We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stop”

Hungry Bear Restaurant French River Trading Post
Ranked #2 of 2 Quick Bites in Alban
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 30, 2015

With reference to the 'Trading Post', it is a place that offers a vast array of clothing, northern collections, fudge, souvenirs, miscellaneous items, etc. With the exception of various snacks, we did not sit down for a proper meal this time. The restaurant appeared clean & prices were reasonable...but we were sold on the fudge & ice crème. This is always a favorite stop of ours anytime we head north along Hwy #69. There is ample room for parking and picnic areas outside as well. A must stop!

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank happycdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 81 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2015

Every year when I am out this way we stop at the trading post. the location is clean and well maintained, they do a great breakfast with good coffee and the service is very good. They have the Hungry Bear and Dog walking around and the kids get a kick out of it (not to mention some big time bearded bikers).

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelNutWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 3, 2015

This used to be a great spot to eat - the salad bar was great with loads of options. Now the salad bar is lame with few options. Other items are ok, but this restaurant is slipping into fast food territory.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 158stephenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 26, 2015

This is a very good restaurant with reasonable prices and good service. Restaurant look is good and is kept quite nice.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 18, 2015

Typical roadside food in a pleasant setting. Fast service and consistent quality. Salad bar is ok if not overly imaginative. Motel is not open in 2015.

Date of visit: May 2015
Thank 634bryanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Hungry Bear Restaurant French River Trading Post also viewed

Alban, French River

Been to Hungry Bear Restaurant French River Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.