We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A rejuvenating experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Ashford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 New Ashford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A rejuvenating experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

The setting is peaceful and scenic, and the experience unique. I personally liked the wearing the Japanese yukata, cotton robes

Louise and Sadao are excellent hosts who take time to personalize your trip, we are vegetarian and Louise made sure we had enough of options for breakfast, including our preference for organic foods

There is an nice cozy room on the deck to have breakfast and the Gazebo overlooking the valley is simply beautiful. Definitely recommend it for a family getaway




especially the pathway to the Gazebo is private and scenic.

Most of all i liked

We were a party of 4 with a toddler and a infant. he suites are wonderful and perfect for four people. Louise and Sadao were excellent hosts. Breakfast was amazing, you can have anything you want, however you want. Louise also provided us so many treats throughout our stay there

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeepakTanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshires-Shirakaba, Owner at Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Sadao and I are always learning new recipes from our guest and elsewhere to offer a wide variety of dining options. We will cater to dietary requests!
And now we are making made to order ice cream flavors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
82
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We loved the Shirakaba guest house and will definetly go back. The suites are wonderful and perfect for four people. Louise and Sadao were excellent hosts. Breakfast was amazing, you can have anything you want, however you want. Louise also provided us so many treats throughout our stay there. The house, property and gazaboo offerred some of the best views of the autumn leaves. Many trails close by and cute towns within 10-15 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshires-Shirakaba, Owner at Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Thank you! it was great getting to know your family.
We are now changing the Take No Ma Suite to have two bedrooms with beds. The front bedroom will have a Kingsize bed and the back bedroom a queen size bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

While we expected a pleasurable visit at the Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House (how could one not enjoy a bed & breakfast in the beautiful Berkshires), we were overwhelmed by our short Shirakaba stay (just two nights and one full day).

The owners of the guest house were delightful, each in their own way. Sadao, a retired engineer from Japan, was gracious and lovely. On our second evening’s stay, he taught us the art of sushi-making. His culinary talent is immense – the best Miso soup we ever had and another soup – Chawanmushi – which we had never heard of but was amazingly delicious. We recommend his Japanese breakfast. He even takes trips to New York City to purchase fresh fish when the market opens at 4:30am! Louise, his Ohio born wife, is like the mother you wished you had – intelligent, nurturing, witty, full of life, willing to do anything to make you comfortable and happy. She wowed our fifteen-year-old son with her electronics expertise. She even gave up her personal ipad so he could watch a baseball game one evening. I am a lover of sake, and she made sure I had a full decanter at my bedside. But this is just the beginning of her hospitality. She provided us with amazing loofah towels from Japan and lovely homemade soaps. She had glow-sticks for the teenage boy. Her breakfast selections were immense and super yummy, including homemade sticky buns, fresh fruit, Japanese yogurt, waffles shaped like farm animals, pancakes, omelets, the list goes on. She even baked homemade brownies, asking us to select the type of chocolate and nuts we wanted, and she made sure to pack them up for us when we left. Aside from her electronics and cooking expertise, she is a fan of gizmos, showing us her very cool Ionator for cleaning and a handy Japanese non-slip tray. I have purchased both since our return home. Really such a sweet and interesting woman. At 11:11pm on our first evening’s stay, she asked me as a fellow Ohioan if saying “I Love You” at this exact time each night was a Midwest tradition or something peculiar to her own family. I get the sense she is full of stories and folktales.

Like the hosts, the guest house itself was lovely and fun. The bed and pillows were supremely comfortable, with glorious silk sheets. The shower was spacious with two heads and lots of different settings (a nod to Louise’s love of gizmos), and there also was a Japanese state-of-the-art toilet. We didn’t have the opportunity to swim in the indoor pool, but on our first night, we sat in the hot-tub, overlooking the mountains, with the moon and stars overhead. The beauty and tranquility were almost overwhelming. The mountain-side gazebo was also amazing. I hope someday to be able to visit again. And for the next visit, we would love to spend several more days, and bring friends with us. Highly highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshires-Shirakaba, Owner at Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
It is always fun to meet a fellow Buckeye from Ohio.
We love meeting new people and figuring out new ways to make our guests happy.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

I stayed at Berkshires Shirakaba for a night with a group of friends and we had a great time! Hosts Louise and Sadao were warm and very accommodating. The food was excellent (you'll die for their miso soup) and the grounds were beautiful...with a great view from their gazebo. Throw in a little late night pool and jacuzzi fun with tempurpedic sleeping, I woke feeling fulfilled and refreshed, and that was before their selective and deeeeeeeelish breakfast. (Japanese and American options) I would definitely recommend Berkshires Shirakaba to couples, family or friends, especially if you're interested in an authentic Japanese dining and sleeping experience.

Room Tip: They have two sweets, check out their website, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshires-Shirakaba, Owner at Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Thank you!
It was a pleasure hosting you and your friends. We can accommodate 2 couples per suite ( if one sleeps Japanese style on futons on tatami mats in the Matsu No Ma suite.
We love to help you celebrate special events or just a gathering of friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

a quiet private place to stay. It is a japanese b&b with private indoor pool, tatami tea room etc. A little piece of Japan in the middle of the Berkshires.

We had 3 days of relaxation with japanese breakfasts, cooking classes, massages, fun in the pool, stargazing etc.

They have a suite with a normal bedroom with king size bed, a hallway, a tatami tea room where the kids can sleep, own bathroom with shower and direct access to indoor heated pool and the deck with a hot tub. Just a few minutes from Jiminey Peak and 15 minutes from the Shaker Village.

It was really nice and relaxed. It is a japanaese B&B and they totally spoil you with any wish you have. They stock up your fridge daily with softdrinks, teas and snacks and you just have to mention you like something and it is there. It is all included.

The innkeepers go out and beyond for you to feel at home. I don't think any innkeepers before have done so much as these do two did for us. They really made that weekend unforgettable.

We were there for Mothers Day and we did opt to get a lot of extras such as cooking class, Sukiyaki dinner etc. All the food was really authentic and it was thus not a surprise when we learned that Sedao previously had owned a boarding house in Japan.

The other innkeeper Louise has a heart as big as this planet. She is so loving and although I am not a fan of hugs and stuff then she immediately embraces and hugs you when you arrive. She does it in such a nice manner that I didn't feel completely overwhelmed. The entire time we were there she was asking to read books to our children, taking us for walks etc etc.

When we left we left loaded with little gifts, soaps, washcloths, bags, caps etc. All made from with their logo and very japanese to give all these gifts.

I was so happy because with Earthquakes etc we can't go to Japan but this way our children got to get a taste of Japan, without flying for 14+ hours.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dkrejser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshires-Shirakaba, Owner at Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Thank you!
It was such a joy to meet your family. Not being blessed as yet with grandchildren, I love to read to any guests who are interested. Gift giving is always important in Japan. we are glad you enjoyed them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

I really enjoyed my hosts because they both made me feel at home and extremely comfortable. The suite we had was very comfortable, airy, and tastefully furnished including a large screen tv in each room. The Japanese snacks are delicious! The fridge is well stocked with juices, sodas or water, depending on your own preference. There is also an electic water heater to make your own tea or hot chocolate.

We were located within 15 miles of both Vermont and New York, several large cities and shopping malls, museums, historical sites, and just plain beautiful mountains.

We really enjoyed the heated indoor lap pool and the beautiful white gazebo located down a well lit, tree shaded path, about a 2-3 minute leisurely walk from the guest house. The Gazebo is located on a cliff with unobstructed views of the mountains. The grounds of the guest house provide a serene setting including a waterfall flowing into the gold fish pond.

Room Tip: both suites are excellent, a couple might like the 2 person shower better, any noise is made by your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palavoie02724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshires-Shirakaba, Owner at Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Thank you! It was lovely to meet you and share in your discoveries around us, especially the blue eggs! It was great that you were able to extend your stay with us! We now have a policy to rent both suites if groups are traveling with children under 12
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

This was a fantastic stay. Nothing was too much trouble for Louise and they made us and our two girls (3 and 9) feel like we were staying with kindly relatives rather than in a B&B. Very relaxing. The Berkshires is a beautiful area too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonturton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshires-Shirakaba, Owner at Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Thank you. It is always fun meeting families from other countries.
Your daughters are delightful. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your US visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ashford
5.0 km away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
16.0 km away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 11 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
16.0 km away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 km away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
27.0 km away
Hampton Terrace Inn
Hampton Terrace Inn
#1 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
26.3 km away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#1 of 22 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House

Property: Berkshires Shirakaba Guest House
Address: 20 Mallery Rd, New Ashford, MA 01237-9623
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > New Ashford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21+ acres, private, two suite, resort style, Berkshires bed and breakfast, Williamstown MA area, free wi-fi, 9' x 39' indoor pool, 6 person hot tub, 3 person Saunatec Far Infared Sauna.. Matsu No Ma Suite, 418 sq.ft., king size Tempur Pedic bed, Japanese Tatami mat room use as sitting room for Romantic getaway, sleeps second couple Japanese style, or up to 3 children, full bath, shower for two, Take No Ma Suite, 415 sq.ft., has Queen size bed, private bath w/shower/tub, second private bedroom/sitting room with full size sofa bed. Suites have: Mini fridge, microwave, HDTV w/cable/Bluray player ( Take No Ma Suite has them in both bedrooms), Japanese hot water pot. Complimentary snacks and beverages. Free Japanese or made to order Western breakfast, optional 6 course Japanese dinners. BYOB no credit cards accepted ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing