We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Autumn in the Berkshires”
other travellers have booked this property
Back view showing 2nd story deck off the master bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Back view showing 2nd story deck off the master bedroom
View of the lake frontage with chairs, canoe (dock & raft at left behind trees Stone hearth & wood stove from the upstairs balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Back view showing 2nd story deck off the master bedroom
View of the lake frontage with chairs, canoe (dock & raft at left behind trees
Stone hearth & wood stove from the upstairs balcony
One corner of the living room, futon (becomes excellent double bed), double rocker
Part of kitchen, stone tile counters, picture window, modern appliances
Part of the cathedral ceiling living room, piano, open stairs, balcony...
Part of screened porch with double rocker
Part of dining area and kitchen
Swings in back yard (and forest behind house)
King size Tempurpedic bed in upstairs master bedroom
Front of house, screened porch, dormer, adjacent cathedral-like pine forest
Karl and Pete
One of many notes, this one left by a family staying over the Memorial Day Weekend
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Monterey, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
huevon201...
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Autumn in the Berkshires”
Reviewed November 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I took my wife and three young children up to this house for columbus day week. We had a blast. The house has a real cabin in the woods feel and is just a short walk to the lake......where Karl has a canoe for all the guests. The house was fully equipped with everything you need including toys and games for the kids. We had a great time and hope to be back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCallahan...
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unplug and breathe”
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

When looking for a house to rent in the Berkshires I began with spots in the towns. However we chose this place due to the reasonable price. As it turned out we liked the remote location with lake access and enjoyed the canoe. The towns were close enough to drive to. The upstairs suite is amazing with a king sized Tempurpedic bed, access to a second floor deck (perfect for watching the lunar eclipse that happened) and a bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub and shower jets. Even a hair dryer. Downstairs bathroom shower stall also has jets.

The kitchen was well stocked with lots of dishes, utensils, pots and baking pans. There is a bread maker, toaster, handmixer. No food processor or blender. Various baking supplies and spices are available. We ate most of our meals at the house. There is a dishwasher but it's quite small.

During our stay, the downstairs beds were quite inadequate, but the owner is planning to replace them before the next guest.

The owner told us we could do a 6 mile hike by walking down the road the house is on and making a loop. We enjoyed doing this especially the view from up higher. We also hiked up Monument Mountain. We visited an art gallery, enjoyed the corn maze, regular and mini golf all within a half an hour to an hour drive. We also enjoyed worshiping on Sunday down the hill at the Monterey church.

As stated elsewhere, you can't count on cell service and the Wi-Fi works but not really for streaming anything. If you need to stream something off the Internet, you will find yourself in the bedroom where the modem is. The upstairs bedroom has a huge TV wonderful for watching a DVD, but we couldn't get anything to stream well enough upstairs to use the TV to watch it.

Overall, a great place to unplug, enjoy nature, and rural life.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NJ
Reviewed November 1, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City
Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MA
Reviewed August 7, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MA
Reviewed July 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing