We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My traditional stopover since 1995!”

Hungry Bear Restaurant French River Trading Post
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Alban
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 4, 2018

We went for breakfast on Sunday—just the previous day the place was encompassed by smoke coming from the Key River fire (officially called “Parry Sound 33”)—but fortunately, the wind had changed its direction overnight and the sky was perfectly blue.

We had an omelet and a 3-egg breakfast with coffee (free refills), it was very tasty and exactly what we needed after one week of canoeing & camping on the French River. On my way to the adjacent Trading Post I met Hungry Bear & Blueberry Hound who just emerged from their den and were very happy to shake hands and pose for photos!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Canadian_Guy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 76 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2018

It is a very busy and friendly place. The atmosphere and service were good and the food very tasty, although a little overpriced.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Pike53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

Stopped for lunch yesterday...food was over cooked, dry, and tasted reheated. We had fish and chips...fish was like cardboard, chicken burger was dry and flavourless and for the first time ever my husband did not finish his burger. We

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank BethZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2018

Located next to the French River Trading Post this is a sort of diner style restaurant. Pretty clean with friendly service. The food is alright, nothing spectacular. The prices are reasonable and admittedly there aren't a lot of other nearby options.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SailorAirman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2017

Stopped in on Friday August 4th while travelling. Had the Fish Sandwich Special. Fish was overcooked, Bun was toasted dark brown with nothing on it. Had to asked for my Fries that came with it. Was not a good sandwich. Next time I will stop in Britt or Point Au Baril for supper.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank wmunroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hungry Bear Restaurant French River Trading Post also viewed

Alban, French River

Been to Hungry Bear Restaurant French River Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.