We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bear Week ”
Review of Secret Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Secret Garden Inn
Ranked #10 of 63 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Secret Garden Inn. Central location, but a quiet place. We brought our Frenchie, Dawson and he had a great time walking around town seeing all the other dogs. Very clean and comfortable place. The owners are very nice and make great baked goods. Will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretgardenptown, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. If there is anything we can do to make your next visit better, please do not hesitate to let us know. We want to make sure special guests like Dawson have the very best! ;)

Chip and David - Secret Garden Inn - Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Upon my arrival, Chip (one of the owners) provided a most friendly greeting. Soon after, his partner, David greeted us. The Inn is beautifully decorated, extremely clean and very comfortable. The guest rooms were a nice size and have every amenity needed.
The breakfast served each day was more than ample. Chip is also an excellent baker and provides tasty treats each day.
The outside gardens are meticulously maintained and absolutely lovely to sit in with a book or a cocktail.
I look forward to my return visit next year.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dalfonsoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretgardenptown, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for your kind words. It's always nice to hear that a guest enjoyed their stay. We certainly hope you visit again soon! Keep in mind the off-season is a wonderful time to visit PTown as well...

Chip and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

The Inn is perfectly located near the wharf and Commercial street. It is a busy area yet the Inn is back from the street and quiet. Our room was small but nicely appointed. Air conditioning and a large ceiling fan were a plus. The Inn is European style with a bathroom down the hallway. The Hosts have a great breakfast spread. Chip makes a different bakery treat every day. The front of the Inn has a beautiful garden with a gazebo. Bicycles are free to use. There is parking at the Inn for $18 a day. We loved sitting at the breakfast table and swapping stories with fellow guests. The only negative for us was the use of plug in air fresheners. The scent was overwhelming.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms seem more private than the room downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretgardenptown, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We will see about what we can do to dial back the scent a bit. :) Please visit again soon!

Chip and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We planned a summertime get away to Provincetown and didn't do it early enough so there was not much in terms of accommodations to choose from, unless we wanted to spend $400/night. But then we found something available at Secret Garden Inn and it was really affordable! I was very surprised, considering the prime location of the property. We had a great stay there. Chip and Dave were super helpful and nice. They made sure to give us a tour and explain everything we would need to know upon check in. The breakfast provided in the mornings was great - Chip bakes the most wonderful muffins! And it was nice having the option to eat around the communal table and get to know some other guests. The room was quite lovely, perfectly sized. Don't worry about the shared bathroom - it was always clean and available. And it was really huge plus that the Inn had plenty of bicycles to borrow for that long haul to the beach! Our room had an amazing view of the Pilgrim Monument. We will definitely consider staying there again. I understand they will be undergoing renovations to add private baths to each room upstairs.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretgardenptown, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay so much! We try to provide a comfortable space to stay in at a reasonable price. And thanks for mentioning the baked items for breakfast. I try my best to bake things that guests will enjoy at breakfast and again later in the day. We are looking forward to our scheduled renovations this winter to provide an improved experience for guests here at the Secret Garden Inn. We hope to see you again soon!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Lately I have travelled alone, and it is a real comfort to stay in a place where you know your host will take good care of you.

Thanks so much, guys, for opening your home, offering a bike to ride- essential for this area, being so thoughtful with baked goods and a welcoming atmosphere. The outdoor shower is also pretty cool. The garden is unique and well cared for.

For my first trip to the area, I'm glad I stayed in such a cozy place. :)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank michaelleewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretgardenptown, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for the kind words. We are glad your first trip to PTown was a memorable one. We strive to make all guests feel at home. Please visit again soon.

Chip and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

From the warm welcome to the monkey bread farewell, this charming and elegant spot was everything you could ask for.

We choose the cosy, Stow Away room. This room has a full size bed, which proved to be more than adequate for us as we slept soundly every night, a wardrobe and even a mini fridge for essentials. We shared a bathroom (plus an additional half bathroom), but as there are only three other rooms we had no issue with contention.

Every morning we were greeted to Chip's home baking. Standard breakfast cereal, fruit, yogurt and coffee/juice was topped off with muffins, cookies, monkey bread or banana loaf. It was hard to walk away from the communal dining table with this great fare on offer, and luckily our trip was shared with 6 other couples with whom breakfast chatter was lively and entertaining.

The shared lounge made the grey days feel like a comfort and the wonderful secluded garden made the sunny bursts feel like a tranquil haven.

Two of the guests brought their dogs with them; and both the dogs and their owners were impeccably behaved. The dogs were both companion breeds (a pug and a havanese) and were playful and yet not at all boisterous.

I cannot recommend this B&B enough. The hosts were both charming, considerate and helpful; the location was perfect for the centre of town (directly off of Commercial St) and yet you were just one hop, skip and jump and then you were into absolute peace and quiet.

5 stars is the minimum I could give based on my stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MFC_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretgardenptown, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words! There is no better reward for us than knowing our guests enjoyed their stay in our inn. We've worked hard to make it feel like home for everyone. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Absolutely one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in. Great bed, yummy treats and lots of little extras that make a big difference, like loaner bikes, happy hour cookies, and just a generally friendly atmosphere. Chip and David are amazing hosts! Definitely stay here!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank dharmajjwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretgardenptown, Manager at Secret Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

It's always good to hear when we made a visit to Provincetown even better with the little things we do! Thanks for you kind remarks about your stay with us and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.5 km away
8 Dyer Hotel
8 Dyer Hotel
#5 of 63 in Provincetown
433 reviews
1 km away
Roux
Roux
#2 of 63 in Provincetown
288 reviews
0.4 km away
Admiral's Landing
Admiral's Landing
#3 of 63 in Provincetown
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Atlantic Light Inn
Atlantic Light Inn
#9 of 63 in Provincetown
209 reviews
0.9 km away
The Inn at Cook Street
The Inn at Cook Street
#1 of 63 in Provincetown
667 reviews
0.4 km away
Benchmark Inn
Benchmark Inn
#4 of 63 in Provincetown
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Inn

Address: 300A Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2204
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range: $125 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The picturesque 1830's sea captain's house, built for Commander David Hugo Hunter, sits in a tranquil garden that is the ideal getaway from your busy life. Yet whenever you're ready to re-engage, you are only 97 steps away from the epicenter of town offering unique shopping, superb dining and a bustling nightlife. We offer warm and inviting rooms with a continental breakfast to get you on your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Secret Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Inn Provincetown, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing