We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“We wanted to have a great diner, but.....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tastebuds

Tastebuds
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Mattapoisett
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We wanted to have a great diner, but.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

What started off as an evening of anticipation turned into an evening of waiting- with the slowest service we have ever experienced. Seated promptly at 6pm on a Friday. The dining room is small, well decorated with olive walls, open beams and comfortable chairs. The menu boasts a nice selection of seafood, poultry and beef with a good selection of wine, beer and a full bar. Dining can be had at the bar, but we sat at a window-side table for two. Appetizers were accompanied by two warm roles with honey butter. The caesar salad was large with a simple dressing. The chowder was a thin variety, but well seasoned with tender clams. The blackened chicken was very flavorful, perfectly cooked with a light cream sauce and toasted, shelled pumpkin seeds. Nice touch. The Greek seafood dish with feta and kalamata olives was well prepared, though perhaps light on the olives. Next would have come dessert, but we simply couldn't stand the waiting any longer- 20 minutes to get a dessert menu (looked promising), well over 30 minutes before our server checked back. Then another 20 minutes to return with a check. We watched as others experienced similar waits for placing food and drink orders. The food seemed to get out of the kitchen in a reasonable timeframe, but our server seemed to spend a significant amount of time on the phone and outside the dining room. Puzzling service, since there seemed to be adequate numbers of staff. This review is based on one server only, but next time we'll sit at the bar.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Swoosh1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    25
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mattapoisett
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Good Fresh Food, Cozy Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Small, bistro-type restaurant. Very limited seating but attractively decorated. Small bar accommodates 8 people. Everything fresh and cooked to order. Daily specials are creative. Service was excellent on our visit. The fish dishes we enjoyed were simple but very well done, and the fish was extremely fresh. Portions are moderate, might disappoint heavy eaters. Reservations for 3 or more only.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Semass777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Charming, excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

This is a welcome addition to the limited restaurant scene in the area. The interior is elegant and comfortable but small. Parking is limited as well. The lunch menu offers a variety of tempting, creative and healthy choices. Portions are large the food is excellent, yet reasonably priced. Looking forward to dining here again since there were several items on the menu we wanted to try, including the homemade desserts. Tastebuds has a full liquor license and is open for dinner as well.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food + Great Service = PHENOMIAL EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

As I was visiting the area, Tastebuds Bistro was recommended by a “friend of a friend” who lives in Mattapoisett. I was VERY impressed with the "SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY" I received while dining there for lunch. The staff (Carol, Joshua, Brittany, Crystal, and Ian) went above and beyond, making me feel like a welcomed guest in their own home. I was so impressed I had lunch yet again, the following day!

The atmosphere was very welcoming, with an inviting warm-cozy ambience. The food was absolutely PHENOMIAL! Remember this when you go, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND you save room for dessert – trust me, you cannot go wrong! Not only did I receive IMPECCABLE food and service, they are also VERY well priced!

Pay them a visit and indulge in Mattapoisett’s very own TASTEBUD’S BISTRO and treat your own taste buds to a delightful and tantalizing experience.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattapoisett, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cozy atmosphere, good food, great desserts!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

I've been to Tastebuds three times in the past month because it's new, and everyone I know wants to try it. I can honestly say I have enjoyed it each time. Food is tasty, and a bit different than other places in the area. For example, who else has Coquille St. Jacques in the vicinity?

Wine list is short, but adequate, and most people seem to be drinking cocktails, anyway.

Save room for dessert! Delicious tiramisu, crumbles, cheesecake, creme brulee; and even a dense, moist, fabulous birthday cake can be ordered ahead of time.

Perhaps the service can use a little polishing, but the place is new, and they are clearly trying hard. Maybe they can give people suggestion cards that can be complete before leaving.

Convenient parking and reasonable prices make it a nice night out in Mattapoisett.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CMWCNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tastebuds also viewed

 

Been to Tastebuds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing