We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a lovely and enjoyable stay”
Review of Pheasant Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marblehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pheasant Hill Inn
Ranked #7 of 19 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 December 2014

I stayed there with three friends as we visited Salem for Halloween. I did not have a say in where we stayed, but I am so grateful my friend chose this establishment. Nancy and Bill were so welcoming and full of local knowledge and helpful advice for our exploration of both Salem and Marblehead. The rooms held everything you'd need and the breakfast we were offered was beyond what I expected. I hate waking up early, but I had no problem doing so for the spread Nancy put out for us. If you stay here, you will not regret it. Seriously, stay here. (Thanks again Nancy & Bill - The four witches from Wisconsin)

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajcovert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2014

We arrived at the Pheasant Hill Inn about 5 hours late due to airline delays. Nancy was waiting for us with a pleasant and welcoming smile. The Inn is in a beautiful white turn of the century house with nicely manicured gardens and lawn. We had booked the garden suite which was a very nice living room, spacious bedroom and attached bath. The room looked southeast toward the ocean. There was an outside sitting area, which if we had more time would have been a great place to relax with coffee or tea, or a glass of wine. I have said it before on TA that I am not usually a B&B type person, since I usually feel a little out of place around other guests. This certainly was not the case here and we chatted with other guests over nice breakfasts prepared by Nancy and her husband. Breakfast is srved at 8 AM, which wasn’t a problem since we had plans for each day. Our suite was very clean and relatively quiet, although we could hear other house activities early in the morning. Nancy is a wealth of information about the area. At least one other reviewer commented about the scant parking situation and I would have to agree. I am glad my rental car had a backup camera, especially at night. This B&B was a great start to our New England driving vacation. If we had the opportunity, we would stay here again and highly recommend it to other travelers.

Room Tip: Several very different room styles. Check out their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jim6918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2014

We arrived in Marblehead late on a windy evening with driving rain after fighting Boston traffic. The Pheasant Hill BnB welcomed us. The meticulous and gorgeous mansion offers suites-- 2 rooms with a private hallway and bathroom. Our suite had 2 sleeping rooms-- making this very affordable. Our gracious hostess set us on a very interesting historic tour of the city after a delicious breakfast. We wanted our mother to have the "New England Olde BnB Experience" and the Pheasant Hill came through with flying colors. It's the fantasy 100 year old mansion, with beautiful grounds, in perfect condition. I'll go back next year!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Priscilla161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Pheasant Hill Inn when I came to Marblehead for my 50th high school reunion. The hosts, Nancy and Bill, were so relaxed and friendly they made me feel right at home. (My old family home was right down the hill from them.) They were very knowledgeable about the town and surrounding area and were happy to provide helpful sightseeing and dining tips and directions to the other out-of-town guests. They will also do anything they can in the way of supplying anything you may have forgotten to pack in order to make your stay as perfect as possible. The Inn is high on a hill above Riverside Beach, the end of the harbor, and although there is no huge panorama of the ocean or harbor, it enjoys the ocean breezes, salt air and faint sound of waves breaking on the sand--a delightful sound to lull you to sleep if your windows are open. The street dead-ends at a point over a beach and overlooking the causeway to the Neck, so there is absolutely no traffic to disturb you. The beautifully kept gardens and lawn enhance its peaceful setting. My suite was very comfortable and had what I think is the most comfortable bed I've ever had away from my own home. All amenities are provided including Wi-Fi. Nancy and Bill provide an expanded, very satisfying, delicious continental breakfast full of good nutrition to start your day. If you know you want to stay in Marblehead, make your reservations early as they only have three suites available--and as the word spreads, everyone will be wanting to stay here!

Room Tip: Not so much for choosing a room, but to elaborate on airport access (above)...Marblehead is north of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Flew into Boston for a touring trip up the coast of Maine. Spent a couple of nights here at the beginning and end of our trip. About 40mins from Boston airport so very convenient. Very clean comfortable and peaceful. We slept well. Buffet breakfast of fruit/cereals, muffins breads etc. Help yourself tea/coffee etc whenever you want. Nan a very welcoming hostess and very knowledgeable about Marblehead and surrounding area. Interesting historic town to walk around and plenty of places to eat. Also visited Salem which was a bit of a disappointment but Nan did warn us…..

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 864christinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

As an extremely busy summer of business and vacation travel is coming to a close, I'm finally getting around to reviewing a great stay we had at the beginning of our summer. For the 4th time in a row, we've had a great experience at the Pheasant Hill Inn. We were there right after my son's graduation from prep school in New Hampshire, and needed a place to perch while visiting relatives on the North Shore. Nancy and Bill never fail to provide a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, starting the day with a great breakfast in the dining room overlooking the garden and ocean beyond. PH is convenient to attractions in Old Town Marblehead, and doubly convenient for us since it is near to my dad who lives nearby and my aunt who is also on the North Shore. This time, with my wife and four kids, we took both the lovely Garden Suite and the convenient Tree Tops, which together provided ample space. The Garden Suite's recently renovated bathroom with sliding door walk-in shower with rain forest showerhead is great, and the upstairs Tree Tops provides ample room for the teenage children and their own bathroom. If a good breakfast to start the day, clean and comfortable rooms to sleep, and gracious hospitality are what you're looking for, Pheasant Hill Inn is for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

You will not be disappointed if you stay here, We stayed 9 nights in the Garden Suite and it was wonderful. Bill and Nancy our hosts are unbelievable they are knowledgeable but most of all they went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed,

Room Tip: We like the Garden Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
0.7 km away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#3 of 19 in Marblehead
322 reviews
1.6 km away
Harbor Light Inn
Harbor Light Inn
#1 of 19 in Marblehead
461 reviews
1.8 km away
Harbor Gardens
Harbor Gardens
#10 of 19 in Marblehead
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
210 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Pheasant Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pheasant Hill Inn

Address: 71 Bubier Rd, Marblehead, MA 01945-3630
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range: $179 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just at the top of a hill in a secluded corner of Marblehead you will find Pheasant Hill Inn B. & B. Exactly what you expect in a New England country style setting. Three private suites with private ensuite baths. Amenities of a hotel including free parking, wifi, TV, A/C in season, and small refrigerators. Two suites on the second floor and one on the main level with fireplace and separate deck. Personalized attention to help plan your stay. Good for business and pleasure. Visa, MC and Amex. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing