We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Comfort, and Beauty”
Review of Secret Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Secret Garden Inn
Ranked #11 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Lately I have travelled alone, and it is a real comfort to stay in a place where you know your host will take good care of you.

Thanks so much, guys, for opening your home, offering a bike to ride- essential for this area, being so thoughtful with baked goods and a welcoming atmosphere. The outdoor shower is also pretty cool. The garden is unique and well cared for.

For my first trip to the area, I'm glad I stayed in such a cozy place. :)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank michaelleewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretgardenptown, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for the kind words. We are glad your first trip to PTown was a memorable one. We strive to make all guests feel at home. Please visit again soon.

Chip and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Secret Garden Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

From the warm welcome to the monkey bread farewell, this charming and elegant spot was everything you could ask for.

We choose the cosy, Stow Away room. This room has a full size bed, which proved to be more than adequate for us as we slept soundly every night, a wardrobe and even a mini fridge for essentials. We shared a bathroom (plus an additional half bathroom), but as there are only three other rooms we had no issue with contention.

Every morning we were greeted to Chip's home baking. Standard breakfast cereal, fruit, yogurt and coffee/juice was topped off with muffins, cookies, monkey bread or banana loaf. It was hard to walk away from the communal dining table with this great fare on offer, and luckily our trip was shared with 6 other couples with whom breakfast chatter was lively and entertaining.

The shared lounge made the grey days feel like a comfort and the wonderful secluded garden made the sunny bursts feel like a tranquil haven.

Two of the guests brought their dogs with them; and both the dogs and their owners were impeccably behaved. The dogs were both companion breeds (a pug and a havanese) and were playful and yet not at all boisterous.

I cannot recommend this B&B enough. The hosts were both charming, considerate and helpful; the location was perfect for the centre of town (directly off of Commercial St) and yet you were just one hop, skip and jump and then you were into absolute peace and quiet.

5 stars is the minimum I could give based on my stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MFC_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretgardenptown, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words! There is no better reward for us than knowing our guests enjoyed their stay in our inn. We've worked hard to make it feel like home for everyone. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Absolutely one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in. Great bed, yummy treats and lots of little extras that make a big difference, like loaner bikes, happy hour cookies, and just a generally friendly atmosphere. Chip and David are amazing hosts! Definitely stay here!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank dharmajjwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretgardenptown, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

It's always good to hear when we made a visit to Provincetown even better with the little things we do! Thanks for you kind remarks about your stay with us and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

The Secret Garden Inn is a wonderful place to enjoy Provincetown and the upper Cape. Physically, the Inn is a nicely restored colonial and the common areas and the rooms are perfectly decorated and very comfortable. While in the center of Provincetown, the Inn is set back in the middle of a block offering an oasis from the noise and crowds of Commercial Street. The name Secret Garden is very apt.
We stayed 3 nights in the Crows Nest and found it to be very comfortable and we especially enjoyed the direct access out onto the second floor balcony. We also took full advantage of the bikes that are onsite for the Inn's visitors.
The best part of the stay, however, was the warm welcome provided by the owners Chip and David. They were very accommodating and provided great advice on places to eat and things to do. As has been mentioned by others, Chip's homemade cookies, brownies, scones, and muffins were amazing! We chose to stay here based on other glowing TripAdvisor reviews, and I can attest that they are accurate.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BOSTRKKR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretgardenptown, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

We are glad you chose Secret Garden Inn. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. More importantly, we are glad you got to put us to the test. ;) We try very hard to make every guest feel at home. Please visit again soon!

Chip and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We had such such a great experience at the Secret Garden Inn. The location is absolutely perfect, in the heart of Provincetown, yet quiet. Our romantic room adjacent to the balcony over the garden was lovely and decorated with such impeccable taste, as the entire historic inn. It was really convenient to be able to borrow bikes and explore the lovely trails in the dunes. There, we felt so homey and comfortable in the company our our wonderful hosts, Chip and David. Beware...Chip bakes mean cookies!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretgardenptown, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. The best reward for an innkeeper is a happy guest. We sincerely enjoyed having you. Please come see us again soon. New cookies under development... :)

Chip and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

We made our annual Ptown visit and had another wonderful stay at the Secret Garden. It's a beautiful tucked away property, immaculate facilities, and charming hosts. Chip is a talented baker and always has something delicious in the oven. Chip and Dave a very accommodating and provide extras such as bikes and beach towels to enhance your stay in Ptown. We love the atmosphere and always leave incredibly refreshed. The two first floor rooms share a spa-like bathroom with an amazing shower. The gardens are enchanting, and Chip even took the time to show us a hidden bird's nest where we watched momma tending her babies. The living room, kitchen, gazebo, and decks provide perfect spaces for relaxing and visiting with other guests. Thanks for another wonderful stay!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank winter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretgardenptown, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Thank you for the kind words. It was our pleasure having you. We hope to see you on your next trip to PTown. You never know what else might move into the garden before your next visit. ;)

Chip and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

What a wonderful inn tucked just off of the main street behind the Mayflower restaurant. They have a lovely garden where you can sit and relax or you can sit on the patio outside of the 2nd floor.
Chip is an excellent baker and you should definitely sample the baked goods in the morning at breakfast.
An extremely well maintained and cleaned environment inside and outside of this house.
This should be the place where you stay at for your vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travellingaround30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretgardenptown, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. We hope to see you again soon.

Chip and David - Secret Garden Inn - Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
2.3 km away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,060 reviews
0.2 km away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
1.3 km away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Atlantic Light Inn
Atlantic Light Inn
#9 of 62 in Provincetown
202 reviews
0.4 km away
Admiral's Landing
Admiral's Landing
#3 of 62 in Provincetown
528 reviews
0.1 km away
Sage Inn & Lounge
Sage Inn & Lounge
#15 of 62 in Provincetown
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Inn

Address: 300A Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2204
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range: $99 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The picturesque 1830's sea captain's house, built for Commander David Hugo Hunter, sits in a tranquil garden that is the ideal getaway from your busy life. Yet whenever you're ready to re-engage, you are only 97 steps away from the epicenter of town offering unique shopping, superb dining and a bustling nightlife. We offer warm and inviting rooms with a continental breakfast to get you on your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Secret Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Inn Provincetown, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing