We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Berkshires

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

In good shape with clean room at a decent price. Only issue was front desk staff were absent a couple of times chatting about personal stuff in the back. I had to call to Eric to let him know I was there.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimmJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lsearcy, General Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Berkshires while you were in the area. We have been recently renovated (11/2011). All of the rooms and public areas have been remodeled. Our housekeeping department will be thrilled to hear your comments on cleanliness as they take great pride in their work. We look forward to seeing you soon since your daughter will be attending MCLA.

Linette Searcy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    109
    29
    3
    3
See reviews for
64
71
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

the hotel staff was very helpful, room very clean and roomy,walking distance to MASS MOCA,business center very useful,plenty of free parking.

Room Tip: all room are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rick y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lsearcy, General Manager at Holiday Inn Berkshires, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn-Berkshires. We appreciate you taking time to write a review regarding your stay. We post the reviews for all employees to read so that they know what they do here, does matter. We do care what our customers think and feel and take pride in making their stay enjoyable. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The whole hotel has been transformed since it's renovation. Best part of this hotel is the SERVICE!!! Every employee was friendly, helpful, responsive, and accommodating….Raves for staff and attentive service.
Room was immaculate: large, comfortable. lovely. Beautiful view of town,mountains, Mass Moca! Very nice to have small frig, microwave in room. Great range of free cable television channels including one premium channel (HBO). Location excellent: right near museum. Large, free parking lot (well lit).
Room service for dinner, breakfast (Sunday?), beverage machines in hotel, daily newspaper. Business center. 24 hour technical support for wireless service was very competent.
Cute little bar area, and simple, convenient restaurant with American food. Food is standard fare with daily specials. Preferred the bar menu: hamburger, grilled turkey sandwich. The potatoes were very good; the french fries were great.
Overall impression: this hotel was not only remodeled, but it has been upgraded to a surprisingly full service hotel. This is one of the best managed Holiday Inn's I have ever stayed at, and service was often better (and less pretentious) than many urban luxury hotels. A wonderful surprise in a tiny scenic town in the Berkshires.

Room Tip: Room on top floor (702) was lovely, with a gorgeous view. It apparently can be hard to get a strong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelinglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I have stayed here through many renovations over the 40 years this has been opened, and this one is the best. The area is filled with 1950's style motels, and a few pricey inns and the HOLIDAY Inn is a decent middle gound. Located in an old factory city that has made many attempts at redevelopment and surrounded by the Berkshire hills, the city still has plenty of eyesores and poverty. One of the eyesores was made into MASS MOCA, a hip contemporary art museum. The upscale college town of Williamstown is 4 miles to the East, with one of the best Art Museums in the Northeast, THE CLARK. The Holiday Inn is a seven story modernist building easily spotted in North Adam's downtown. The entrance and lobby, though renovated, is still modest but in daylight quite pleasant. There is free parking adjacent. Two renovated elevators whisk you to the oversized rooms. A beige and brown carpet lines the hallway floors and has a nice contemporary pattern. One of things I have never liked about the rooms is that they have stucco walls and ceilings..\ The newest decorator found a solution. They have painted one wall a deep brown, accented it with a deep brown foot throw over the white comforted bed, and added a dark cherry bed rest and accent furnitue around the room. A few rooms are oddly shape but still huge and have a curved doorway to the rear alcove and bathroom. Most rooms have a front alcove and bathroom. Though the bathrooms have nice wallpaper and a marble topped vanity, the shower enclosure is still plastic and in one of our rooms, cracked. Toiletries were good, and calls for more towels and soap were reacted to quickly and graciously. The bed was good, not great.
There is a heated indoor pool. Breakfast, not included in the standard room rate, can be had at a restaurant adjacent to the lobby with the Holida Inn Value breakfast on the menu($5). Front desk was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goaroving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
274 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We just got back from a great 2 night stay at this property. Close to many attractions and restaurants, it was perfect for our needs.

The pro's: Free plentiful parking. Close to lots of things in town. Close to a lot of things in the region. Nice staff. Amazing bed. Appears renovated

Con's. Older property-air condition unit/heating units are loud and old and are far from great. Duct work in bathroom looks like it needs some serious cleaning. IMO, Tv's could be bigger for the size of the room.

Overall I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. We recommend following local restaurants: Public eat+ Drink, Hub, Big Shirl's (for breakfast). In Lanesborough: Old Forge.

Recommend Clark Museum in Williamstown over Mass MOCA because I appreciate the classics more than modern art, but that's a personal preference.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms will have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank troy mcclure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

The hotel had recet renovations and improved greatly from the last time we stayed there. The rooms and lobby were very clean and fresh. I wouldn't recomend the restaurant over other area places. There aren't many choices in North Adams to stay and this is one of the better ones.

Room Tip: The northern east room face a historic downtown but also look over an ugly plaza. The west side boar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn at Berkshires as we decided to go to Ski at Jiminy Peak in Berkshires and Mount Snow in Vermont on a short notice (we prefer condominiums with the family but none available in the area). We went with my family and our friend’s family. Both of us have 2 small kids each. The hotel is conveniently located in center of the Town, had ample parking. Rooms were comfortable and the staff was nice enough to give us rooms side by side. We took the breakfast option which appeared attractive on price, plus kids eat free.

The staff was friendly, we found few glitches though, 1st morning of our stay, we had to wait for nearly an hour from the time we placed our order to getting the food served though 2nd morning was a breeze, we believe it could have been one of those days when they were understaffed yet still we expected a higher standard from the Holiday Inn brand. One more thing which was surprising, we were there for 2 nights but when we came back to the hotel after our 1st day of skiing, the keys had expired; we had to go to the front desk to get them renewed.

Overall the experience was good, kids enjoyed the pool, breakfast though delayed was good in taste and the staff was courteous. Recommend the place if you are looking for a hotel accommodation to Ski in Berkshires and Vermont.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhay0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Adams
0.5 km away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
8.1 km away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
6.4 km away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 km away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
35.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
33.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Berkshires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Berkshires

Property: Holiday Inn Berkshires
Address: 40 Main St, North Adams, MA 01247-3460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > North Adams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Adams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Berkshires 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn-Berkshires is located in the foothills of the Berkshire Mountains. The entire hotel was remodeled in Nov 2011 and is the ideal choice to explore all the Berkshire museums, theatres, historic sites and outdoor activities. The hotel features an indoor pool, hot tub, two saunas, a cardio room and a game room. Our restaurant serves breakfast and dinner daily and features a covered patio for outdoor dining during the summer months. We also have free Wi-fi throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Holiday Inn Berkshires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn North Adams
North Adams Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Berkshires North Adams, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing