We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winsley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Church Farm Country Cottages
Reviewed 23 December 2016

This Farm Cottage came with all the needs for young families a great games room with table tennis, Pool Table and Bar Football for the Kids the Swimming Pool very warm at 32 degrees lovely area and PLEASE do not forget the Seven Star Pub/Restaurant 5 minutes walk, and allows dogs in the bar. Food is out of the world need to Book during busy times. We're making a point of coming back !

Room Tip: Ask them for the best room to suite your needs, I did and very helpful
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank controlleralan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish B, Owner at Church Farm Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased the family enjoyed our warm pool and the games room. We are lucky to have our very popular village pub, The Seven Stars, within walking distance. It's definitely a good idea to book a table in advance.
We look forward to seeing you at Church Farm again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Church Farm Country Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay, great walks nearby & the canal is especially useful for dog walkers. Staff are friendly & helpful. Lots of thoughtfulness & genuine care is visible throughout! New winter holiday destination!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish B, Owner at Church Farm Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Many thanks for your positive feedback. The Kennet and Avon canal is only 3/4 mile so guests with or without dogs can enjoy the great walks it offers together with the magnificent scenery along the Limpley Stoke valley into Bath or Bradford on Avon. There are plenty of dog friendly pubs and cafes along the way (always a bonus!).
Winter breaks for a weekend, midweek or weekly stay are bookable online, subject to availability.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

FANTASTIC...
great mid week break we took our dog didn't know what to expect due to not been away with our dog before.
the cottage was great very clean very welcoming we used the heated pool every morning and night .
got to sat the Walks around winsley are fantastic .. also very close to Bradford upon avon. .. the town of lacock is a must visit only 25 Mins drive away .
lovely local pub seven stars 5 Mins walk.
...thanks again to Steve and the team

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish B, Owner at Church Farm Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Thanks for your great feedback about your midweek stay here in one of our cottages. Our village, Winsley, is well placed for good local walks and is only 2 miles from Bradford on Avon and 5 miles from Bath. The National Trust village of Lacock is very popular with our guests. We are pleased you make good use of the pool every morning and evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

My husband and I spent 5 weeks staying first in Hayleaze and then in Stone Vellum cottages.Both cottages were clean,comfortable,well equiped and so peaceful.The welcoming scones with jam and clotted cream was a lovely touch and much appreciated.A big bonus was the swimming pool.Hartley's Farm Cafe and the local Country Pub were just a short walk away.We loved our stay and will certainly stay here again on our next visit to England.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish B, Owner at Church Farm Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Many thanks for your favourable review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and we are glad you will return to us again on your next trip to England.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

My husband , son and I stayed in Vellum Stone Cottage, while my parents and brother and sister in law stayed in another 2 cottages as we had come as a group to celebrate my fathers 80th Birthday. The cottage was welcoming and clean and well thought out, fresh linen, plenty of towels and lovely cream tea on arrival. The parking is just across from the cottages, so perfect for unloading cases. We were met and showed to our cottage and given a little information pack along with our key, then left to settle in, but if we had any questions the farm office was just next to the cottages. The cottages are eco friendly, well insulated and warm on cool evenings...

The farm is a perfect base for exploring the area...with Bath, Longleat, Cheddar Gorge, Wookey Hole, Stonehenge etc.. only a short drive away... Nearer is Bradford on Avon..with it's beautiful canal and little shops, cafes and restaurants. Winsley itself is a lovely picturesque village with a lovely pub and only about a 10 minute stroll from the farm.

The farm is in a rural area, but located near a road, but not as noisy as I thought it would be and we come from a very quiet rural area. The farm shop is a must and the pool and the games room is perfect for entertaining the kids and having a swim , the pool itself is like stepping into a warm bath, I think my son and I used it everyday.. So the area boasts great site seeing and these cottages to relax in after a hard day exploring.

One point to note that in school term times the pool has restricted times for guests as the farm lets the local schools and baby swim classes use the pool during the day. Unfortunately this is only highlighted if you look in the "Facilities" part on the website, so if you are thinking of bringing young ones with you out of school holidays just double check pool opening times. This was not a problem for us as we had planned to be out most days.. but could see it being a potential disappointment if not aware of the situation and booked without checking the "Facilities", and faced with a rainy day or booked with the idea of a couple of swim days with the kids. Also the games room is also closed as the room is used as a changing area at the same time. So if you are staying with kids in school term time arrange some kid friendly days out...which there are loads and then use the pool for a late afternoon swim before dinner or evening swim before bed.

Overall I would not hesitate to recommend these well equipped and comfortable cottages with fantastic location & accommodating staff and owners.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank paulaI9071NT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish B, Owner at Church Farm Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review - we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Lots of guests say that the pool temperature is like a warm bath and is enjoyed by a large age range of swimmers. It is a great indoor facility whatever the weather is doing outside!
Thank you also for your feedback about the pool opening times. As you mentioned, we are always able to offer exclusive use to our guests at weekends and during the school holidays, but there are some times during term time where the pool is shared/used by a mother and baby group - we make sure the pool is open early in the morning and stays open later in the evening to accommodate this, but will endeavour to make the hours of term time access (usually 10 - 14 hours a day) more prominent on our website and in our welcome pack so that our guests can plan their mornings accordingly.
Many thanks again for your lovely comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Stayed in four of the cottages with a group of friends. Had everything we needed for our weekend break, including scones on arrival! Cottages were spotless and the pool was a welcome addition. Would absolutely recommend and return again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish B, Owner at Church Farm Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Many thanks for your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your weekend break with the welcome cream tea on arrival. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016

We visited from Ireland for the week of May 23-27 inclusive.

Overall very pleased indeed with Church Farm Cottages.

We had our two daughters (3yrs and 6mths) and the cottage was ideal.

Very private and peaceful. Lovely farm walk around to the neighbouring Hartleys Farm Shop and Café.

We highly recommend Church Farm Cottages.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JOHN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish B, Owner at Church Farm Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you and your young family enjoyed your stay with us and will recommend us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winsley
1.6 km away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
2.9 km away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#22 of 32 in Bath
186 reviews
6.8 km away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
530 reviews
2.3 km away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
735 reviews
3.9 km away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Farm Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Farm Country Cottages

Address: Winsley | Bradford on Avon, Winsley BA15 2JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Winsley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Winsley
Price Range: $200 - $693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Church Farm Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run single storey farm cottages tastefully converted from old cow byres with beams and vaulted ceilings. Working sheep farm in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Superb indoor heated swimming pool and games room. Three 2-person cottages and four 4-person cottages. Also 12-person four star gold award barn, The Old Granary (5 bedrooms/3 bathrooms) 3/4 mile. Ample free parking. Free Wifi. Individual patios with own garden furniture and shared garden. 24hour Laundry room. Village pub, The Seven Stars, serving good food and local ales 500 metres. Hartley Farm Shop and kitchen on neighbouring farm. Regular buses and train stations at Bradford on Avon (2 miles) and Bath (5 miles). Weekend, Midweek and weekly stays. Minimum two night stay at weekend. Welcome cream tea on arrival. Families, Pets, Cyclists and Walkers welcome. Gold Green Tourism award. Book online. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Church Farm Country Cottages Hotel Bradford-On-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing