We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brass Key Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My husband and I recently spent two nights here. It was wonderful. Beautiful room, great staff, lovely outdoor area. We loved the wine and cheese hour and the roof top deck. We were just steps from all the great shops and restaurants. We come to Ptown once a year and unfortunately never knew this guest house was here. We will surely return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jala47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Thanks so much for sharing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Brass Key Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful long weekend at the Brass Key. Between the amazing accomodations, the wonderful staff and delicious breakfasts..we didn't want to leave. We cannot wait to visit them again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billsbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Thanks so much please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I recently stayed with my boyfriend for one night at the Brass Key in Ptown. What a great home away from home! The staff were friendly and helpful without being overbearing, the room was charming and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The outdoor area alone is worth the price of the room. There is a pool, hot-tub and lots of comfy seating. Overall, a very relaxing atmosphere. The location is fantastic- tucked away on a quiet side just a stone's throw away from the action on Commercial Street.

The only thing I'd do differently next time in Ptown is stay longer!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puntacanaprincesita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t1999, General Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Thanks so much for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This property is outstanding. Gated facility with a terrific room. Pool and hot tub. Happy hour with beer, wine and snack daily. Very good continental breakfast. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purdymbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I wanted to visit Massachusetts and booked a couple of nights at the Brass Key as treat. I was so impressed with my initial stay that I extended it -- and cancelled my other plans to stay longer!

This was an easy decision to make considering the atmosphere exuded elegance; the location was fabulous and conveniently located next to lively Commercial Street; the room was GORGEOUS (I stayed in #157, a Deluxe King Room); and the staff were supremely friendly and accommodating (thank you for everything Cheryl and Ken).

Without a doubt I would recommend this place to anyone. And that is saying a lot because I would return in a New York minute if I could – and I live in Toronto.

Gee

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My partner and I just returned from a 3 day stay at the Brass Key to celebrate my birthday – and we can’t say enough about what an absolutely lovely stay we had! First of all – let me say that we are two “middle aged” ladies from the west coast and this is our 5th trip to the cape. We have stayed at a number of higher-end B & B’s in Provincetown – but this one far exceeded our previous experiences for many different reasons. We were “mystified” by the ranking that this property has on Trip Advisor. I have been familiar with the Brass Key since its Key West property first opened – and its reputation has always been first rate. If you are looking for a less expensive B&B, or perhaps one that is smaller – without the lush grounds, common areas, pool and expansive facilities - or one with a more intimate, hands-on proprietor who manages to “do everything” – this may not be the right choice for you. If you are looking for a lovely, gracious and well managed mid-sized inn with lush, opulent grounds, a heated pool and hot tub, full staff (house cleaning, gardeners, front-desk staff, breakfast attendant, etc.) on-site pub, event spaces and all of the conveniences of an elegant mid-sized hotel – this well situated property is a perfect choice!

The first – and our most unexpected surprise for us was the staff’s warmth and hospitality. This was first demonstrated to us by none other than the Ship Wreck Lounge’s bartender, Gary. We arrived late on Thursday night – well past “office close”. Upon arrival, we found a well written note on the door of the Gate House with after-hours check-in instructions (not at all uncommon in Provincetown). Still, it was dark outside and we must have had a puzzled look on our faces because the bartender Gary immediately came over to us and shepherded us through all of the details of coming on to the property – guided us to our building, took our heavy bags up to our room, helped guide us to a parking spot – and even gave us a tour of the compound! Amazing hospitality. After we settled in – we went back down to the Shipwreck for a night cap – and had a lovely Ruby Red Cosmo and a glass of wine, and some friendly conversation with some of the other guests. It was easy to see why the Shipwreck is so popular – warm, inviting with outdoor fire pit ablaze – and of course – Gary made it extra special for us. Throughout our stay – we stopped by the Shipwreck for a night cap and were always warmly greeted each time our paths crossed. We also felt the same way when we checked in the next morning with Gary (a different “Gary”) at the front desk. He was warm and hospitable – and really made us feel welcomed as guests. Gary also greeted us each and every time we ran in to him around the property.

Our immaculately clean Captain’s House room was lovely (Rm. 113) and had charm galore. The pitched ceiling added to the feeling of “space” in our room. It came with absolutely everything that we could possibly want: Bose sound system with an iPad/iPod adaptor, safe, fridge, robes, bottled water, ice bucket, cork screw, glasses, two waffle robes, beach towels, beach to-go mini Igloo ice chest, high-end luxury bath products, a huge chest of drawers for our clothes, small closet, a ceiling fan, a high-tech in-room “air-comfort” system – that even had a built in air filtration system. The bed was SUPER comfortable – and the linens were fantastic. Just two steps outside of our room was a balcony that overlooked the courtyard gardens & hot tub / pool area. It had comfortable seating for four – and we loved having our coffee out there before we began our day. The cleaning team was terrific – and swooped in each morning to clean each guest’s room to perfection. I had a special request for our maid – and she quickly handled it post haste with courtesy, kindness and absolute professionalism.

Breakfast was fresh and delicious and served in a dedicated breakfast room (also has covered outdoor seating) . They usually had a warm breakfast dish or two (eggs, almond coconut bread pudding), freshly baked sweet breads or yummy cinnamon rolls, bagels, English muffins, cereals, fresh fruit bowl (as well as apples & bananas), yogurt, etc. We never went away hungry – and they served breakfast until 11am. They also have two 24hr. a day coffee machines available for guests in the breakfast area. One coffee machine serves specialty coffees - cappuccinos / lattes / espressos. It was really terrific!! In addition, they had a Douwe Egberts coffee machine that served regular drip coffee. I have to say – I have had this coffee before at other hotels – and frankly – I have never been a fan. Small issue – as long as they have the “gourmet” coffee machine too.

The spacious grounds and buildings of the Brass Key were stunning. They obviously take a lot of pride in keeping them pristine – and we could see the evidence of upkeep throughout the property – fresh paint, manicured shrubs, etc. It is a lovely compound – and felt like our own secure oasis. We never had to look far to find a cozy private nook, sofa, table by the pool, etc. to share with each other. And a note about the music in the compound – it was actually one of our favorite touches. It was like walking to a soothing lullaby as we strolled through the common areas and gazed at the flowers. It was absolutely delightful to walk to breakfast to and hear music – and was so tranquil in the early evening on our way out to dinner.

Parking was plentiful. The front lot – being the most prominent – does fill up fast, but the other parking locations around the facility were actually much more convenient for us – so it was never an issue. The location of the inn simply can’t be beat - literally in the “heart” of Provincetown. I sometimes have a just a wee bit of difficulty walking and found the Brass Key to be steps from all of the best bars, restaurants, entertainment venues and shopping that Provincetown has to offer. It was terrific!

The clientele at this inn was mixed gay & lesbian/straight, which was actually a “bit” of a surprise for us - but not the least bit disconcerting. This is not an exclusively gay, or gay male property – although it definitely has a predominately gay clientele. That being said - we never felt uncomfortable in the least that it was mixed.

We had a fantastic stay at the Brass Key for this celebration and look forward to coming back and back and back to try different rooms and locations around the property – perhaps during the upcoming holidays! Kudos to both Gary’s – and all of the Brass Key Staff that made our stay so special.

Room Tip: Our preference is not a ground floor room. We liked having a higher, peaked ceiling. The con to th...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LAJames_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We purchased a reservation through Groupon. To our amusement, almost everyone there was there because of Groupon, so the clientele was a little different from what we'd expected. We had fun anyway. :)

This place is so beautiful and everyone is so friendly. Everyone I talked to on the phone before our arrival was friendly. When we arrived, the man at the check in counter was very welcoming and took the time to show us around the area. It's just a happy, relaxing place. I expect photos on a hotel's website to look like fantasy versions of the real thing. The photos on here and on their website are actually accurate! The hotel really looks that good!

I loved our room. With homey touches like books and other little decorations, it was just a beautiful room. Everything was very, very clean and in good condition. They have a heated pool and a large hot tub. Guests are able to use both until midnight, which is much later than most hotels! They have a complimentary wine and cheese hour each night. The breakfast was tasty and filling. They had fresh breads, homebaked goods like blueberry crumb cake, hard boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, a coffee station, and freshly-squeezed orange juice. Throughout the day, they have complimentary lemonade, iced tea, and cookies by the pool area.

The way the hotel is set up, you run into other guests fairly frequently, which was a lot of fun for us. We had spent an evening in the hot tub with a metal band bass player, his girlfriend, and two self-described nomads. The following night we were with a few retired people who were a couple of decades older than us. The variety was a lot of fun!

One evening in the patio area, we were enjoying drinks by the fire pit and were surrounded by fun-loving people doing impromptu salsa dance lessons. A lot of laughter and good times there.

We loved, loved, loved our stay here and will come back if we get the chance! We met some lovely people and had a heavenly couple of days.

Room Tip: For a little extra, you can have a pet-friendly room. Dogs are very welcome there.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GregAndKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
2.8 km away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,054 reviews
0.1 km away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
1.7 km away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
658 reviews
0.3 km away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
32.8 km away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Key Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Key Guesthouse

Address: 67 Bradford St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1354
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Price Range: $278 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brass Key Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a premier Provincetown inn, only a minute's walk to all the action on Commercial Street. Our B&B in Provincetown features extraordinary rooms and suites, a gracious staff, spa services, breakfast, wine social & so much more. 9 historically detailed buildings enclose the terraced courtyard, boasting a heated infinity pool, cabana and English garden, that rivals all other Provincetown hotels. Our Cape Cod bed and breakfast now features the new Shipwreck Lounge open for drinks daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and JackRabbit Systems so you can book your Brass Key Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Key Guesthouse Hotel Provincetown
Brass Key Guesthouse Provincetown, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing