We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
Huntington, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This is a sub-par Holiday Inn. The location was good for us but that was about all. We had requested a king bed but they only had double beds unless we wanted to wait (it was after check in time). The room smelled like cigarette smoke and we tried to open the windows to air it out but of course the windows don't open. The room was just okay but my husband found a hair (not his) in the bed...ugh. The worst part: I was flabbergasted to find they charged me a $200 fine for smoking!!! It was a no smoking hotel where our room stunk of cigarettes and then they try to charge me for smoking? I don't smoke, my husband doesn't smoke. After 7 (seven!!) calls trying to get a manager that could help me, he said they would show me proof of smoking. Of course they couldn't show proof because we DIDN'T SMOKE! He then said they would take the charge off (they better) but I didn't get an apology. Beware!

Room Tip: Ask them if you can smell it first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos A, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you for posting your review. I am disappointed to hear that your stay was less than what you expected. We at the hotel take our non-smoking policy serious, this is to serve our non smoking guests such as yourself better. I can see that there was miscommunication on our part and therefore the charges were posted to your room. We have taken these charges off. We apologize for any incovenience this may have caused you during your trip. I hope that you would give us another chance to prove to you that we can live up to your expectations. Should you decide to stay with us again, please contact me personally to assure that your stay is a great one.

Carlos A Almendarez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    104
    110
    52
    42
See reviews for
136
91
16
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent uk
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

we did stay there for 9 nights, we had 2 double beds. CLlean. We loved the location which was important to us- easy enough access to get where we wanted to get. The stff at reception was helpful.( hi Leonard)
next door is Italian restaurant which we visited on our first night- the staff at reception recommended it.
kids enjoyed pool, at some point it was very busy and seems that water was a it chilly?

Room Tip: Be nice to staff and they will be nice to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpmhtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We booked at Last Minute Travel for a 3 star, and got this Holiday Inn. Check in was smooth, but we were given a room with 2 beds when we asked for a king. Clerk quickly changed us, giving us a lovely king suite. Very comfortable. Bathrooms upgraded with marble counters. The bad news -- our reservation was for 2 nights, but hotel had only been informed of 1 night. So when we returned to the hotel for our second nights, they had locked us out of our room. After I proved (by showing a copy of my reservation confirmation from LMT) that we HAD booked and prepaid for 2 nights, the hotel corrected their records and all was well.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oakleafgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssam11, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. It only through such feedback we can improve our services. While I was pleased to read that our staff accommodated your request, I was also concerned that we have failed to verify your length of stay at check-in which could have saved you the inconvenience later on. And when something is less than perfect, we will do everything in our power to rectify the matter immediately and take steps to prevent a similar problem for other guests in the future. Rest assured that I have shared your comments with our team and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards
Sam Sidhom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed here while visiting Salem during the busy October month. The access to the hotel is a little confusing but only a short drive from Salem. Hotel is clean, excellent breakfast buffett was included in our rate, kids were free. The service in the restaurant was slow but the value and the selection made up for it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piper8675309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssam11, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The Holiday Inn Peabody

I love to read reviews like yours where you enjoyed your stay. We do try to use every tool available (TripAdvisor included) to obtain an accurate and honest accounting of our guests’ perspectives; and when something is less than perfect, I do everything in my power to rectify the matter immediately in the present and take steps to prevent a similar problem for other guests in the future.

again thank you for your review and we hope that you will visit us again with your family in the near future

Regards
Sam Sidhom
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Day staff arranged for their shuttle to take me to North Shore Mall. When I called to be picked up later in the day they told me there was no shuttle driver and that I would have to take a cab. When I got to the front desk I presented my receipt to be reimbursed and then was quoted policies about their shuttle and put through the ringer before they finally gave me the $8.75. Other than that hotel was completely average. All staff (except Rosa and Mauricio) should be sent to smiling school.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCsalesguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Got an upgrade to a king suite for our additional night stay in Peabody and it was great. Very large living room with kitchen and dining table (seats 4) couch, chair and nice flat screen TV. Spacious king bedroom with another flat screen. Good size bathroom also
Had a relaxing evening with some drinks and a movie. Could have stayed longer but much to my dismay life is not one long vacation. Noted a few housekeeping issues ie ironing board left out, trash not emptied in bathroom the used containers of bath products left in the bathroom. All in all a very nice stay. We did not have breakfast but they have breakfast available in the restaurant or as room service. The hotel is also attached to a Carabbas restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snicks77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Room are OK, but the for the price ARE YOU KIDDING ME? They charge us an extra 124$ and i dont know why! The breakfast buffet was disgusting, i wouldnt give that to my dog honestly. Save your money and dont go there. AC make for noise than a tractor.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Peabody hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peabody
0.7 km away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
3.3 km away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,975 reviews
8.8 km away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.7 km away
Extended Stay America - Boston - Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Address: 1 Newbury St, US 1 N & US 128 N, Peabody, MA 01960-3846
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Peabody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Boston - Peabody is conveniently located between Downtown Boston and Logan International Airport and the historical coastal towns North of Boston. Whether you are enticed by the quaint seaport villages of nearby Salem, Gloucester, and Marblehead or the excitement of Boston's Faneuil Hall Marketplace, Freedom Trail, and Fenway Park, the Holiday Inn Peabody is the ideal location to experience all that New England has to offer. Our hotel is now completely smoke-free and renovations are scheduled for completion later this spring. This Boston North Shore hotel will feature 183 newly refurbished guestrooms, including 20 two-room suites. All rooms and suites are equipped with 27' televisions and high speed Internet access. Suites include kitchenettes with mini-refrigerator and microwave and living area with sleep sofa. Unwind in our indoor pool, outdoor courtyard or work out in our fully-equipped fitness center. When hunger strikes, Carrabba's Italian Grill where you can enjoy a casual dinner in a warm, festive environment, the menu offers a variety of freshly made dishes cooked to order in a lively exhibition kitchen. For meetings and social events, our flexible meeting space can accommodate groups from 5-450 people. Ample free parking is available for cars as well as buses. Enjoy ease of access from I-93, I-95, Logan airport (BOS), and Boston's many area colleges for graduation weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Boston-Peabody
Holiday Inn Peabody
Peabody Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing