We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Wayside Country Store - worth stopping by

Great place - reminds you how it was years ago. Very friendly, also. The choice of items brings... read more

Reviewed January 16, 2019
Boris S
Yes, a 5 star candy store! (with other stuff too)

I specifically stopped here to check out the candy. Lots of stuff I have not seen since I was a... read more

Reviewed October 10, 2018
lf479
,
Davidsonville, Maryland
Read all 53 reviews
  
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
30
18
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
18
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews penny candy lots of history old school great place to visit step back in time worth a stop walk around gifts childhood memories books items stuff goodies toys pond benches
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 53 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2018 via mobile

The Country Store and candy shop are delightfully quaint! An enjoyable experience for kids and adults alike.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank tlettmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2017 via mobile

It’s a great place to visit. As a child we visited often and now I find it brings back memories from that time. We used to always get penny candy there but with inflation the prices are a bit higher but still very acceptable. There is something for everyone here. A restaurant next store along with s pond the is the home to much wildlife. You have Hawks along with beautiful White Swans and Great Blue Herron and don’t forget the Ducks and Geese. A gazebo is there to rest as you have a lot to do in this area the little ones will wear you out. As I said I visited as a child I’m now in my 60’s and still find the little things you hope to find at a country store. I have no doubt you’ll enjoy it with your family, old and young and everyone in between. Plenty of hotels in the area if you choose to stay. Please enjoy

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank travelingfamily123ym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2017

We love stopping at this charming and historic country store. They have so many things to buy and look at all in this charming environment. They even have a wood stove in the store to warm by while your exploring. Lots of gifts and local trinkets as well as toys, and hand made things. There is also a candy store adjacent to it which is always fun to go through. There is a sale section upstairs and some historical things mixed among all the goodies. Worth a stop every time we are up this way!

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank BostonJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

We visited the store on a Saturday. The minute we walked in we loved the place. Lots of history all around and a candy store that has something for everybody! The store is well maintained and staff is friendly. If your looking for a country store to visit be sure to check out the Wayside

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank TangoMango12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2017

Tons of parking, good location, nice restaurant next door. Overlooks a pond. Very old-timey feeling. Great pre-post Wayside Inn visit.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank WorldTripper365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews