We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa(Hinton Charterhouse)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$240
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swan Hotel(Bradford-on-Avon)
US$144
US$113
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$182
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$112
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Widbrook Grange(Bradford-on-Avon)
US$137
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moonraker(Trowbridge)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Bath Waterside(Bath)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$70
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$323
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$163
US$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
57
13
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
13
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesgames roomcream teaswimming poollaundry roomsheep herdinglambing seasonlocal pubequipped cottageshort walkliving areaboth adults and childrennight breaklong weekendwe loved our staylovely cottageperfect weekend
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 75 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay, great walks nearby & the canal is especially useful for dog walkers. Staff are friendly & helpful. Lots of thoughtfulness & genuine care is visible throughout! New winter holiday destination!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish B, Owner at Church Farm Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2017

Many thanks for your positive feedback. The Kennet and Avon canal is only 3/4 mile so guests with or without dogs can enjoy the great walks it offers together with the magnificent scenery along the Limpley Stoke valley into Bath or Bradford on Avon. There are plenty of dog friendly pubs and cafes along the way (always a bonus!).
Winter breaks for a weekend, midweek or weekly stay are bookable online, subject to availability.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

FANTASTIC...
great mid week break we took our dog didn't know what to expect due to not been away with our dog before.
the cottage was great very clean very welcoming we used the heated pool every morning and night .
got to sat the Walks around winsley are fantastic .. also very close to Bradford upon avon. .. the town of lacock is a must visit only 25 Mins drive away .
lovely local pub seven stars 5 Mins walk.
...thanks again to Steve and the team

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish B, Owner at Church Farm Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2017

Thanks for your great feedback about your midweek stay here in one of our cottages. Our village, Winsley, is well placed for good local walks and is only 2 miles from Bradford on Avon and 5 miles from Bath. The National Trust village of Lacock is very popular with our guests. We are pleased you make good use of the pool every morning and evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2016

My husband and I spent 5 weeks staying first in Hayleaze and then in Stone Vellum cottages.Both cottages were clean,comfortable,well equiped and so peaceful.The welcoming scones with jam and clotted cream was a lovely touch and much appreciated.A big bonus was the swimming pool.Hartley's Farm Cafe and the local Country Pub were just a short walk away.We loved our stay and will certainly stay here again on our next visit to England.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish B, Owner at Church Farm Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Many thanks for your favourable review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and we are glad you will return to us again on your next trip to England.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2016

My husband , son and I stayed in Vellum Stone Cottage, while my parents and brother and sister in law stayed in another 2 cottages as we had come as a group to celebrate my fathers 80th Birthday. The cottage was welcoming and clean and well thought out, fresh linen, plenty of towels and lovely cream tea on arrival. The parking is just across from the cottages, so perfect for unloading cases. We were met and showed to our cottage and given a little information pack along with our key, then left to settle in, but if we had any questions the farm office was just next to the cottages. The cottages are eco friendly, well insulated and warm on cool evenings...

The farm is a perfect base for exploring the area...with Bath, Longleat, Cheddar Gorge, Wookey Hole, Stonehenge etc.. only a short drive away... Nearer is Bradford on Avon..with it's beautiful canal and little shops, cafes and restaurants. Winsley itself is a lovely picturesque village with a lovely pub and only about a 10 minute stroll from the farm.

The farm is in a rural area, but located near a road, but not as noisy as I thought it would be and we come from a very quiet rural area. The farm shop is a must and the pool and the games room is perfect for entertaining the kids and having a swim , the pool itself is like stepping into a warm bath, I think my son and I used it everyday.. So the area boasts great site seeing and these cottages to relax in after a hard day exploring.

One point to note that in school term times the pool has restricted times for guests as the farm lets the local schools and baby swim classes use the pool during the day. Unfortunately this is only highlighted if you look in the "Facilities" part on the website, so if you are thinking of bringing young ones with you out of school holidays just double check pool opening times. This was not a problem for us as we had planned to be out most days.. but could see it being a potential disappointment if not aware of the situation and booked without checking the "Facilities", and faced with a rainy day or booked with the idea of a couple of swim days with the kids. Also the games room is also closed as the room is used as a changing area at the same time. So if you are staying with kids in school term time arrange some kid friendly days out...which there are loads and then use the pool for a late afternoon swim before dinner or evening swim before bed.

Overall I would not hesitate to recommend these well equipped and comfortable cottages with fantastic location & accommodating staff and owners.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank paulaI9071NT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish B, Owner at Church Farm Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review - we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Lots of guests say that the pool temperature is like a warm bath and is enjoyed by a large age range of swimmers. It is a great indoor facility whatever the weather is doing outside!
Thank you also for your feedback about the pool opening times. As you mentioned, we are always able to offer exclusive use to our guests at weekends and during the school holidays, but there are some times during term time where the pool is shared/used by a mother and baby group - we make sure the pool is open early in the morning and stays open later in the evening to accommodate this, but will endeavour to make the hours of term time access (usually 10 - 14 hours a day) more prominent on our website and in our welcome pack so that our guests can plan their mornings accordingly.
Many thanks again for your lovely comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2016

Stayed in four of the cottages with a group of friends. Had everything we needed for our weekend break, including scones on arrival! Cottages were spotless and the pool was a welcome addition. Would absolutely recommend and return again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish B, Owner at Church Farm Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Many thanks for your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your weekend break with the welcome cream tea on arrival. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews