in a golf cart if so desired). We had dinner on site all three nights of our stay and each time the meal was fabulous.

Our first night happened to be one of the hotel's special Wine Dinner events, which we chose to participate in and are so glad we did! It was a real pleasure having a chance to chat with other guests and the visiting wine makers, and to meet Ann Fitzpatrick Brown, the gracious owner of Blantyre. Ann was the perfect hostess, making sure to introduce everyone to one another. The Wine Dinner itself was fabulous, with guests seated at a beautifully appointed communal table in the original wood-paneled dining room--lots of crystal, porcelain and Limoges, linen lace, sterling and twinkling candles.

Our dinners on the other two nights were equally grand and elegant. The food at Blantyre rivals that at any top dining establishment, either here in the U.S. or abroad. My husband is a major foodie and he was in heaven. Breakfasts are equally wonderful--fresh, tasty, and plentiful enough that we never felt the need for lunch (though we did indulge in a succulent lobster salad sandwich served poolside one afternoon).

We (and I in particular) were struck by the tremendous attention to detail apparent everywhere at Blantyre. Everything at the hotel, like the impeccable tableware used for cocktails and at mealtimes (gorgeous cut crystal glasses, vintage gilded chargers, Sheffield silver and sterling holloware and utensils, embroidered linen napkins, etc,), shows an elegance I truly have never seen at any other hotel. Perfectly placed decorative objects abound in the immaculate yet inviting public rooms--from magnificent Tiffany lamps to museum-quality fine art and furniture. The beautiful decor adds to the serene ambiance of the place. Thoughtful touches like providing stamped postcards, blankets on the front porch for a windy day and a great variety of reading material make guests feel pampered and special.

We loved Blantyre so much we are already planning another trip, hopefully sometime in the fall. We so appreciated the wonderful care provided by Ann and her staff (Christina, Joan, Pascale, to name just a few). We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYC_Cricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Let me preface my comments by saying the previous reviews are spot-on. The service and accomodations are over-the-top, and any other place we stay in the future will have us comparing to the Blantyre. We're hoping to go back in the Fall. (Dismiss the review from last year from the guy who trashed the Blantyre. I think we may have even been in that room with the small TV, and I'm betting that they're the type of guests that will complain no matter what.)

But before you make your reservation, here are a few things we learned while on property.

True or False, "The Blantyre requires a two night minimum for a weekend, and three night minimum for holiday weekends" per their website.

Answer: False - we called over the phone to negotiate and they were fine waiving the minumum. When we went down to breakfast on a Saturday morning we were the only ones there.

True or False - "The Blantyre is an entirely smoke-free property."

Answer: False - we should have known better; this place is too Eurocentric for that kind of policy. Twice we took our drinks and/or dessert out to the patio and were chased off by smoking parties both times. The staff picked up on the awkwardness of the situation, but would not dare confront a guest with a cigarette, especially outdoors. So we had to leave.

True or False - "Blantyre welcomes children over twelve years of age."

Answer: False - If you have the bucks, they'll work something out. We did not bring our kids, but the truth is everything is negotiable here, especially off-season. If you have well-behaved older kids - not babies - maybe ask if you can be off the main house in a more private area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reservationless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
3.7 km away
Wheatleigh
Wheatleigh
#8 of 16 in Lenox
131 reviews
1.6 km away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.5 km away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,037 reviews
1.2 km away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
149 reviews
4.9 km away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blantyre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blantyre

Address: 16 Blantyre Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2776
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range: $651 - $1,441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blantyre 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blantyre Relais & Chateaux is a romantic country house hotel. Set amidst 110 acres of lush lawns and woodlands in the beautiful Berkshires of Western Massachusetts. A Tudor style house built in 1902 is resplendent with period furnishings and sumptuous fabrics. A relaxing retreat with a professional,caring and friendly staff. Award winning food, wine list and spa. A getaway for all seasons...summer music festivals, splendid fall leaves, winter wonderland with ice skating and snowshoeing on property. Blantyre is equidistant between NYC and Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and getaroom.com so you can book your Blantyre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blantyre Hotel Lenox
Blantyre Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing