We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
38
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranolacoffee tablesconesprivate beachtoaster ovencrackersfresh fruitcomfortable accommodationsperfect getawayhome madeon arrivalthought of everythingwonderful hostsquichebed and breakfastdaveorganic
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 39 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights- for our anniversary. It was low key and quiet and so restful!
The room was very attractive and everything we needed was right there! Home made baked goods were plentiful . This quiet place was a perfect getaway and yet we were close to many Marblehead sights as well as the Peabody Essex Museum. Jen and Dave are wonderful hosts! We look forward to more visits to Arbor House!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2014

e stayed at the Arbor house for a few days in August.
Dave and Jen made our stay really pleasant and were really helpful, from the beginning when we arrived with a broken shock and they recommended the best garage ever in Salem (the best mechanic-French movie buff in the world!) to the end when our car refused to start...guess it was trying to tell us that there was no better place on earth and didn't want to leave.

Far from the impersonal hotel rooms or the sometimes awkward b&b bedroom, the Arbor house is a cozy private den with a seriously comfy bed, a fantastic little beergarden and lots of xtras such as a really nice library that will give you a deeper dig of the local history, culture and geography, some kickass jazz CDs and cable TV if you're a lost case for the former.

What magically happens everyday inside the fridge is another story: it's a yummy story that can't be told as you’ll probably have something different of what we had. What happens in the Arbor house fridge does not stay in the fridge I tell ya! But it will quite likely fill you with fresh/organic/gluten-free joy. Anyway find out for yourselves, writing those few words made me hungry.

The location is great too, very quiet, pond and duckies just out of the door and a nice sea access.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bear_FR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Arbor House, after flying into Boston Logan from the UK. It is only a short drive to Marblehead from the airport, and we found Arbor House a perfect place to relax and recover. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and has all the little luxuries you need. Jen greeted us and showed us around when we arrived, but had to dash off to the opening night of a play, but had left the fridge filled with allsorts of treats for breakfast.
The area is residential and only short drive from the centre of Marblehead, with its restaurants and shops.
We both enjoyed our stay and this was a great start to our holiday

Room Tip: Only one room and you make your own breakfast, but everything including home made goodies is provided
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank anthornbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2014

A warm, cozy, quiet and very private respite from the busier Salem historic areas. The place is loaded with amenities such as home-made, gluten free treats made fresh daily and unobtrusively delivered to the room by the friendly and funny hostess, Jen, that can be enjoyed in the private, wooded, dedicated patio area that comes with the room There are gorgeous views along the short walk to the semi-private beach area. Both Dave and Jen are warm and pleasant hosts and are full of information about the area, in case you're a newbie. If that's not enough information, the room is filled with great books on local history, shipwrecks, culture, geography, maps, etc. If we weren't intending to return to soak in more of the fresh, salt air, I think we'd plan on a return visit just for the peaceful respite this place offers and to see Dave and Jen again.

Room Tip: Like Henry Ford said, "You can have any color, as long as it's black." Here, you can't go wrong, there's only one room.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Marblehead is a delight and Arbor House a great place to stay to explore the area. We stayed there in September following a wedding in Martha's Vineyard. We'd heard so many things about Martha's Vineyard and it by no means lived up to its reputation. Marblehead on the other hand was totally unknown to us and a wonderful surprise. It's a delight.

Originally, we'd been looking for accommodation in Salem, but decided that Arbor House looked a relaxing place to put our feet up. We were right. We had wonderful sleeps and couldn't fault the breakfasts our delightful hosts thoughtfully left for us. We'd highly recommend Arbor House for a couple looking for a place to just "chill out".

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mareek00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews