We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRULY OUTSTANDING!”
Review of Blantyre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blantyre
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Blantyre is a most wonderful Relais and Chateau property. My husband and I have visited here
several times and have never been disappointed. From the outstanding staff, exceptional food, beautiful grounds, luxurious appointed rooms, suites and cottages, and the lovely spa with a wonderfully attentive staff, it is a vacationers dream come true! One never wants for anything at Blantyre. Ann, the most delightful, charming and thoughful owner, has thought of everything to make your stay stress-free. When you stay here, you feel like you are spending time at a dear friend's country estate.

It is hard to choose what is the most pleasurable thing to do at Blantyre since they are all
wonderful experiences each in their own right. Ice-skating with the most fabulous hot chocolate and banana bread brought to you by the "snow concierge", snow-shoeing, cross-country skiing around the property and its trails, relaxing by the heated outdoor pool, enjoying a spa service and lounging afterwards in the "potting shed", having a lovely picnic lunch on the property complete with beautiful tablecloths, cushions, fresh flowers and yummy
food, relaxing on the hammock, sitting on the covered terrace reading, playing a game or just relaxing, listening in the music room as it is filled with exquisite piano music by the pianist on the impressive grand piano......but I must stop here because the list of fabulous moments
can go on forever.

Sometimes one returns to a destination and the second time around is less memorable.. At Blantyre each visit is outstanding, if not better than the previous. You will never be disappointed, and will start thinking about when you will return again before you even leave!
THANK YOU, ANN, for restoring Blantyre and allowing us to share in its graciousness and your exceptional hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

This was our seventh or eighth trip to The Blantyre. I keep thinking that it can't get any better, and I keep being proven wrong. The staff is extraordinarily friendly, attentive to every detail, and determined not to allow you to do anything other than relax and enjoy the ambiance of this exquisite property. The food is always exceptional and the wine list is mind boggling. The accommodations in the Ice House are off the charts, but every room and suite that we have stayed in has been amazing in its own way. The "coffee table" books that adorn the rooms are one of the most fascinating aspects of the whole experience. I could easily hole up in any one of the rooms and spend my entire visit just getting lost in the pages and pictures. If you happen to have any time not consumed in eating, enjoying some wine or a cocktail, and immersing yourself in the accoutrements of your living space, walking about the grounds is a balm for the soul. If this isn't heaven on earth, you can certainly see it from here.

Room Tip: If price is no object, go for The Ice House. The Patterson Suite is also exceptional. There are no b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mainecoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Be transported in time and relive the luxury of the privileged few who summered in their Berkshire mansions in the early 20th century. Have cocktails and canapes in the drawing room while listening to piano music then off to the dining room with candlelight and beautiful floral arrangements together with attentive and expert service. Then it's back to the drawing room to hear a few more songs.

We stayed in the carriage house which had a huge recently renovated bath and was most convenient to the very large heated pool, spa and whirlpool. There is free wi-fi everywhere, something not always found even in high-end resorts.

The owner was always around greeting guests. The staff was very professional but with a friendly and helpful genuineness that cannot be faked.

The Mount, Edith Wharton's home and gardens are close by and well worth a visit. Also, it is a lovely drive over to the Clark Institute to see their great collection and exhibitions.

This was an anniversary celebration for us and a delightful two days. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SDBNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Blantyre was by far the best hotel I've ever stayed in and possibly ever will. The service was truly unbelievable. When we pulled in to the drive way we were greeted by hotel staff who knew our name and showed us to our cottage. I have no idea how they knew who we were. We walked into the cottage and were greeted with champaign and some snacks (cheese, crackers, and fruit). The room included a fire place, lots of extra fire wood, a private deck and numerous book shelves with some amazing books (we loved the pools books). In the evening we went to the main building for our tasting dinner. FANTASTIC. We sat next to the fireplace and had drinks before being seated in a small room with only two other tables for dinner. I can't possibly say enough about the service. The staff at the Blantyre set the standard for true 5 star service.
We also used the health club, swimming in the pool and using the jacuzzi during our stay. Again, all amazing.
I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for an over the top amazing experience. Loved every minute!!

Room Tip: Rent one of the cabins. While the main residence seems nice, the cabins/cottages are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NYCtraveler33Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We went for a intimate family wedding. It was the most charming, exquisite wedding, due to the ambience of this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicky9253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The Blantyre was absolutely perfect in every way ! The warm staff, exquisite food, and luxurious accommodations were wonderful ! In addition, the beautiful grounds and lovely setting truly added to our stay. You will love The Blantyre !

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CtTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

If you have ever wondered what it was like to be fabulously wealthy In the 1950's, stay at the Blantyre and wonder no more. the rich have pretty ways and everything about this property is over the top. You will be reminded of your grandparents tastes and preferences from the floral wallpapers and fabrics to the mounts of exotic game animals.

The service is spectacular. The wine cellar has no equal. The food is lavish.

But, the spa needs work. We booked a couple of appointments one afternoon only to get a message in our room shortly before noon that the therapist had an issue and they would have to cancel my appointment. The fitness facility does have a couple of Woodway treadmills, but that is all to recommend it. But, this is completely consistent with the period of the place. After all, who but Jack Lalane exercised in the 1950's?

A word about the cost of all of this opulence, if your home is not a mansion of equal size and scale, then you are not the Blantyre's target audience. Nice rooms run about $1000 a night and unlike comparable resorts like The Point, that is not all inclusive. Moreover, there is an 18 percent service charge on your daily bill for the staff, so figure another $180 a night on top of the $1000 for a nice room before taxes. In summary, a three night stay in a nice room will run you more than $5000. for this reason, their $8 price for a cola makes perfect sense.

If you long for the good life back when Harry Truman was President, stay at The Blantyre and practice at the art of doing absolutely nothing all day with a talented staff who are determined to anticipate your every need.

Room Tip: The Laurel Suite is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gutreaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
3.5 km away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#3 of 16 in Lenox
572 reviews
1.6 km away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
7.5 km away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
155 reviews
4.9 km away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
7.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blantyre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blantyre

Address: 16 Blantyre Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2776
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range: $675 - $1,713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blantyre 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blantyre Relais & Chateaux is a romantic country house hotel. Set amidst 110 acres of lush lawns and woodlands in the beautiful Berkshires of Western Massachusetts. A Tudor style house built in 1902 is resplendent with period furnishings and sumptuous fabrics. A relaxing retreat with a professional,caring and friendly staff. Award winning food, wine list and spa. A getaway for all seasons...summer music festivals, splendid fall leaves, winter wonderland with ice skating and snowshoeing on property. Blantyre is equidistant between NYC and Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Blantyre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blantyre Hotel Lenox
Blantyre Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing